We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #189 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, decent, comfortable accommodation in a good location only 10 minutes walk from the Aldstadt and 5 minutes from the main train station. Staff extremely helpful and knowledgable, continental breakfast served and plenty of choice. Only a short stay but will go back the next time I'm in Dusseldorf

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyshireMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    73
    52
    17
    25
See reviews for
29
45
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends, in a good location, only 5 minutes walk from train station & only €5.50 in a cab to the Alstadt, breakfast nice & friendly staff, suited our needs perfectly, would definitely consider staying there again on a future trip

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here for three nights over Easter.It was very comfortable and clean with a very good breakfast.

Also free tea and coffee at any time in the lobby.

Convenient for the main station and a 15-20 minute walk to the Altstadt with all its bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

great budget hotel, excellent and lively but quite location, very well done rooms, superb staff, free wifi and healthy breakfast was a added benefit, free coffee / tea in the lobby was icing on the cake, bathroom is small for big people but manageable, tram & S stations close by, mall / supermarket within walking distance, eateries and beer bars within hop skip distance
small parking in back of the hotel (chargeable). The colors and decor is very welcoming. Over all a superb hotel for short stay

Room Tip: username and password for the free wifi is issued at the front desk which is valid for 12 hrs use. s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The title says it all really. This is a budget hotel so with bearing that in mind it is first class for what it is. The staff were superb, everybody we encountered was very helpful, pleasant and friendly - always a warm welcome. At check in we were given a nice hot mug of Gluhwein (it was December) and there were always some Christmas cookies out as well! The room was a good size, warm and quiet (despite facing onto the street) and most importantly clean. The housekeeping staff were excellent and even checked with us to ask if the room was ok. There is a lift to the rooms (which is very easy to find - and front desk point it out to you). The lift however is a little slow...is that a big deal....NO! We tended to use the stairs anyway. Great location. Near the train station and a short walk to the Kö and the Christmas markets. Breakfast is included in the rate - it is superb, afterall it is Germany! Everything you could possibly want. Absolutely loved the banana juice.

Free wifi in the rooms. Hair dryer in the bathroom. TV (yes it shows German channels...who knew such a thing would happen in GERMANY). Comfy beds. You can leave your luggage at reception when you check out. Tea and coffee always available at the front desk.

Looking for an affordable hotel that represents good value for money, then this is the one. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are really excellent - probably the best I have encountered at any hotel. Well done!

Also there are some great restaurants near by if you look around - we went to a really good Korean place around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skygirl340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Amazing value for money it was so convenient to everything Very close to shops which are fantastic.breakfast had something to suit anyone good selection of cereals yogurt and breads.Free tea /coffee /hot choc all day in lobby The staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.they printed airline tickets suggested best and cheapest way to airport 2€ by nearby bus (we had paid 20€by taxi on arrival ) We had a very enjoyable weekend in Dusseldorf great value for money hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

However, really small rooms. We got a room in the first building (room numbering X01-X08 for each floor) with a Queen size bed squeezed in. Bed was ok, a little difficult to get into, a small bathroom, a small TV.
Location in Düsseldorf is good, close to the old town with a walk of approx 10 minutes and really close to U-bahn Oststrasse which for us was perfect when we went to the exhibition.
Breakfast really good for this hotel standard!
Staff was friendly and serviceminded. When we first came we wanted to make a couple of drinks, we had five glasses in the room - all with different size and shape. So we asked the reception for two glasses of the same kind. After a few minutes she came (I guess she was alone working there) up with two glasses - but different and different from the others.
Big fun. We made drinks anyway ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindenhof Hotel
#64 of 236 in Dusseldorf
143 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Weidenhof
Hotel Weidenhof
#110 of 236 in Dusseldorf
32 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Bejuna
Hotel Bejuna
#178 of 236 in Dusseldorf
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#57 of 236 in Dusseldorf
194 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
City Hotel Duesseldorf
City Hotel Duesseldorf
#140 of 236 in Dusseldorf
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: Oststr. 135, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern furnished rooms are equipped with flatscreen TV, free W-lan access, telephone, minibar, private bathroom with shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing