We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for a short stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avidon Art & Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
Ranked #66 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for a short stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

stayed for a couple nights for a business trip. The hotel was conveniently located near the tram and train lines only a short distance from the airport. Was close to the area where I had some appointments and it worked out fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProffX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    63
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
32
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for one night (Saturday 1st March) with my son and his two friends. We flew into Dusseldorf early in the morning and were heading to Dortmund to watch a football match. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport which will cost you about 9 euros. On arrival I found the perfectly English speaking staff very helpful. We were too early to check In but they happily held onto our bags and when we returned to the hotel in the evening they had taken them up to our rooms. We had 2 rooms with twin beds, which were spacious and clean. There are supermarkets and a pharmacy very close by as well as a few restaurants and take-aways and the area is a residential and safe environment. We left early on Sunday morning to fly home and the staff ordered us a taxi back to the airport. Overall, no complaints at all and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Dusseldorf,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandpiperGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Instead of staying in a major hotel when your in a buzzy trade show for days , this hotel has lots to offer it's got a wonderful vibe , clean crisp rooms good music and one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever seen , no gym unfortunately there are a few not to far away . Was away from the crowd yet 10 minutes from the Messe , well worth it

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Run by kind, understanding people who put the human element into the hotel business. Many thanks. I had known from previous visits that Dusseldorf is a wonderful city for a typical Germanic feel. The beer houses in the old town centre are a personal favourite. I will certainly stay at Avidon on my ext trip to Dusseldorf.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Oh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Everything was great at the hotel. There is a little restaurant/bar next door serving a very good German meal at reasonable prices. Hotel is convenient to the airport but in a small residential area.

The taxi driver was confused by the "Art & Design" in the hotel name...insisted it was the "Avidon". Some might not appreciate the street car next door but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Hotel is spotlessly clean, very modern and only a short taxi ride from the airport (we arrived late at night). The staff were friendly and helpful to us. I cannot remember the names of the other staff but Boysal was very pleasant to us.

As per previous reviews the tram passes right beside the hotel and yes they are loud. Our room was in the third floor and while we were overlooking the tram stop it did not bother us too much because of the height. I would definately request for a room away from the trams in advance . The tram or S train is a cheap way of getting in to the city.

The area where the hotel is located is pretty boring and as the hotel has only a tiny bar I would only use it as a short stop over as we did. The breakfast was a bit expensive at 18 euro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the tram side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped here overnight before catching a morning flight from Dusseldorf airport. This hotel is stylish and modern. We had a comfortable room with a good bathroom. The lift is tiny. While close to the airport, the hotel is in an unattractive area with very limited dining options. The breakfast was fine. The hotel only provides breakfast. You can pay for parking, but we found a free park over the road. The room was relatively expensive for bed only. It was very noisy in the early evening with trams going past our room that faced the street. Fortunately, we did not notice the trams at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dusseldorf
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel Airport
Lindner Hotel Airport
#38 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Airport Fashion Hotel
Airport Fashion Hotel
#74 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Dusseldorf Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relexa Hotel Airport Dusseldorf-Ratingen
0.8 mi away
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
#13 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Destination 21
Hotel Destination 21
#68 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avidon Art & Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avidon Art & Design Hotel

Property: Avidon Art & Design Hotel
Address: Unterrather Strasse 42, 40468 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Avidon Hotel Airport)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#32 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avidon Art & Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Avidon Art & Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eazires Avidon Airport düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing