We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #7 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here in March 2014 for business in an executive room as it was the last free room.
The rooms are very spatious, feature a private whirlpool and an amazing view (14th floor). The minibar usage is included in the room-rate which is always nice. Dinner was very tasty, with good wines, but for german standards rather expensive. Breakfast roomservice very nice as well.

Despite having everything going for it, the hotel still misses a little "je-ne-sais-quoi". Although my entire stay was very nice, I never had a "waw"-feeling...

Room Tip: Executive rooms (top floors) offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    233
    40
    21
    3
See reviews for
91
193
25
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed at the Van Der Valk Airporthotel for a night on business as I was visiting the Messe Dusseldorf for the A+A Trade Fair. Most of the Hotels were sold out and I was able to get a room at this hotel for a higher rate than what is the usual. I was not very sure what to expect from this hotel as this was a new chain of hotels I was staying at least for me as I usually make sure I stay at the Novotel/Sheraton/Hilton/Marriott in EU.As I know what kind of service to expect from these hotels.

Van der Valk is located just 10 mins away by cab from the Dusseldorf Airport. Messe Dusseldorf is about 15 mins drive. The hotel is located at an isolated area as not much is around like supermarkets or train stations etc. Its accessible by cab only. The hotel offers one way complimentary drop to the airport only while departing this service can be availed.

On first entering the lobby area arriving after a long flight I was pleasantly surprised with the spacious reception and welcoming staff. The lounge area was very tastefully decorated and the furnishings were top class. As is the norm in EU there was no bell staff to move the bags to the room but a luggage trolly was provided. The Hotel offers free wifi.

The room was very spacious intact huge which was a surprise as in EU the rooms are not very spacious, with all amenities on would expect in a five star hotel and some nice views of the highway outside. The bathroom was very spacious as well with a bath tub and a separate shower area. The hotel offered complimentary mini bar as a promotion. The chocolates and juices can be consumed at no cost. I had booked on room only basis hence cannot comment on the breakfast.

A perfect business hotel near Dusseldorf airport though it is not at walking distance from the airport unlike the Sheraton. A nice hotel to stay if one is on business or visiting the Messe Dusseldorf or transiting Dusseldorf airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SameerSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Modern, a bit quirky - comfy and decent value
Rooms are big. Beds comfy. Smart new bathroom with bath ( rare in Germany!) breakfast really good. I had dinner which was nice but a little expensive I thought. I would stay again. 10 euro taxi to town and :or airport so still cheaper than options at airport

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maurdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here on business and utilised the conference facilities for a day.

Great location - 10 minute taxi from Dusseldorf's airport. Tip - don't assume it is on airport, it is not - some of my colleagues tried to walk it and found it a long walk! This is good as you do not get any aircraft noise.

The service at reception was excellent from check in/out to ordering taxis and printing out airline boarding cards - very friendly and efficient.

The bar area was good, with good service and nice beers. Nice area to sit with colleagues. The whole feel of the ground floor is very modern and stylish - really nice and not at all like a usual airport hotel.

The restaurant is fine but not what I'm used to - it is a mix of buffet and people cooking food in front of you for you to take. Food was nice but not sure why they don't stick to either just buffet or go for the usual table service. Breakfast and lunch was the same. Food tasty though.

Conference facilities were excellent - light, airy, everything worked and refreshments were very good and always available, one of the best venue's I've been to for a conference/large meeting.

The rooms are lovely - very large walk-in wetroom style shower and high standard of decor. The rooms were large with a huge window - made it very airy. Very comfortable beds and lots of room to work at the desk.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have visited this hotel just after Christmas for business and took my family with me as well. Very friendly staff, they organized right away some stuff for the small children. We had a suite with wonderful view, good beds and a very nice bathroom. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast were very good as well. We will be back here.

Room Tip: When you will come with your kids (1 or 2) I recommend to take a suite. It's a little more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swiss_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
335 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is located approximately 5 minutes from the airport by taxi. The outside of the hotel doesn't look that nice but the interior is top class. The lobby is spacious and very stylish. There's also a restaurant and a bar on the ground floor. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and offers a good variety and you can also order things like fried egg, omelette etc.

The rooms are very spacious and the interior is top of the line. Even though there's a king size bed, a desk and two chairs and a table in the room you got plenty of room. The bathroom was very nice and fresh and had separate bathtub and rainshower.

The gym is located on the top floor (15th) with a panorama view towards the airport. There were some different cardio-machines and also strength-machines and dumbbells. My opinion is that this is a very good gym for being a hotel-gym.

I only stayed for one night and spent about 12 hours in total at the hotel and I must say that I wouldn't mind returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
548 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located close to Dusseldorf airport but not directly on the airport site. It is a 10 min. taxi ride away what costs approx. 10 € . If you want to stay directly on the airport you should choose another hotel. The name "airport hotel" for this hotel is disturbing.
The checkin was very nice, warm and helpful. My room at 11th floor was very nice, spacious and very well equipped. There were only some minor points to complain about: the sideboard was a little bit dusty, the shower spilled water all over the floor while taking a shower because the glas screen was to short.

Other than that, everything was nearly perfect. The big window of the room allowed a view over the Dusseldorfer skyline. Is was very impressive! But you have to ask for a room which is located towards this special view.
The room was new, very well maintained and really enjoyable!
The breakfast was really good. Many things to choose from and everything at a high quality standard! Only the breakfast staff could be a little bit more helpful and friendly! The checkout was very slow! There were only two desks manned. One person was taking reservations through the telefone. It took me 15 min waiting to gotten checked out! This left a bitter taste leaving a nearly perfect hotel! But I will give this hotel a second shot and I will come back hopefully sooner than later.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Lindner Hotel Airport
#33 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf

Property: Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
Address: Am Huelserhof 57, 40472 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing