We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guennewig Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #133 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent, clean but nothing special”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed in Esplanade Dusseldorf for one night. The hotel is convinient and in a good location. The rooms are clean but very small. The breakkfast is decent, nothing special but generally OK. The reception needs some renovation.
In general, you will definately not fall in love with this hotel but for a business traveller it is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Assistentin der Verkaufsleitung at Guennewig Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for your kind feedback and your constructive criticism regarding our reception.
In fact, a "facelift" of the reception is part of our renovation plans for the coming year. We hope that we can convince you to visit us again and give you a new view of our services and refunished facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you again we remain with

kind regards

Anne Schulze Osthoff
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
9
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed there on a business trip for two nights

Hotel is located in a part of town that is not so nice. The guy at the reception tried to be funny and witty but managed to be rather rude

Design of the hotel is outdated
Breakfast is bad
No AC
Not a nice experience

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilworth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Assistentin der Verkaufsleitung at Guennewig Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. Be assured that this does not reflect our standard and we apologize in due form! Constructive criticism is important for us to improve our quality and service.
We would be glad if you gave us the opportunity to convince you that we can do far better.

Kind regards
Günnewig Hotel Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Pitesti, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed there for one night and I enjoyed my stay. I found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. The hotel room was small but clean and it had everything I needed. My room was facing the back so the view was nothing to write home about. I had a small bathroom with a shower in the bath and a hairdryer. There is also a TV and fridge in the room. It was a bit of a walk to the central train station, about 20 minutes, but there is a tram station close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Draegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Assistentin der Verkaufsleitung at Guennewig Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Mr Draegen,

Many thanks for the time and effort you spent on reporting on your stay.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our GÜNNEWIG Hotel Esplanade. Your feedback helps us to improve our service constantly and respond to our guest's wishes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Anne Schulze Osthoff
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Considering the price, this hotel provides good value for the money. But with sky high prices for internet, it´s not the place to stay if you need to work a little.
Old satiny carpets is also not so attractive. But very nice staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Located close to the city centre (15 minutes walk/2 tram stops from the main railway station), comfortable, clean and very hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessia_XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

My family and I have used this hotel in Dusseldorf for a number of years and have always found it a great place to stay in a quiet residential area, close to the heart of the city. The rooms are comfortable and all the facilities agreeable. Located in Furstenplatz, Their are always taxis at the nearby rank and the trams can take you quickly to the Konigsallee, The altstadt and the main station. The pub on the corner serves some good traditional german food and the Italian next door is very good to.
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and its Staff make it feel family run not part of a chain. A city break to Dusseldorf is an essential.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lordoftheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 December 2002

The Hotel is small and dirty. Not ruled by professionels. But most expensive.



Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Guennewig Hotel Uebachs
#91 of 237 in Dusseldorf
143 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Hotel Stadt Munchen
#39 of 237 in Dusseldorf
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#25 of 237 in Dusseldorf
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Hotel Esplanade

Property: Guennewig Hotel Esplanade
Address: Fuerstenplatz 17 | Friedrichstadt, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guennewig Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gunnewig Hotel Esplanade, the well maintained city hotel with the individual and personal touch. You will find this hotel at the heart of the fashion and finance centre of Dusseldorf near the tranquil Furstenplatz. The famous Konigsallee with the attractions like "Stilwerk" and "Sevens" and the main train station are just a few minutes' walk away. The Dusseldorf fair and exhibition grounds are only 15 minutes away by car or tram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Guennewig Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing