We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee
Ranked #64 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Clean, minimalistic, bright and functional with FREE WIFI and FREE Mini Bar...what more does a traveler need? I am coming back for sure, more than fair prices as well and a bonus program. Easy check in, easy check out and super friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuesseldorf, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear SteveneKuhn,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for taking the time to give us an honest feedback about your collected impressions during your stay.

Our aim is to create a "WOW-effect" with our service, the friendliness and the commitment of our employees and it is wonderful to see that we could therewith making your stay comfortable and that you felt warm welcomed.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again and all the best for you,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    202
    115
    46
    20
See reviews for
30
154
56
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We spent two nights at the Grand City Hotel while attending a friend's wedding. I had stayed at this property years ago when it was a Four Points and had always liked it, but this was my first visit under the new branding.

The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the hauptbahnhof. It's quite a long way from the altstadt, but pretty close to Königsallee, the main shopping street. There are two tram stops very close by which connect to the city's main tourist locations and U-Bahn interchanges.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and we were checked in despite arriving before the stated check-in time. We were given a room on the first floor, right opposite the lift.

The room itself was much smaller than I had remembered from past visits. We didn't have very much space, and our double bed was pushed against the wall, meaning I had to enter the bed from the bottom rather than the side if I didn't want to disturb my husband. The bathroom was a little tired by today's standards (the shower was a tray with a flimsy curtain - quite old fashioned). The heating was not especially warm and again was a bit dated.

The hotel is not on a main road, so there was no real traffic noise. It was nice and quiet.

The hotel offers free wi-fi, but we were unable to connect. On our way out on the first evening, we mentioned this at the front desk. They could not have been more helpful. They explained that there was some remodelling going on in the hotel which was affecting access to wi-fi in some rooms. They said that the wi-fi was working fine in the bar, so gave us vouchers for a complimentary drink to use while we surfed. They also offered to switch us to another room the next day where they knew the wi-fi to be working (although upon reflection we declined since we would be spending the entire next day at the wedding).

This property is very average and in need of updating (although it appears that this may be in progress). It was the staff which totally made our stay, and I can't thank them enough for their 5-star service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Loulabelle,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay in our hotel and the wonderful comment concerning the friendliness and the service of our employees. It is a real pleasure for me to see that our team made a difference in your stay.

Concerning the condition of the rooms and the hotel we are aware of that problem and contended with our management to get the needed refurbishment. We are really happy that we can now inform you that we had success and that we have just started the full renovation of our hotel in mid of December so that we will have the first renovated rooms soon.

Unfortunately we realized that the size of our rooms did not meet your expectations. Our hotel was not planned as a hotel. In former times the building was split up into three apartment buildings and was later build up as a hotel. Because of that all rooms have different sizes.
If you prefer a bigger room we will be glad to offer you one of our superior rooms next time which also has the following additional amenities:
- bathrobe
- slippers
- more free of charge soft drinks in the minibar like Coke light, beer, etc.
- and free usage of the nearby fitness centre "Fitness First"

Dear Loulabelle, I will be happy to welcome you in our renovated hotel during your next trip to Düsseldorf and send you best wishes from Düsseldorf,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I booked this hotel because I wanted to be close to the Königsallee and the alststadt, and still pay a reasonable price. I payed a reasonable price, but the room & hotel were not worth this price!

The hotel is situated very close to the prestigious Königsallee, but it's neigbourhood is quite different. There's noise from the big street nearby, and the neigbourhood is gray and unfriendly.

The hotel itself looks old and dated. There's no big entrance, just a small hall and a small desk. We stayed 3 nights, and never saw anyone in the hotel bar. We used it ourself, but the choice of drinks is very small, and there's no cosy atmosphere.

The corridors of the ground floor and our floor were old, dirty, with different types of carpet in 1 corridor, carpet that looks old and dirty.

The room was really below standard. We asked for a non-smoking, but the corridor smelled like smoke and there was a cigarette stain on our bathroom sink....
Again, different types of old, used carpet in our room.
No toiletries, apart from 2 soap-dispensers. There was a card that indicated you could get some things from reception, but ofcourse that means you have to go downstairs.
No robes in the room either. I expect these kinds of things when I book into a nice hotel!

The towels were hard, not nice for drying yourself. During my stay, I always had to take a bath, because whenever I would try a shower, I would get cold water instead of warm.
The soap dispenser ran out of soap during my first shower. Our toilet paper was never refilled, so during our last day, we ran out of toilet paper (while being on the toilet ....)

The bed had had it's best time, but it still slept okay (apart from the noise outside).
There was a trouserpress and a big fancy tv, but they did not add to the value of the room.
The wallpaper was torn or gone in some places, and a broken smoke detector was openend, and still next to the new, working one... Net very nice when you're on the bed looking at the ceiling. All the lamps were covered in dust, and I actually found hairs in the bath tub upon arrival.

There was a possibility to make tea and coffee, but we came as a couple and there was only one cup, so once again had to go downstairs to ask for another cup. There is no room service, axcept for a small vending machine in the lobby (really now?)

There's free usage of the minibar (YAY), but oh no, there's only 4 small soft drinks in them. Hardly enough when 2 people come back after a day of shopping!

The dustbin was dirty, clearly had not been cleaned for a few months.

If I have to compare this hotel, which was close to the Königsallee, and the one we were last year, which was a 20min train-ride away, and for which we paid 150€ less, we would DEFINITELY go back to the first one. That one was perfect, beautiful, and excellent for winding down after long day! This hotel made me want to stay in town as long as I could!

I do have to add some positives: the staff is extremely friendly and will tend to your every need. It was my boyfriends birthday during our stay, so we were treated to two small bottles of prosecco during our breakfast, that is very nice!! Everyone of the staff we spoke (except one) spoke very good english and were perfectly capable of explaining anything we wanted. Secondly, the breakfast is very good. A lot of choice (not too much choice), good food, good diversity and enough variation. Very nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinDeRidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Robin,

First I would like to thank you so much for your detailed and honest comments about your impressions you collected during your stay in our hotel.

I'm really glad that the friendliness and our breakfast buffet met your expectations and that our employees could make your stay a bit more comfortable.

Unfortunately we know that the condition of our hotel and our water system are in need of a renovation and we are really happy to inform you that we just started the refurbishment of our hotel in December so that we will have a newly renovated hotel this year. The first floor will be finished soon so that we can see the first milestone during the next weeks.

Concerning your comments about the cleanliness I immediately discussed all points with our Housekeeping Manager and we planned more detailed trainings for our housekeeping employees to avoid such incidents.
Also on behalf of our Housekeeping Manager I would like apologize for the inconvenience caused and would like to assure you that this is not our standard.

To save the environment we decided to bring only shampoo- and soap-dispensers to the standard rooms. Very often the bath amenities have to be thrown away when they are not used as they do not look quite presentable because the guests open it without using it etc.
In our superior rooms and our studios you will find toiletries prepared in addition to other amenities like:
- bathrobe
- slippers
- more free of charge soft drinks in the minibar like Coke light, beer, orange juice etc.
- and free usage of the nearby fitness centre "Fitness First"

Dear Robin, I really hope that I can welcome you in our hotel during your next visit to Düsseldorf to convince you of our service and to show you our renovated hotel.

Best wishes from Düsseldorf,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Newcastle Upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Reasonable priced hotel, situated not far from shopping district. No complaints, a nice touch was the free soft drinks and water in the mini bar.
Accessible for the Christmas markets all within walking distance

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear MattHarte,

we read your comments with a lot of interest and would like to thank you for taking the time to give us an honest review about your stay in out hotel.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with the small amenities like the free of charge soft drinks in the minibar and that the friendliness our our employees made a difference in your stay.

It will be a pleasure for me and my team to welcome you during your next stay in Düsseldorf.

Best regards,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

we have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel, and we loved it. The staff all had excellent english and they were so helpful and always greeted you with a smile. our room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The location is brilliant, just a five minute walk to the start of the Koenigsallee and about a further 15 minuets to the old town where there are lots of restaurants and bars.we decides to take a trip to Koln by train and it was no trouble for a member of staff to direct us to the train station and to print out return time tables.There is a mini bar with soft drinks and water which is free of charge and is replenished every day.Also on checking out we were given a bar of chocolate which is a lovely touch. we will stay here again on our return to Dusseldorf

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Dear Denise,

it is a pleasure for me too see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that we achieved our aim to create a "WOW"-effect!
The most important thing for my team and me is that the guest will leave our hotel with a happy smile!

We also have more good news for you: we just started our refurbishment yesterday and it would be wonderful to welcome you during your next visit in Düsseldorf also to show you our newly renovated hotel.

Best wishes from Düsseldorf,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

for a one night stay in Düsseldorf you may opt for this hotel. The central location is a strong argument. The furniture and design needs a serious up-date but for a single night you'll overlook these details. The service was friendly with the exception of the night: we had to wait 10 minutes before someone opened the hotel, it was quarter pas midnight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear borsch,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I'm really glad to inform you that we got the chance to build up 3 mock up rooms during the last weeks and we stil contend with our management to get the needed refurbishment as soon as possible.

Concerning your tip about our night shift we are really sorry that you had to wait in front of the hotel. Our night auditors have to make 2 security rounds and they have to close the door during this time. Because of that it could sometimes take some minutes till the night auditor can open the door.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you during your next trip to Düsseldorf.

Best wishes,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#45 of 237 in Dusseldorf
528 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Hotel Stadt Munchen
#39 of 237 in Dusseldorf
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
570 reviews
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#25 of 237 in Dusseldorf
330 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee

Property: Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee
Address: Luisenstr. 42, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#24 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Central Duesseldorf
Four Points By Sheraton Central Duesseldorf Hotel
Four Points Central Dusseldorf
Four Points düsseldorf
Sheraton Dusseldorf
Four Points Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Four Points
düsseldorf Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing