We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
Ranked #18 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“German quality”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel meets all expectation.
Rooms look exactly the same as at official website. All is clean.
If you don't mind to watch some movies before sleep you can do it for free or with fee (depending on film)

Breakfast is superb. Even though the breakfast room is small you can find everything you want and even more. The selection of cheeses did me good :)

Location is perfect. City centre is easily reached by 20 minutes walk across nice streets or by tram (2 minute walking distance to the stop)

The Hafen is even closer to hotel (which is obvious from the name of the hotel) and it is really worth-seeing place with modern architecture and good restaurants.

If you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Duck T,

great to read this wonderful comment about our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen here on Tripadvisor. It makes us very proud that we obviously have done many things right. It goes without saying for us that our pictures on our website match the truth and we are well aware that this is unfortunately not always the case for many hotels.
We do go through great lenghts to constantly question ourselves, our services and product as well as employee training. All this together is a big investment in time, money and people and we are happy to say that it keeps us in this high position here on Tripadvisor.
You describe so many good things to other readers that we can only say thank you again. We certainly do hope that you will visit our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen again very soon.
And of course we recommend you to use our website again, as there you will always find the best deals and the most up to date information.
Please come back soon

Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen
Ina Kaldenbach - General Manager -
- An individually managed Mercure Hotel by Wolfgang vom Hagen Enterprises -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    333
    94
    17
    8
See reviews for
60
265
45
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very clean, functional hotel with warm friendly staff. Good size rooms, comfortable bed and well equiped spotless bathroom. Excellent selection for breakfast. I did not eat in the evening, but the menu looked very good. Well positioned on tram routes and taxis.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PottingshedR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear PottingshedR,

we enjoyed reading your very nice comments about our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen very much here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you found our rooms to be perfect and clean and certainly also our breakfast. Since this is the most important meal of the day, we do everything to make this perfect for our guests and we obviously matched your taste.
What a shame you did not find the time to enjoy our restaurant for dinner too. But we do hope you come back to Düsseldorf soon and stay again at our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen, so that we can also demonstrate you our strenght in this area.
Thank you again for having taken the time to rate us. We value your feedback very much

best regards
Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen
Ina Kaldenbach - General Manager -
- An individually managed Mercure Hotel by Wolfgang vom Hagen Enterprises -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff and an ideal location. It is right next to a train station and local bus runs outside which will take you to the centre. We got a taxi there from the airport which is between 22-25 euros. Staff always there to help which was nice and free sweets and cakes were by reception at all times - a nice touch :) we loved the free movie service they gave as well in the rooms! We walked in to town each night - head to the Rhine tower and enjoy the little walk down the river from there much better than the bus :) the hotel has everything you need, if I returned to Dusseldorf I would stay there again. The only bad thing is breakfast looked great but is WAY over priced so head to a local bakery down the street.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stakiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Stakiboo,

so nice to read that you found our staff ,the services and the location of our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen so great. We highly appreciate all the details of your comments here on Tripadvisor, as it helps us to further improve where we get kudos, and rethink where needed.
You mention the public transportation around the hotel, which is indeed great and convenient. You could have saved on airport transportation as the mentioned train station also gets you to the airport. The movies and the Internet are indeed free of charge in our rooms here at the Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen.
We are a little bit surprised though on your opinion about our breakfast beeing too expensive. With 19 Euros per person, we are in the middle range of our comparable hotels in Düsseldorf.
Moreover, we offer a large range of organic products from local suppliers along with services, such as a live cooking station and coffee specialities at no surcharge, which you usually do not find in hotels of our category.
But finally we are happy to read that you would return to our hotel upon your next visit in Düsseldorf. So, it seems that this did not change your opinion about us. Thank you for that.
On our website you find regular attractive offers and check the various other roomtypes we have on offer.
We are looking forward seeing you very soon again

Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen
- Ina Kaldenbach -
General Manager
- An individualy managed Mercure Hotel by Wolfgang vom Hagen Enterprises -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulda, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

That was a trip in the chrestmas time , the hotel is about 10m on foot from the main railwaystation , a very clean and well organised rooms , I may have no -ve thoughts about it , just it is a little bit far from the center.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostafa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

the room was nice,
the stuff are very nice and helpful.
they have bicycles for the guest for free and as the center is not far away and the city is plain its really comfortable to ride around with the bicycles.
the only problem is the Stadtbahn, my room was with the street view so i really felt this train in the room. the truth that there are earplugs that provided by the hotel. anyway this solution is not for me as i cant sleep with earplugs.
the lift is old and slowly

Room Tip: rooms on the back side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shushush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Shushush,

it was very nice reading your comments about our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen. We are of course very pleased to see that our staff members have been so helpful and courteous, which is obviously the most important thing for any hotel. We do offer indeed free bicycles for our hotel guests which are usually very well accepted, as there are nice bicycle paths in the surroundings of the hotel.
As for the noise level due to the tram, you are right if you are sensitive to it. This is the reason why we place earplugs in the front rooms. We do offer so called Privilege and Superior rooms at a small surcharge . These are located either on the back side of the main building of our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen or in our Hundertwasser Pavillion which is a separate annex also on the back side of the building. The advantage of these rooms is not only the much quieter location but also the additional amenities and services related to these.
And in case you need more space plus a more quiet location, we do also offer split level maisonette suites with a living area and a sleeping area upstairs. These come also with a very reasonable supplement to the normal room rates. Please visit our website for details and online booking of all the mentioned roomtypes.
We would be very pleased to have you as our guest again.
Very best regards
Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen
Ina Kaldenbach - General Manager -

- An individually managed Mercure Hotel by Wolfgang vom Hagen Management Group -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Rooms are very nice, make shure with the booking what is inclusive and what is not. My friends had parking includet but this was not confirmed in the booking. the drinks in the Restaurant are overpriced normal still water 0.75l 6 Euro, food is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Silvi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHCBrunoWolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Silvi1979,

we are pleased to see that you took the time to rate our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you found the room to be so pleasant. Of course you are right when you mention that guests should carefully read in their booking what is included and what is not, as in every hotel.
When you make a booking over our website, you can clearly see this in the appropriate rate description. Your friends seemed to have booked a maisonette suite which does indeed include the parking, free minibar and a discount on food and beverage in our restaurant.
Regarding the prices in our restaurant, this is as usually quite subject to a guest's perception. You can be sure that we carefully check prices and also those of the competition We can therefore confirm that ours are in the middle range. "Normal" still water is of course not tap water and has a certain price to it too.
We hope that you will consider our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen hotel again, during your next visit to Düsseldorf. Please check our website for attractive offers for your stay
thank you again for your business
Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen
Ina Kaldenbach -General Manager-
- A personally managed Mercure hotel by Wolfgang vom Hagen Enterprises-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were there 4 Dusseldorf X-Mas shopping, The hotel isn't downtown centre but public transport takes u in 5 minutes downtown.The hotel is very nice and the also are the rooms. Breakfast is plenty of choice and excellent quality. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: the rooms in the pavillion are super !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel041968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#11 of 237 in Dusseldorf
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen

Property: Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
Address: Volmerswerther Strasse 35, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Düsseldorf Hafen)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#18 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#25 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, situated in Unterbilk, near the media harbor and government district, offers 160 air-conditioned and modern equipped rooms. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access and offering comfortable bedding, Flat screen with over 60 channels and a fridge. The hotel offers parking garage as well as fitness room. The Holiday Inn Düsseldorf - Hafen has easy access to nearby motorways alike to public transport due to the nearby tram stop "Voelklinger Strasse". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Duesseldorf Hafen Hotel
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Hafen
Mercure Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing