We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if your name is Clark Griswold.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Terminus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terminus Hotel
Ranked #195 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Mullingar
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Only if your name is Clark Griswold.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

That place looked like some lousy hourly hotel. Filthy carpets, no restaurant (they only serve breakfasts), 50yr old jamming elevator (and receptionist trying to fix it, incredible). My door was damaged - there was a piece of it missing at the bottom. Heating didn't work. I'm not done yet, here comes the best bit: I got up in the morning and noticed there was no water in the bathroom. Went down to reception to ask could this be fixed. Night manager said that maybe in an hour and in the meantime I could try and take shower in another room. So there I was, being given 3 keys, running from room 12 (no water), through 36 (not even a drop) to 61 (6th floor, enough water to wash my face). Manager said he was surprised there's a water issue as he hasn't noticed any leakage on the ceiling over the reception. That makes sense.
If you're still thinking of booking a room in Terminus, you need to know they don't have a car park. There's one across the street and it costs 13eur/night.
One good thing - you get a free public transport ticket.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
4
2
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

ok cheap is cheap but you can be below the line here.
not well mantained neither so clean.
brakfast was not bad but was the less bad.
btw we also paid 300 euro bcs was exibition ....fare !!!!

so besides being disappointed u feel bad treated.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank claudio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Went to Germany for Christmas markets and our group of friends selected this hotel. Not all staff speak English but the management did and were very helpful. The free travel card was very useful and was good for the airport return. Swimming pool and sauna a bonus. Breakfast was plentiful. Rooms adequate and clean. Location a short tram ride away or a good walk. Easy access to the whole area. Free WIFI useful. The Sardinia pizza restaurant and the Indian nearby excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew712Eves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

After reading the poor reviews of this hotel, I decided to stay elsewhere. In November, when I made the booking directly online with the hotel, I tried to cancel my reservation. There was nowhere on their website to find my booking, nevermind cancel it. I emailed the hotel directly. One week passed, no response. I emailed my original email and highlighted the fact the they hadn't responded and their response suggested I cancel online, as that's where I made the booking. Again, I searched the hotel website and there is nowhere to cancel or amend my booking. I emailed them once again asking them to accept my email as cancellation. There has been no acknowledgement/response from the hotel. Yesterday (December 23), I used the online contact form on the hotel website and requested they cancel my reservation. Yes, of course, there has been no response. The annoying thing about all this is, that whilst I can cancel up until the day before my arrival (18 Jan '13), my debit card will be charged (as I haven't cancelled), this information is required to secure a booking. The only thing I can do to ensure I do not get charged is to cancel my card with my bank which is not really convenient, but rather than being charged, I have no alternative. I think the hotel is not really geared to a modern traveller and despite the look of the website, having read reviews here, they'll do anything to get custom i.e won't cancel your booking. I'm glad I'm not staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tab2Tab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here with some friends for a bachelor's party. As we were often outside the hotel and came back just for the night, it suited our needs.

Location is fine.

Quality of the beds is also ok, bathroom is functional and clean. I would avoid walking on bare foots in the rooms as the carpets haven't been cleaned for a long while.

There's a swimming pool in the basement. Only with artificial lights. Sauna is ok.

I would only recommend this hotel if you look for an inexpensive, convenient hotel, just for the night.

Dusseldorf is a very nice city and if you want to enjoy your moment at the hotel, please take another one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LodgingVje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

we went to dusseldorf on business during drupa. we booked late, so this is what was left in the area we needed to stay in. besides the semi decent location and friendly staff, the only positive thing was that some of the rooms are decently large. out rooms were not smoke free (i dont know if this is an option) - so you may have some lingering smells. there is no minibar, no shampoo, no lotion and a terribly old hairdryer. it is across from an xxx video store and has super loud construction in the front (all of our windows looked out onto the street). if you want to sleep with the window open, you will hear the tram all night and it is loud. the breakfast is 10 euros, but we went to a bakery around the corner and paid 12 euros for 4 people to eat and drink until full.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

in general friendly place with an ok pool in the basement. Have bever experienced such a rude service before as we got from the person / staff handling the breakfast though. Spoiled the experience in total.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
Petersburg Hotel
Petersburg Hotel
#113 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf City - Toulouser Allee
Flingern Nord
Hotel Heidelberger Hof
Hotel Heidelberger Hof
#129 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Dusseldorf - City
Stadt-Mitte
Business Wieland Hotel
Business Wieland Hotel
#25 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#59 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terminus Hotel

Property: Terminus Hotel
Address: Am Wehrhahn 81-83, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terminus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing