We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average huge hotel with outdated decor and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen
Ranked #80 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“average huge hotel with outdated decor and rooms”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Typical airport hotel ,very huge , but outdated inside out , rooms have a shabby decor and my room had a radio dating back 50 years .if cheap book otherwise find an alternative .as it isn't typical holiday inn,

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmeetuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jasmeet S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations with the condition of our hotel. We are constantly working on improving the quality of service we provide and your feedback will guide us to make these improvements possible.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    234
    188
    64
    26
See reviews for
74
117
77
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I like this hotel for its out and indoor swimming pool and first of all for outdoor biergarten! Unfortunately this time outdoor buffet was not available due to bad weather. Very disapointed but it was only weather's fault not hotels. Well need to wsit until next year as surely I will be back there! This time I would like to thank Housekeeper Celine for profesional and nice service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joasiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Forced into staying here by Air Berlin after they massively messed up our flights they promised a 4 star hotel with food. Neither was true. What was true were amazingly rude, unhelpful and contemptuous staff, no food at all at 10.00pm at night, not very clean, room has a resident mosquito population,the free shuttle service from and back to the airport turned out to be a complete myth and we got ripped off by the shuttle operators, and any request at all, no matter how small was rejected as impossible. I was strongly reminded of bad experiences berhind the Iron Curtain in the bad old days and would not stay there again if they paid me to. Do yourself a favour, stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattD1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was very skeptical about staying here and wrote the hotel direct about a quiet room and a room with a/c that worked. When we arrived they did not have the correct room for us but made an effort to correct it. I disagree with other comments that the hotel is dated. We stayed in room 160 and it was clean and modern. It was also a decent sized room and very quiet. I do agree with other comments that the a/c BARELY blows out cold air. You could not cool the room a whole lot but it was cooler than the outside air. They really need to work on it. The negatives are; there is nothing around you and if you plan on going into the city it runs $25-$28 Euros each way so you may want to just spend more. Plus they charge $14 a day or Internet which is silly! In the end I would have rather paid more to be in the city and a hotel that the a/c was actually stronger.

The staff though was VERY NICE. I think they did the best they could.

Room Tip: 160 faced the center which was very quiet and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very standard accommodation focused to serve passengers on connecting flights via Düsseldorf or on early morning departures. In my case, it was a rather involuntary visit. My late evening flight was cancelled and the airline made the required arrangements with the Holiday Inn. There is nothing to do or to see close to the hotel, meaning that the only reason to book this hotel seems to be its close location to the airport. The rooms are very basic and modest. I noticed a penetrant cigarette smell in my room though it seemed to be a non-smoker room. Toiletries are limited to soap and shower gel. Breakfast is pretty much OK considering the hotel's category. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
407 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As I have been there many times before, I was happy again. Very convenient to the airport and the city of Ratingen. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good too.
Nothing to complain about my room either. I will always return there.,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Guess we can't complain for the price. It's run down and quite out of the way (except to the airport). We stayed on the second floor and there are no elevators in the hotel. So be warned if you are traveling with elderly or kids who can't manage their suitcase and you have to make multiple trips for them. There was a huge storm in the evening when we were there so we could not open the super large windows (ie: doors) without a small flood in our room. The room was stuffy and unbearable as the air-conditioning on the entire second floor was not working. But I guess this is a once in 10 years storm, so I don't expect anyone else to experience this The hairdryer in my room wasn't working and I had a grumpy lady who came to see what was wrong. She gave me a replacement hairdryer but it had a plug head that could not fit into any of the sockets in the room! Do note that some rooms racing the road can be noisy.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sue_Yin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is regrettable that our location was not to your liking and that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay with us. As for the air conditioning system and amenities, we apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced. As a valued guest, please be assured that all comments are acted upon, as we rely on you to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Should your future travel plans bring you back here, we would love the opportunity in serving you better.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dusseldorf
0.2 mi away
Relexa Hotel Airport Dusseldorf-Ratingen
1.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel Airport
Lindner Hotel Airport
#33 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Dusseldorf Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
#71 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen

Property: Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen
Address: Broichhofstr. 3, 40880 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Airport-Ratingen - Your hotel for an excellent overnight stay! Only 4 km from Dusseldorf International Airport and with our complimentary airport-shuttle, you will spend less time in traffic and more time on doing what you came for. Whether you are coming to Dusseldorf to visit the fairs CPD, GDS, ProWein, Newcast ,IBA or for business, we are the ideal hotel for you!Just 9 km from the trade fairground Dusseldorf, the Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Airport-Ratingen is your best choice in the 4-star category. Amenities such as air-condition, free wireless LAN access, work desk, plush towels, luxurious bedding or the largest rooms in town (25-30 sqm) mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The industrial area with companies like Nokia, Mitsubishi or Hewlett Packard is within short distance. After your business day, you can take a dip in our pool, enjoy a freshly draft beer in our bar Pub with your colleagues or test the great food in our restaurant terra mia . During the summer months you can relax in our summer garden around the pool. From a great breakfast to start the day to a relaxing meal in the evening our team looks forward to welcoming you. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf Airport Ratingen Hotel
Holiday Inn düsseldorf
düsseldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing