We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
32
80
66
20
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
80
66
20
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town main station stayed two nights long weekend breakfast buffet altstadt gluhwein nightlife train
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hotel Monopol is small but well situated within the city, close enough to walk to local shops, restaurants and bars; recommend the Schumacher brewery bar just down the street which serves (only) their own beer and decent (bar) food.

Plenty of entertainment and within reach on the way to the river.

Helpful/friendly staff; good breakfast (included); small car park to the rear (subject to charges).
No air conditioning though; ie. Room was stuffy despite the windows being open.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickp2201_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very friendly helpful staff all spoke English. On arrival we were given a map of the city which became very useful. Good location for everything 5 min walk to main shopping street 'ko'.
Buffet breakfast was good with lots of choice to suit all tastes.
Room was ok although small, very clean with an en suite, hairdryer, toiletries were provided, and there was a mini bar.
Overall good place for the price would stay there again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Welcomed cheerfully,and offered a welcome drink,room had all necessities not large,but comfortable and adequate,breakfast buffet,was spot on,fresh fruit cereals,eggs bacon,etc,all very tasty,and ample,modern bright hotel,near to all amenities,definitely would stay there again

Room Tip: We had107,it was comfy but very warm,so if you like to be snug this room is good
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliejustjulie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed just 1 night before departure. Very comfortable clean and homy hotel. Big rooms, no noise at all, welcoming personal and lobby. Easy to park near hotel. The location is 5 mins on foot to railway station. I advise to visit schumacher bar on the same street. I really recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgeny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. Lovely warm welcome from reception, and a most welcome warm drink given on arrival. We had had an early flight, so went straight to the hotel, and were able to check in straight away. Bedroom was small, but was ok, quite basic. We found the bed to be on the small side, and it was old, not very comfortable. No tea/coffee facilities in bedroom, but you could make hot drinks in reception, with a good range of choice i.e. tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc.
Breakfast was self service and there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev86England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews