We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedroom far too Hot and Humid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
Ranked #52 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bedroom far too Hot and Humid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed in the Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf for 4 nights for a business trip.

Cannot fault the hotel's cleanliness or open areas, the ironing room needs updating with larger ironing boards.

However, the Bedroom was like a Sauna at night, not one good nights sleep was had, asked the maid for a fan but was given a thinner duvet instead. A/C didnt work and if you opened the window the noise from outside was too loud.

I would probably avoid this hotel in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Daniel,

I am sorry to hear about your experience and you didn't sleep properly. Actually, we should have changed your room instead of giving you only a duvet. I wish you had talked to our Front Office to initiate a room change. StilI, I want to deeply apologize for these inconvenient nights at our hotel.

With best regards from Düsseldorf
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    479
    300
    122
    72
See reviews for
126
281
90
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here recently, but would not return quickly. The room was nothing special, maybe large for Japanese standards, but just average for Europeans. The airco system is completely outdated and makes too much noise. The TV looked quite new but did not work properly (bad screen image with green lines) and the minibar was empty, except for a small note to place orders via the phone. Strange.
Reason for still giving 3 points is that the breakfast was good and so were the very new elevators (unfortunately not any info was given on HOW it worked at the check-in). The parking garage under the hotel is convenient, but also must be renovated soon.
All in all: a disappointing stay, please improve a lot more than just the elevators!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Piet005,

thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, giving us ideas to improve our product in the near future. Of course I am sad to hear that you don't want to come back soon, but maybe I can change your opinion by telling you that we offer also larger rooms, more bright and minimalistic in style and a newer air con (Executive Class).
So sad to hear about the TV problems you didn't tell our staff. The Engineering Department would have taken care immediately to ensure you have a fantastic and convenient stay.

So maybe you will give us another chance to convince you of our hotel?
Til then I promise we keep on working and improving. This hotel never stands still...

Best regards from Düsseldorf,
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked 3 nights at the Nikko Dusseldorf as we attended Japan Day in the city. Our booking was for a standard double room just under 100€/night.

Once in the room we noticed that the air conditioning wasn't working and the room was in direct sunlight so even with the curtains closed it was very hot.

The hotel immediately changed our room and upgraded us to an executive double at no extra charge for the duration of our stay.

The hotel made the decision to change us immediately and within 10 minutes we were in the new room.

The Nikko, Very reactive and concerned more with client satisfaction.

Thank you to the reception personnel at the Nikko

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivierarocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Rivierarocket,

thank you so much for your kind words and the compliments for our reception personnel, which I immediately shared with them. It's always amazing how a warm compiment like yours never fails its aim to make people smile and motivate them even more.

Sorry for the little inconvenience anyway.

I hope to see you again very soon at the Nikko and wish you a great day.

With best regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a horrible night here, no sleep, and bad service.

Entering my room I walked into a puddle of water - the carpet in the main room (in front of the bathroom) was soaking wet. I put towels on but they got wet instantly which means that everytime I entered the bathroom and had to cross the carpet / pile of towels my feet still got wet. Sure I could have requested a new room, but since it was late decided it was not worth it since I just wanted to sleep. Unfortunately the room was noisy as it faced the main road, and the aircon - instead of cooling the room only made more noise, so I could not find any sleep - which was not helped by the damp smell of the carpet.

When I tried to ring reception / concierge / room service in the morning at 6.30am to fix the coffee machine which stopped working (apparently the fuse blew up), nobody picked up the phone - I tried 10 minutes and all possible numbers that were indicated on the phone. I tried again half an hour later and finally somebody picked up and promised to check the fusebox and fix the coffee machine, however, sadly nobody ever showed up. I also needed to iron my blouse and asked for an iron / board, however, I was told there was no iron / board available so I was told I should go up to floor 7 if I wanted to iron something, there is a room with an iron (??!!).

Also, hardly any amenities, TV didn't work (probably due to the fuse as well) and overall I had a very unpleasant stay and no sleep.

I would not stay there ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aveeva_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Aveeva_13,
thanks for sharing your thoughts also on TripAdvisor.
As you can confirm, we already took care of these issues and of compensating you for your unpleasant experience. I am sure that we solved this case to your satisfaction in our personal dialogue.

Nevertheless it is important to let the TripAdvisor community know that there existed no sanitary problem, but that we gave you a freshly deep-cleaned room with a shampooed carpet. Drying of course takes some time, and we once again deeply apologize for giving out a room too early.

With best regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Nikko Hotel is located in something of a Little Tokyo in Dusseldorf. Officially there isn't any such thing, but the surrounding area has lots of ramen, sushi and other such places. If you've been to Germany you'll know that many are just 'Asia Cuisine' places and not very authentic, but not so here. The local places often cater to Japanese expats and tourists as well as locals and are usually authentic.

The hotel itself is bright and modern, service is efficient, there's a nice atrium with coffee available and a probably very nice Japanese restaurant.

Rooms were a good size and very comfortable with decent bathrooms.

Only slight problem was that the lists were being refurbished, but that was not a major problem.

If you want to be in this area, or only 10 minutes walk from the station, this place is excellent. Actually I might choose to stay in the old town instead next time in Dusseldorf, but that would be my only possible reason for not returning. All in all, a good option.

Plenty of local restaurants, the U-bahn is a few minutes walk away. Trams run up and down Immermannstrasse just outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear mjb1001,

thanks for your kind rating of our hotel and its services.
And I hope you opt for the Nikko again on your next visit to Dusseldorf!

With best regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A group of us stayed in Hotel Nikko in March for work. Throughout the group booking process, the hotel staff were very flexible and helpful. The actual stay was pleasant, great breakfast and the hotel is perfectly placed near the tram and within walking distance to the old town for excellent local restaurants. It would be great if WiFi could be arranged in advance for group bookings of comfort rooms. We'll be staying again in 2015!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marloes_Klijnsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Marloes,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to read that your group enjoyed the stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015!

With best regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
493 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Nikko has up to date rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean shower and good beds. I could not find anything bad about the hotel but nothing really stood out. If you can get a room for a right rate it is for sure a good choice. The location close to the railway station and walking distance to the river and restaurants and bars allows for a comfortable and healthy walk before and after dinner. The elevators are a bit slow so planning the time you push the button to go down is important at peak times, but that is the case in many hotels. Had the idea that the amount of elevators per room is at the low side though. Breakfast is expensive but that is almost everywhere in Europe

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DdeKerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Mr. Axel,

Thank you very much for taking the time of rating our hotel on Tripadvisor; our team including myself highly appreciate this.

For your information, our Express Breakfast at the lobby features not only feature a single croissant and one coffee, but an assortment of freshly baked buns and croissants, choice of 3 different jams, butter and Nutella, a hot (coffee or tea) and a cold drink for our clients choice – the ideal breakfast (within a reasonable price/performance ratio) in a cozy atmosphere for people during a morning rush.

As for the elevators we are glad to inform that the Hotel Nikko is currently installing three new elevators in our main building, which will appear to our valuable clients like you in a new fashionable design with modern technology as well as are performing in a more intelligent, effective and much faster way.

We would be delighted of welcoming you back again in the near future to proof to you our true service.

Ken Dittrich
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#24 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf

Property: Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
Address: Immermannstrasse 41, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko dusseldorf is located within easy reach of the city center, the main train station and within a 15 minutes drive from Duesseldorf airport. The parking garage adjacent to the hotel consists of 550 spaces. The hotel has a capacity of 386 guest rooms and suites furnished in comfortable and modern style. Non smoking rooms are available and also specially equipped rooms for disabled guests. In 2008 and 2009 the hotel nikko was expanded by a new hotel wing with 85 elegant designed executive rooms and suites. Guests, who book this category, will enjoy special service benefits as well: The SKY SPA is included in the hotel price and modern coffee machines will guarantee a perfect start of the day. The fully equipped SKY SPA on the 11th floor of the first class hotel nikko dusseldorf helps you to recover while you enjoy the view over Dusseldorf from our penthouse pool on the 11th floor. With products of SOTHYS Paris, the SKY SPA team provide a huge choice of body massages, therapies and facials. SOTHYS - Symbolic for a cherish, radiant goodliness. The culinary offer is as multicultural as the guests. Japanese cuisine with a fish corner, sushi bar and unique teppanyaki grills in the Benkay restaurant. International and Japanese breakfasts in Traveller's restaurant. Cakes, light snacks and salads or a diverse gourmet cuisine in the Torii Bar & Bistro. Enjoy first-class cocktails and more than 60 wines from around the world. Furthermore the hotel offers 2.000 Square meters of convention space with the most modern technical equipment, an experienced conference team and various room options. 12 Conference rooms provide everything you need for a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel düsseldorf
Dusseldorf Nikko Hotel
Nikko Dusseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing