We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent alternative airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #7 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What do you want from a hotel you have to stay in due to a cancelled flight? Presumably that it is comfortable, clean, no hassle and has a nice bar. Van der Valk has all of that and nice calm atmosphere as bonus. It won't ruin your travel budget either. My choice next time I stay in Dusseldorf, instead of airport Maritim or Sheraton!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Van der Valk Airport hotel twice this month, before and after a trip to Crete. We booked the Park, sleep and fly arrangement. What makes it special is that the hotel does NOT have a shuttle bus to take you to the airport. Instead, they include a one way taxi ride. The taxi arrived en minutes before the agreed time. No hassle, no fuss with too many other passengers wanting to get on the shuttle, just a smooth and fast (ten minutes') ride to the airport. On the way back you just take a taxi from the airport to the hotel - it's the fastest option one can imagine - no waiting for a shuttle that goes every half hour or so. We paid € 12 including a tip.
The hotel is excellent, like most other Van der Valk hotels. Spacious rooms, good bathrooms, free and fast wifi, a fairly silent airco and a breakfast buffet that leaves nothing to be desired.
I chose the Van der Valk hotel at Dusseldorf airport because I know the constant quality of the chain, but it is also the fastest and most comfortable option for a Park, sleep and fly, at a very competitive price.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK - the are well insulated against traffic and airplane noise, and the curtains keep...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful hotel that is relatively well contained. A bar and a restaurant in the hotel if you want to stay in the whole three days.

A trip to the Old town was an arduous journey - I had to take a cab to the train station (cost about 10 Euros), a change at the central station to another train before getting to town. About 30 mins in all, and I needed to ask directions twice I was worried I might take the train heading for the wrong direction. Thank God for many helpful people.

The taxi ride to the airport takes less than 8 mins which can be a blessing as my meeting ran late and I had to rush to the airport on the last day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay if you have a layover in Dusseldorf. 5 minute cab ride to the hotel. This hotel is beautiful, very modern. Our room was gigantic with a fabulous shower! The breakfast was wonderful, lots of options.... not to mention the great coffee machine and the pastries were incredible! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Kettle in room, free wifi..what more could you want? Well...bbc 1 on the tv would make it even more perfect...as would a slightly bigger room service menu...but very good all the same! Good restaurant and helpful staff too. Just a shame its a little further away from airport (11 euro cab ride)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is very close to the aiport. Rooms are huge, clean and new. Avoid the restaurant as the dinner is of very poor quality and when asked for a can of water they will charge you 6,50 euro for 0,75L. So avoid the restaurant, enjoy the room and you're safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maklijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, and very good to stay before taking a flight from the airport. It seemed quite far from the centre of Dusseldorf, so not sure how suitable this would be for sightseeing. But we needed to catch an early flight the next morning, and this was a perfect start to the holiday. We shared a junior suite with 2 adults and 2 children, it was located on the top floor, and offered a fabulous view (not that there was much of interest to see ;-). Food was good, albeit a bit pricey. Breakfast buffet very very good, with lots of choice, and all fresh. Nice touch: free minibar!! That was a first.

Room Tip: Try for a room on one of the higher floors. Worth the view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindner Hotel Airport
#35 of 239 in Dusseldorf
661 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
#16 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,302 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf

Address: Am Huelserhof 57, 40472 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £73 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing