We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Cool No Frills Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen
Ranked #83 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
jaipur,India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Real Cool No Frills Hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel few years back too. It is a hidden gem sort of a property, Clean, Very Friendly with all necessary amenities. Only down side was the size of the Duvet....Found it too small even for my average height and bulk. But all in all, it is a very very nice place at a decent price !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secondpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    239
    195
    66
    28
See reviews for
77
120
78
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I would like to give the hotel a better rating, but it fails in several respects. It may seem a more reasonably-priced hotel than those in the centre of Düsseldorf, but there are hidden financial drawbacks.

To begin with, it is not an ‘airport’ hotel although it poses as one. It is in fact 12 or 13 euros in a taxi from the airport. It is true that there is an airport shuttle bus to the hotel, if you can find out where it leaves from. For those who may decide to use the hotel, then you have to go to the Sheraton Hotel entrance from the airport terminal and there is a little desk there for local transport – they will summon the bus…But if you want to go back to the airport from the hotel, the bus isn’t on a regular schedule – it has to be booked at least an hour in advance at the front desk of the hotel.

It also suggests on its website that the Düsseldorf exhibition centre is nearby, but in fact the only way you can get there is by taxi and it is 25 euros. So while the hotel may appear to be cheaper than central Düsseldorf hotels, that 50 euros a day in transportation to get to and from the exhibition centre might as well be spent on a central city hotel from where you can get to the trade shows using the excellent U-bahn system for a couple of euros.

There used to be a shuttle bus from the hotel to the exhibition grounds, but that is no longer run, which means that the hotel, in my view is not for the attendees at trade shows.

The hotel is an average Holiday Inn; decent-sized rooms, reasonably appointed, pleasant staff and the restaurant is moderately priced and the quality of the food is good. Wine, even the house wine, is extortionate at 27 euros for a bottle. The restaurant is often closed in the week, but the pub/bar serves reasonable food at decent prices.

But the hotel lets itself down badly by ripping off its guests with a 19 euro charge for breakfast. It does so because there is no-where else in the locality to get breakfast, at least if you are on foot. I was so incensed at the charge that my colleagues and myself simply waited until we got to the trade show and used the restaurant there, which opens at 9.00 a.m.

There is free wi-fi for higher echelon club cards, but let’s get that into perspective – it should be free for everyone. Internet costs an hotel nothing, so to charge guests is, in my opinion, outrageous.

In my opinion, therefore, the Holiday Inn at Ratingen is not an airport hotel, it is not a convention hotel and for those reasons it is only for those businessmen visiting the nearby business park. And for its rip-off pricing policy – especially for breakfast – it gets only three stars from me.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Snookoafc1,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, I would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We are pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with pleasant service. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is close to the airport, is staffed by really nice people, and has an airport shuttle. But be aware that it is not a marked "Holiday Inn" shuttle. They use a shared airport shuttle with other hotels, so look for the "Flughafen" shuttle that makes its rounds in the loop right outside the exits. It stops at the "B" exit (you'll see, as you exit the DUS terminal, that there is an inner loop where cars/taxis/buses pull off of the ring to do pickups, and a little-bit-farther off loop where the cars can continue on without having to slow down. The shuttle picks you up off of that farther loop. If you hit the parking garage you've gone too far).

Pizza room service rates are pretty reasonable, I noticed. 9 euros per. But I didn't try it, so I can't comment on the quality.

Hallway noise can be heard, furniture is old, but everything is clean. Nothing to write home about, but nothing terribly objectionable. I'd use it again for a one-night stay for a DUS takeoff in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tullyhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear tullyhanson,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided as well as the location of our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Its a descent hotel at about 15 mins from the dusseldorf airport, the hotel provides shuttle service to the airport, you can ask for the shuttle location ( it inside and not easy to find) at the information counter in the arrival floor, you would need to inform the reception an hour before if you need a shuttle for the airport.
Stay in general was very good and comfortable, breakfast at the resturant is 17 euros but is great spread.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManiHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Its good if your just needing to stay by the airport for one night. Conveniently they have the flight status in the lobby. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. The staff is friendly and they have a decent bar/restaurant.

If you want to venture out, your far away from everything. Nothing to do but chill at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Good old-fashioned hotel. Simple clean rooms with coffe-tea maker. Only one news channel on English.Nothing special excepting outdoors sauna - perfect! Good pool. Excellent restourant. I can agree that meals are slightly overprised but – that's your choise, there are convenient transportation to Dusseldorf. Note: NRW shuttle busses office is located at entrance of Sheraton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Chose this hotel for a night's stay prior to early morning flight from DUS. It was too early to try the included breaksfast. Very affordable. We encountered no problems with hotel's staff. Airport shuttle was convenient. Nicest suprise was a pile of fresh fruit in the room. Was it because I am IHG platinum? I don't know. But I'd stay here again. The place might be a bit tired but it wasn't a problem to us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dusseldorf
1.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel Airport
Lindner Hotel Airport
#33 of 238 in Dusseldorf
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relexa Hotel Airport Dusseldorf-Ratingen
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tryp Duesseldorf Airport Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Dusseldorf Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
#68 of 238 in Dusseldorf
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen

Property: Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen
Address: Broichhofstr. 3, 40880 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Airport-Ratingen - Your hotel for an excellent overnight stay! Only 4 km from Dusseldorf International Airport and with our complimentary airport-shuttle, you will spend less time in traffic and more time on doing what you came for. Whether you are coming to Dusseldorf to visit the fairs CPD, GDS, ProWein, Newcast ,IBA or for business, we are the ideal hotel for you!Just 9 km from the trade fairground Dusseldorf, the Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Airport-Ratingen is your best choice in the 4-star category. Amenities such as air-condition, free wireless LAN access, work desk, plush towels, luxurious bedding or the largest rooms in town (25-30 sqm) mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The industrial area with companies like Nokia, Mitsubishi or Hewlett Packard is within short distance. After your business day, you can take a dip in our pool, enjoy a freshly draft beer in our bar Pub with your colleagues or test the great food in our restaurant terra mia . During the summer months you can relax in our summer garden around the pool. From a great breakfast to start the day to a relaxing meal in the evening our team looks forward to welcoming you. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen Hotel
Holiday Inn düsseldorf
düsseldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing