We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cancelled our guaranteed room reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Ranked #47 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cancelled our guaranteed room reservation”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had guaranteed room reservations because we were arriving about midnight... When we arrived we were told there was no room for us. After much research, they found that our guaranteed room reservation had been cancelled for our credit card. They never bothered to call us or to contact our travel agent - like throwing us out on the street!!! They finally grudgingly gave us a disable persons room with one single bed - for 2 people. I guess it was better than sleeping on the streets.

Room Tip: Steer clear of this hotel- it was very unprofessional to not save a room after it was paid for..cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    333
    165
    60
    26
See reviews for
74
221
96
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This is a real business hotel. I have rated it average because I deem that the rate of over 200 Euros is too high for this place. First of all the hotel itself is not really nice the rooms are spacious, but need revamping. The same is valid for the bar... Which if you are used to hotel bars, will most probably disappoint you, too small...
I admit that check-in and out service is really fast and that is probably of added value for short business trips.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Decent business hotel - nice and clean rooms. Restaurant isn't much to care for and the breakfast buffet is boring, much better alternatives eating outside the hotel both for breakfast and dinner.
Good service - horribly slow internet in the standard package, forcing ppl to upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Morten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was in this hotel in September 2013, there was really nice room with bathroom with bath tube. Room is silent, bed really large and huge with comfortable mattress. Hotel is few minutes by walk from main train station. Breakfast was full with variety foods and permanent services of staff who ask you if you want to next piece of food, if is anything good. Really one of the best Mercure hotel which I have visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank tropolach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
152 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were very pleased with the hotel. The room was lovely, with a balcony and plenty of space. It was clean and quiet. It is only two or three blocks from the train station which makes for easy connection to the airport. It is within walking distance of the Old Town for meals and shopping.

Beware, however. If you use a travel agent (we stayed on BA Avios points), they denied us internet in the room and didn't bother to mention it is available free in the lobby. They also denied free breakfast- charging an outrageous E22 per person. We ate elsewhere. All this even though I am a member of their loyalty program and am supposed to get those perks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#20 of 236 in Dusseldorf
527 reviews
Friedrichstadt
InterCityHotel Duesseldorf
InterCityHotel Duesseldorf
#75 of 236 in Dusseldorf
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#39 of 236 in Dusseldorf
492 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center

Property: Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Address: Am Stresemannplatz 1, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center offers 163 rooms and is located in the heart of Dusseldorf between the main railway station and the renowned Konigsallee 800 m away. Providing ideal access to the exhibition centre and the international airport just 10 km away, the Mercure hotel also features the Apero bar, the Quatre Saisons brasserie, a terrace and three conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City
Mercure Duesseldorf City Center
Mercure Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing