We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good budget hotel and location for my wife and I” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Duesseldorf City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Duesseldorf City
Ranked #56 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
A TripAdvisor Member
“Always a good budget hotel and location for my wife and I”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. For the price, it is one of the better budget hotels in the area, for the following reasons:

- Next to the train station
- Japanese restaurants only a few minutes walk away (on Immermannstrasse)
- Decent breakfast (European style)
- Good price (except during conventions)
- Clean
- Really good

To picky travelers or people used to staying at cheap Marriotts and Hiltons in the states, this is not the same type of hotel. An IBIS is a European budget hotel. A few examples of what that means:

- Mattress is more of a thick futon mattress, but still comfortable (to me and my wife)
- Only a shower, no bath
- Very tight bathroom - not really room for two people
- No hand towels in the bathrooms, only a body towel and shower mat
- Rooms are very basic
- Limited closet space and hangers (I usually travel with a couple of coat and pants hangers)

European breakfast means: Yoghurt, meats, cheeses, bread, croissants, fruit, cereals (musli).

This hotel also has scrambled eggs and some more American-style cereals available, as well as white bread.

For 59 Euro a night, it is my choice when I am in Duesseldorf and want to be near the center.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    287
    181
    42
    24
See reviews for
57
188
81
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Comfortably, cleanly, the personnel on reseption helped in all questions. Only it's necessary to find correct side from station, direct to banks. Hotel is located in silent street so station's noise will not disturb you.
Next time I shall stay here, price/quality is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amin0ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I had expected a "budget" experience but it was way above that. Yes, the shower room was small but very cleverly designed and unless you are very large it is perfectly adequate. The hotel was spotlessly clean and I thought the design and layout of both bedroom and shower room were excellent. The staff were very helpful and I couldn't fault the hotel at all. The location is very convenient, particularly if you are travelling by train, and it was perfectly walkable into the centre of the town. Very, very good indeed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

I have been to dusseldorf several times since 1976 but never stayed at the IBIS. When the wire exhibition is on every two years, as usual all dusseldorf hotels jack up their prices and I had accepted to pay exhorbitant rates for third class hotels. This time I decided to search on the internet and make a booking and I zeroed in on IBIS knowing well it is a budget hotel like Ginger in India. I made the booking through ACCOR site and I was surprised that no full non refundable advance payment like in other small hotels in dusseldorf during the exhibition time was needed.

I arrived early on Monday and was checked in without any hassles even though they could not give me non smoking room. they had two lifts with ample size.The room had the bare minimum facilities but was airconditioned. What I missed was the facility to make coffee or tea and some mineral water.

The bath room was a marvel in space management and must be the smallest bath room I ever saw in a hotel in the last 40 years. But the funny thing is that you cannot really complain since you could move around without much problem even for a tall man like me ( i do not know how a fat and tall person can manage).

The breakfast is adequate and the breakfast area is neat and clean. The bar is also well stocked where you can also order a micro waved pizza or dessert or a soup.

the great advantage for the exhibition visitor is the proximity to the railway station and the underground.

one disadvantage is the absence of any eating places nearby; but then you can take the underground to the alstadt and have your choice.

The staff speak english and are helpful. When I had to extend my stay due to the ash cloud and since they had no room the staff arranged for me a room in mecure city centre which gave me a chance to experience another Accor hotel in the same city.

the tariff I paid.... it was the exhibition tariff which was not as exhorbitant as some of the small hotels in Dusseldorf charge... but I will never pay such a tariff in the normal time for this hotel.

On the whole a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monCochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

This particular IBIS hotel is just outside the main railway station (a 5 minute walk at a fast clip) in Duesseldorf; it's sister hotel is right in the station building itself. But this difference in location hardly justifies the difference in prices between the 2 hotels. It is almost as convenient as the other one if you're traveling by train.
That is the main feature of this hotel. Otherwise, it pretty much conforms to the IBIS standard everywhere - the snacks round-the-clock can be a useful service if you have jet-lag.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Nice std. hotel, close to central area, shopping & eating area

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pappu1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
#28 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Dusseldorf-City
Premiere Classe Dusseldorf-City
#52 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#18 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Duesseldorf City
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Duesseldorf City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Duesseldorf City

Property: Ibis Duesseldorf City
Address: Ludwig Erhard Allee 2, 40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Duesseldorf City 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Dusseldorf City hotel is near the central railway station, the famous KO shopping street and the celebrated old city of Dusseldorf. Only 2km from the business district of Dusseldorf and 500 m from the Capitol Theater, the hotel is close to excellent restaurants. It has 146 fully refurbished rooms. It also has a bar open 24 hours and private undercover parking. Guests on a business trip will appreciate our WiFi wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Duesseldorf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing