We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #8 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in best location”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Stayed over a weekend at the Steigenberger, had the advantage of a company rate as my employers are in the same town. I've only positive things to say, rooms are big, high and airy. Location is ideal being just 5 minutes walk from the bars and restaurants of the Altstadt and the same distance for all the shops.
Breakfast is great and there is a nice bar in the hotel, although the bar prices are v expensive.
The service is impressive. Our rate included breakfast, but after a liquid and late night in the altstadt my wife and I didn't make it down in time. I asked the receptionist for some coffee when we finally got up about noon time and she insisted we take a light breakfast in the bar. They then went to lot of trouble, just for us, and we had coffeee, juice, bread, croissants, ham and cheese. We weren't expecting this but we appreciated it very much.
Finally Dusseldorf is a great town, lots of excellent bars and restaurants. The comms observation tower is worth a visit as is a trip down the Rhine on one of the many tour boats.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    213
    89
    28
    19
See reviews for
93
244
45
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We were looking for a town in Germany that had a Christmas Market (not difficult as they almost all do), and one my parents, brother and I could all easily get to. There are only a few towns / cities that have direct flights from Newcastle (them) and London (me) - Dusseldorf is one.
This was to be our main Christmas celebration the weekend before as we would not all be together on the 25th so we splashed out on the Steigenberger Parkhotel. A 5 star hotel in the middle of Dusseldorf, conveniently located between the old and new parts of town.

It costs about EUR 20 from the airport to the hotel in a taxi so we decided to do that rather than fuss around with the train and metro links to save a few coins. Our rooms weren't ready when we first arrived (given that it was 10:30am) so we left our bags with the concierge, returning to check in at about 2pm. From all we saw of it, the hotel is worthy of it's 5 stars although a little more formal that I'm used to. All of the rooms were large, two particularly so with two tall windows/doors per room opening onto a mini-balcony. The bathroom had a separate toilet room within it, and a lovely deep bath. There were more toiletries supplied than what you are offered in a usual five star - toothbrush, razor, bath salts, comb, vanity pack (cotton wool, nail file and cotton buds) and the usual shampoos, body lotions and gels.
The bottle of water next to the bed isn't complimentary - it's EUR 5.50 so don't open it by mistake. The other prices in the mini-bar are a little pricey, but are cheaper than the bar where a large glass of wine was EUR 11. We Brits have been stung by the exchange rates anyway but it was even more noticeable here.

The hotel offers afternoon tea which looked nice. However we didn't have time for that as we were out and about around the town. If you have the tea you probably need to reserve a table, and dress up a bit. We expected to be stopped as we walked in and out of the hotel to our rooms over the course of the weekend as we were wrapped up warm and waterproof to battle the elements and we must have looked so rough compared to the other guests and visitors. We did not look like we belonged there!

There are six Christmas Markets in Dusseldorf and although it's not the most spectacular of cities on the list of Markets-I've-been-to (try Munich or Cologne) it is worth a visit if you're working your way through different ones. Cologne is not far away by train so you could probably do both in one long weekend. I'm not sure what Dusseldorf, or Cologne, are like without the Christmas facade though.
Although there are hotels that will offer better value for money in Dussledorf, and we wouldn't stay at the Steignenberger again if we went back, it was definitely worth it for us for that weekend as a Christmas treat.

We didn't get a chance to eat breakfast or other food in the hotel as we were out and about most of the time. The Irish Bar near the Tourist Information in the Old Town (maybe near Fingerstrasse) serves a great Irish Breakfast.
And although we carried gym gear in our luggage we failed to make ourselves go to the hotel gym. When you're faced with the choice of gym vs Christmas Markets & Gluwein mit Rum, what are you going to do...

  • Liked — The massive rooms
  • Disliked — The beds were a little soft
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsPhileasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I went to this hotel instead of the Intercontinental because the windows open. The 'non-smoking' room they gave me had smoke coming up from the vents below. I asked them to move me and they were very difficult. I finally got a decent, non-smoking room after a lot of work. The newer room in the front of the hotel was much nicer, newer.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Big grand hotel. Kept up to date. Regal service. Nice big room.
If you downtown Duesseldorf, can definitely recommend. Bed is big. Although hotel is old, it is well kept and renovated.

  • Liked — Location. Old fashioned luxury
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onBusiness015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

This is a well-located and well-maintained older hotel convenient to Dusseldorf's Altstadt. The room was large, spotless and exceedingly quiet, although it was on a courtyard that lacked any sort of view to speak of. Staff was professional and helpful. Ambiance is classy and businesslike, to the point of being just a tad stuffy and perhaps a little too formal for some.

Although the room was relatively expensive, it still offered a decent
value as I felt the quality level was very much in line with the cost. I cannot say the same about the breakfast buffet--while decent enough, it was simply not worth the exorbitant cost. Nonetheless, all
in all it was a very pleasant stay and the hotel is definitely recommended.

  • Liked — Excellent and spotless room
  • Disliked — Breakfast was $34 a person
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svicious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in Dusseldorf in 8/07 on a vacation (not business). The hotel has a very imposing exterior, a big lobby (with overpriced internet), a helpful staff, very large, formal but comfortable bedrooms (black and white toile wallpaper with matching dust ruffle on the bed, flat screen tv on the wall, comfortable armchair with table next to small balcony that opens with french doors). The hotel staff was courteous and the concierge vas very, very friendly and VERY helpful. He pointed us to an internet cafe around the corner. When we asked about where to rent bicycles, he laughed and said the closest place was a 30-minute walk (a lovely walk), because the hotel is in a "big money area." Bicycle rental companies apparently cannot afford nearby rents. Anyway, after a walk down the Konigsalle (Dusseldorf's biggest shopping street with a canal & flowers running down the middle is filled with upscale shops like Guzzi & Louis Vuitoon) and then down another street with lots of cafes and bookstores. We rented bikes at Rad Ab (has a very helpful staff) . We rode along the Rhine Promenade (right behind the hotel) and crossed a bridge to a lovely residential area.The hotel's location is good because it is next to a big park, next to the Old Town and the Rhine Promenade, and a short walk from a metro station that's just 3 stops from the train station.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel -- the rooms were lovely and breakfast was great. (Ask about including breakfast when you book your stay -- we didn't ask and our breakfast wasn't included (25 Euros each for a big, good buffet). On the final day, I ordered breakfast a la carte and paid 8 Euros for very good muesli (with lots of optional toppings like pumpkin and sesame seeds and fruit) and a pot of tea - the coffee isn't good here.
If you rent on Expedia, watch out for significant taxes and extra charges that are added on at the end.

  • Liked — The location and the helpful concierge.
  • Disliked — It's stuffy formality and overpriced internet in the lobby.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NashvilleTN0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Some positives and negatives:

+ The booking process via Internet was very efficient. We even had a follow-up question that the hotel management answered promptly via email.

+ Fitness center has basic equipment, on par with or slightl better than a Marriott Courtyard in the U.S. Certainly not as well equipped than a Westin but better than most European hotels.

- Room was non-smoking as requested but the lobby reeked of smoke.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
890 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 236 in Dusseldorf
1,147 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 236 in Dusseldorf
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf

Property: Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf
Address: Koenigsallee 1a, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#6 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#28 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#28 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Parkhotel at Konigsallee 1a, known in short as the KO, is one of the best hotels in Dusseldorf. Being situated only a few minutes away from the city's famous historic centre, the luxury hotel with its spacious rooms and exceptional service leaves nothing to be desired. And on the culinary side your palate will be pampered at the highest level. Fine dining with a view of the KO Bogen from the Restaurant Artiste, champagne and finger food in a trendy pub, the Steigenberger Eck, and the newest cocktails in the famous Etoile Bar. You can relax in the fitness and wellness area, or while jogging or walking along the Rhine terraces. The spacious, historical halls are the perfect location for high-class occasions such as weddings, jubilees and important conferences. The opera house, the theatre and museums such as the K21 or the Museum Kunstpalast are also located not far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf düsseldorf
Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing