We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused refund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf
Ranked #216 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The assistant for a frequent international traveler attempted to reserve a room on booking.com. The reservation was to be for that evening, but made in the morning US time. When the reservation was completed, it was changed to the next night. The assistant called the hotel to explain, but no one would help. The traveler had to find another hotel. After the credit card charge posted, attempts to obtain a refund by email were met with "You didn't tell us," "cancellation policy" and "non-refundable rate." Customer service? NOT.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank GordonTravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

1) Awkward lady at the counter that set a great tone to the trip by saying "Why don't you stay in Cologne, it's better than here."

1a) She couldn't describe the needlessly complex public transport system of Dusseldorf.

1b) Made me pay cash up front even though I had booked the hotel through Agoda already.

1c) Had to go next door to get change from the mini-mart.

1d) After all that the lady wouldn't even share a Kolsch with me.

The site is basically a co-op in a pretty laid back area of the city with a cinema and a hip cafe next door that didn't mind me spending a gloomy morning and afternoon in their shop having bought only one croissant and one coffee while butchering their language horrendously in an attempt to make small talk throughout the day. I would have been better off going 4 doors down to the Chinese computer repair shop and showing off how good my Chinese was in an attempt to save my ego...but back to the hotel

Take the stairs -- its a 4-story building and the lift is temperamental and basically jolts you to your floor testing your equilibrium. If you have to use it, just hang on...

Room seemed like it was used for some kind of storage at one..perhaps 10 square meters in all if you counted the bathroom which was kept quite clean and was private.

A giant piece of the emergency staircase was built into this room leaving me between the bed and a giant piece of the wall 4 feet above me. This made sleep impossible not because I'm claustrophobic but because being on the 4th floor during a humid July day means you will need the window open...

The room faced the North which meant having to hear the construction next door. And from the sound of it some really odd stuff involving screaming Korean people goes on around 2:30 in the morning. Not so great when your window is open because its 45C in your room with no fan or AC!

There are cocoa puffs for breakfast if you dont mind spending 5 Euro for them along with the standard meat and cheese with bread.

Room Tip: If you do stay here get a double room, and stay away from #44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatitudeProblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I ve been there for two night this month . This was the worst place that i have been .
The Manager Turkish man (Jasar) was a disaster and unfriendly . The food was more or less ok. Anyway i dont know where to start to complain , there was many things that was not ok .
So , even it was only for two nights , it was the worst place i ve ever been . . .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordanaopatija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Really suprised about the reviews here. I stayed last weekend when the Race of Champions was on in Dusseldorf. It is a business hotel so a bit bland but the room was clean and large. It was an easy place to stay, good breakfast with lots of options. Able to put both radiators on full and the room was warm. For £35 a night really good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hotel staff was very friendly being a family run hotel. Location was so so. Breakfast here is very simple, food is not bad but looks like very microwaved.hotels need keys in which u have to keep at reception when u go out.
The bad bad bad things: heater doesn't work, the room is ice cold! When u complain, they always say "will fix in 2 hrs". But it has always been like this for the 4 days i am here. The bed looks like it's going to collapse anytime. Tv is horribly small. This hotel really is worst than a motel! They call it 2-star, but get this...THE PRICE IS EURO450 per night!!!! So ridiculous! In beginning they tell u is cheap, then for extensions, they double it! I had no choice coz the other hotels are fully booked. I won't recommend this hotel coz u'd be better off in a five star away from town.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed here in an emergency when all other hotels were full during a trade fair. I had a tiny single room with faded paint, old furniture and a thin curtain. The public areas and corridors are a rabbit warren and feel dirty but to be fair it was cleaner than it looked. Breakfast was bearly adequate. They charged nearly EUR 200 when EUR 20 would have been fairer, but even backpackers would not be impressed. No reason to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

In town for a major industrial exhibition, no other hotels, paid alot to stay here. Obscure location, stuff smoky, lobby, rundown property. 8 eros for breakfast, we'll get to it in a minute. Had to pay for the room upfront, thats a first but I think I know why, satisfaction is not guaranteed!

First impression, scary, youth hostel? Slum? Elevator, enough to accomodate one person and a piece of luggage barely. Narrow hallways to the room..

The room:) Crammed quarters with queen size bed, no air conditioning, had to leave the balcony door open. The balcony with view of other buildings with access to a fire escape. Thought I was in New York City! Clean bathroom, very basic with a tub and shower. Cracked the window, two beer bottles sitting on the ledge.

Breakfast....an imitation European breakfast, few items, terrible presentation. Coffee was luke warm.

As I said, this is a desperation accomodation when there are no other choices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Travelleramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Bilk
Residenz Hotel Eurostar
Residenz Hotel Eurostar
#120 of 239 in Dusseldorf
26 reviews
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 239 in Dusseldorf
501 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 239 in Dusseldorf
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#10 of 239 in Dusseldorf
960 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,396 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf

Address: Brunnenstr. 20, 40223 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Bilk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £37 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing