We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four and a half stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel
Ranked #49 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Four and a half stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently had a fairly long stay here. The comments made by the other reviewers are quite accurate. Most of the staff is quite friendly and helpful. Most speak English but many don't and would rather avoid you than try and help you. Dusseldorf doesn't seem to have much of a service culture and it seems that employees- in and out of the hotel-don't see much urgency with providing quality customer service. (I found it's overall tourism offerings to be somewhat woeful but that's a separate review.)

The hotel is in a nice neighborhood and there are a few fun restaurants nearby. There are also quick service options as well. Taxis are also plentiful and they are clean and reasonable.

Services are limited in the hotel so don't expect amenities typical of a Renaissance such as a spa, gym or store. We will certainly stay here again though and look forward to its refurbishing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    239
    117
    42
    10
See reviews for
86
114
37
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaliningrad, Russia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is not very easy to find.
Rooms and lobby sure need renovation.
But friendly staff, cleanness and great breakfast are the strong part of this hotel.
Unfortunately we had no time for swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana_Sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

As many have said previously, this hotel is in need of refurbishment. Well, having stayed there this week I can report that this is underway. Initially, it would appear that they are tackling their function area but I'm sure the rooms will follow. The room we were given had two double beds in it. One was very squeaky and you could not move in it without thinking you were rolling around on top of a load of mice. We slept in the other one. There was a centre console/table between the two beds but this meant that there was no bedside table for whoever was sleeping on the outside.

The lack of free wifi is baffling. Given the number of people commenting on it here, this is something that could be changed instantly and is still not being dealt with. As a result, we went next door to the Mercure Hotel where we enjoyed free wifi while spending our money on food and drink. This is money the Renaissance is losing out on.

One other comment that i would like to make which may be of help to future travellers is that there is no kettle or tea tray in the room. However, we discovered that one can be had just by asking for it at reception.

Room Tip: Ask reception for a kettle and they will provide you with one plus tea, coffee, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Good Location (on the way from the airport to the city center) and Friendly Staff. Older and not very tasteful furnishing and furniture. Sometimes many tourists. Self parking in the hotel garage.
Hotel for a short stay compliant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCZPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDusseldorf, Manager at Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank your for your feedback. We are excited to let you know that our public area and guest rooms will be renovated within the next months. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just had a 5 day break in this hotel. The staff are excellent, so very welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel is ideally situated for both the airport and the main town centre (easy tram ride or bus ride). The morning breakfast buffet, eggs to order is very good, plentiful and with wide choices. I would definitely stay here again, it is very good quality for the cost.

PS: many reviewers have commented adversely about the décor etc. Sure, it's a little dated perhaps, but everywhere is clean and in great repair. You can stay in a newer built or better decorated place in town, but expect at least 100+ Euro increase per night. This place is very good and the staff are the difference, extremely warm and a delight to be with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel does not meet the standards expected of a Renaissance hotel, the whole hotel is dated and tired, and in need of being brought up to todays standards, in saying all this the hotel is clean, and well maintained, disappointments include the wifi, which is expensive and also only allows one device to be connected, any other devices require an additional payment.
I expect hotels of this class now to offer free WIFI, this should be standard and not a way of making extra money.

The buffet breakfast is also not worth the 20 Euros they charge, and the evening meal menu lacks inspiration, a mixture of european and asian without being either.

The biggest disappointment was one of my colleagues having his bag stolen in the reception area, this was stolen while 3 of us were sitting in the lobby and taken from his seat while we were all there, the hotels CCTV did not cover this area, and its also seems that this was not the first occasion that this has happened at this hotel, we were given no warnings that there was a problem, the thieves were professional, we seen them but as they were dressed in business suits and drinking coffee from the restaurant we were not on our guard !! maybe if there had been a sign or a mention on check-in we would have been more aware. I understand this was not the hotels fault but they need to heighten security and update cctv so it covers all the reception lobby area and exits. The thieves knew exactly where to stand to avoid being seen on what CCTV there was.

The hotel staff were very helpful in contacting the police and giving us contact details of the consulate to arrange a new passport for the one that was lost in the bag, but they really did not seem too upset that this happened in there hotel !!

Overall I will give this hotel a miss on my next visit to Dusseldorf

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDusseldorf, Manager at Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
With great regret we have read about your experience.
Please accept our sincere apology for these inconveniences caused. We like to let you know that our public area and guest rooms will be renovated within the next months. We most certainly hope that we will have the chance again to proof to you that we can be better hosts and provide you with the services that we aim for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herriman, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The property is clean and comfortable. There is no lounge for elite members, but as a bonus they offer complimentary items in the mini-bar. This was a great benefit. They completely restock it every day. The room is comfortable overall, but a bit dated. The staff are very helpful and professional. The restaurant has good food and service. Their breakfast buffet is typical German breakfast, which was good each day. They will also make cooked to order items as part of the buffet breakfast.

The location of the hotel is great as well. It is a short walk to the train station which is a 10 minute ride to the airport. Also, several other lines which can take you to other parts of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#12 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Duesseldorf Hafen
#44 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel

Property: Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel
Address: Noerdlicher Zubringer 6, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the best of Duesseldorf, Germany when staying in the contemporary Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel. Our inviting guest rooms and suites provide leisure and business travelers with comfortable beds, flat screen televisions with premium channels, high speed Internet access and plenty of thoughtful amenities. Plan your next weekend getaway in North Rhine-Westphalia at the Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing