We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent 3 star hotel in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guennewig Hotel Uebachs
Ranked #86 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is not a 4 star hotel as advertised, mainly because it does not have air conditioning. We were there in July, it was hot, and the room was very stuffy.

Other than no AC, the hotel is very comfortable. Lovely lobby area, friendly staff, and an excellent breakfast. The rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReneWicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

In comparison with the high rates you pay in Dusseldorf, this hotel turned out to be good option. While it is seems a bit limited for a 4 star and the reception staff could be a bit friendlier, It balances location, price and a good comfortable room with free wifi. The rooms a small with tiny bathrooms but all to a good standard and nice beds. It is recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Manager at Guennewig Hotel Uebachs, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive and negative review.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Please excuse for the inconvenience. We will investigate this matter thoroughly.

We still hope that you will come back in the future to our Günnewig Hotel Uebachs and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best wishes from Düsseldorf

Alexandros Giannakopoulos & Team
Manager Hotel Uebachs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last week to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were very disappointed. The location is ok but it is nearly 20 minutes walk to the main bars so be prepared! We were driving so I contacted the hotel well before our stay to book a parking space and was told one would be made available to us. They are obviously doing some improvement works in the city and locating the hotel was a challenge but when we finally got there we were very disappointed to be told that in fact they can't reserve a parking space and we had to park at a near by shopping centre at a cost of 20 euros for 24 hours. Don't believe their website they actually only have 10 parking spaces for the entire hotel! We also found the staff to be very rude and the beds were actually so hard I am sure the floor would have been more comfortable. Also to be noted that a 4 star hotel this claims to be really should have some free wifi, we have stayed at cheaper 2 star hotels in some city and still had this! The redeeming features are the large bathrooms and the little packet of haribo sweets left on the pillow, that's a nice touch, but not enough for us to ever stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Manager at Guennewig Hotel Uebachs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We are very sorry about your unsatisfied stay in our house. Please excuse for the inconvenience. We will investigate this matter thoroughly.

We still hope that you will come back in the future to our house and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best wishes from Düsseldorf

Alexsandros Giannakopoulos + Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I went to Düsseldorf for just 2 days. I did reservation by internet and the price was very good ! It is a nice hotel, absolutely clean, nice and big bedroom, breakfast (in my case, included) absolutely marvelous. It is rated as 4 stars but it will not match other 4 stars around the world, considering things generally offered (but that I generally do not use, as a swimming pool, for example). Nevertheless, the value is really very good, no doubt about that. The only low point is that there is no free wifi available, you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

i cannot complain, because for a very good price, less than $100.00, although I was surprised by the rating of 4 Stars. I think the hotel much have friends in high places in Dusseldorf, to get such a rating.

However, the staff were nice, the room was typical European size, actual larger than many, and located excellent for my visit. It is a bit hidden unless you know Dusseldorf well, and the rooms have thin walls.

I must say, that I know many hotels in Dusseldorf, and this is not a bad deal for the stay, however only if they keep their prices under 100.00 for a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Assistentin der Verkaufsleitung at Guennewig Hotel Uebachs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you were contented with our service, location and price performance ratio. Please be assured that our "4 stars" are based on the official "DEHOGA Klassifizierung" which is conducted after the nationwide standard guidelines of Germany.

We look forward to welcoming you again .

With best regards from Dusseldorf

Alexandros Giannakopoulos Admila Skiljo
Manager Operation Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel is an average one, quite well placed in the city. However, there are problems with the parking, it wasn't easy to obtain a space. The room was next to the elevator and this is not the ideal place - the elevator is very noisy, and at the peak hours - morning and evening - it becomes a real nuisance.
The management must urgently consider installing air-conditioning, otherwise they will start losing customers. The climate is constantly changing and this is a must.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me11048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine N, Leiter Front Office at Guennewig Hotel Uebachs, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr LeZiyyon,

vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.

Es tut uns sehr leid für die entstandenen Unannehmlichkeiten.

Gerne hätten wir Ihnen einen angenehmeren Aufenthalt in Düsseldorf ermöglicht und bei Ihnen einen positiveren Eindruck von unserem Hotel hinterlassen.

Leider verfügt unser Haus nur über eine bestimmte Anzahl an Parkplätzen, die meistens auch schnell vergeben sind.

Gerne können wir für Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch einen Parkplatz direkt reservieren.

Wenige unserer Zimmer liegen in der Nähe des Aufzuges. Eine bessere Schallisolierung unseres Aufzuges ist schon in Bearbeitung.

Unsere Zimmer verfügen leider nicht über eine Klimaanlage, dafür haben wir an den Fenstern sonnenabweisende Rollos angebracht, und werden die Zimmer ausreichend mit Ventilatoren ausstatten.

Vielen Dank für die positive Beurteilung unseres Frühstückbuffet und die gute Resonanz über unsere Mitarbeiter.

Wir sind ständig bemüht unsere Leistungen zu verbessern, und würden uns sehr darüber freuen Sie bald wieder als Gäste in unserem Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus Düsseldorf

Admila Skiljo
Betriebsassistentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Hotel in quiet street, but not very centrally located to anything. Stayed in small room on the 5th floor. With poor ventilation, and too warm even in April. Otherwise - staff and breakfast OK.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank torsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Duesseldorf City by Tulip Inn
Stadt-Mitte
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#65 of 240 in Dusseldorf
80 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Am Wehrhahn
Hotel Am Wehrhahn
#163 of 240 in Dusseldorf
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Max Brown Hotel Midtown
#73 of 240 in Dusseldorf
293 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Hotel Stadt Munchen
#36 of 240 in Dusseldorf
284 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Alt Graz Hotel
Alt Graz Hotel
#102 of 240 in Dusseldorf
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Hotel Uebachs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Hotel Uebachs

Address: Leopoldstr. 3-5, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £41 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guennewig Hotel Uebachs 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the Heart of Dusseldorf situated in the quiet "Leopoldstrasse", you will find the popular and well-kept Gunnewig Hotel Uebachs. This charming hotel is an ideal starting point for interesting activities in the Federal state's capital. The famous "Konigsallee", the old quarter, bank area, shopping boardwalk as well the main station are just a few minutes' walk away. The Dusseldorf fair and exhibition grounds and the international Dusseldorf airport are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guennewig Hotel Uebachs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing