We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”
Review of Cafe de Bretagne

Cafe de Bretagne
Ranked #194 of 1,815 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$44
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Utrecht
Level Contributor
315 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Always a bustling place and for a reason. Fresh seafood in a French ambiance. We always visit the place for lunch when we are in Dusseldorf and have never been disappointed. Prepare for elevated prices, but worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank EduardUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb oysters, good wine and a real bistro atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

As our very helpful waiter said " It's not a classy restaurant but our seafood is always very fresh and our wines are good" and we would fully endorse that! We shall probably return many times in the future. A really good place for seafood lovers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyking8652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So - So dining option”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I went to Cafe de Bretagne with high hopes and expectations. I left wishing I had made a different choice for a meal. While everything was average, I had hoped for an above average experience. Nothing stood out as being above par - service, food, atmosphere. I would not go out of my way to experience this cafe again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibum1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasent atmosphere, a little bit of bretange in Dusseldorf”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We came across with this place towards Carlsplatz. Walked in for a spontaneous diner. Service was personable. It took some time for the food to arrive on the table, but the meal was very nice. Great deal for a nice seafood dinner. The owner tries to gives a bit of bretange touch too it.
Being in Bretange before I must say it does succeed in that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inetbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent seafood dishes with pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Came across with this place after strolling around Carlsplatz. Walked in for early supper. Service was personable. It took some time for the food to arrive on the table, but the meal was very satisfying. Great deal for a nice seafood dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swangogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Bretagne also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Cafe de Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing