We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service and rooms. Best in Düsseldorf!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Ranked #47 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“5 star service and rooms. Best in Düsseldorf!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Loved staying here. Large bedrooms were a welcome change to some of the shoe boxes we have stayed in over the last couple of weeks! Staff couldn't do enough for you and always offered a warm welcome. Breakfast was very good. Location is excellent. Only one small block from the nearest metro station and a 5 minute stroll through neighboring gardens and your in the heart of the old city. Quiet room with double glazed windows made for some good sleep ins. Old school motel, with old fashioned 1st class service and all the modern amenities. Don't know if we'll ever be back in Düsseldorf but if we do come back this is the only place we'll stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuelj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Samuelj28,

thank you for the fantastic feedback.
It was great to had you staying with us at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Hotel Excelsior Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    152
    36
    12
    2
See reviews for
50
93
14
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-0n-Sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Have stayed at the Excelsior in Dusseldorf two years running in late Nov/early Dec, Hotel is well located for City Centre and the Altstadt. Travel around Town very easy with more than enough options.

Hotel itself is excellent, bit dated in some rooms but Great Service and defy anybody to critise Staff and Breakfast, both First Class. Nice Bar and good service.

Very clean, plenty Hot water etc

Always be our first choice in a lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre2377, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Thank you for giving us your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you and again.

Best regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The staff at this hotel is lovely as is the breakfast and location. However, my room had no air conditioning or climate control - just a fan and it was in the high 70's at night. The beds are standard euro cheap fair - just one thin mattress and tough to sleep on. If you want room service forget it. I checked out early.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmxsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear cmxsmitty,

many thanks for the detailed feedback!

We are very sorry to hear that you checked out early and we did not have any change to clear the misunderstandings.

Under the thin mattress (hygienic mattress) comes another 45 cm thick mattress. These beds give indeed, more comfort and are specially made for high class hotels in Scandinavia.

Hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at the Excelsior Dusseldorf for 4 nights. Rooms were quite large, the bar and breakfast room were very good and staff very considerate. Downtown Dusseldorf was a 5 minute walk through the park which had a really good duck pond with a variety of ducks, geese, moor hens and even black swans!
Breakfast consisted of self service hot and cold food and the room was attractively decorated. The bar was pleasant although not very busy when we were there.
Downtown Dusseldorf is very busy from 7PM onwards and you would never run out of restaurants or bars to visit. We went on a cruise down the Rhine to Kaiserswert which is a beautiful outskirt area of Dusseldorf. The 4 hours between boats however is probably about 2 hours too long. \there are however other trips which we did not have time to try.
All in all we had a great time and would not hesitate to recommend both the cuty and the hotel.
Gordon Barron, John & Helen Fraser Aberdeen, Scotland

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet street. No noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_Barron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre2377, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Gordon,

thank you for giving us your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who are really helpfull organising restaurants, taxi etc. The bar area us nice but the rooms are dated
For me the beds are wat too soft and I struggled to sleep, rooms are poorly lit, walls are poorly insulated against noise and the bathroom -grubby (see photo's)!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear XKR100,

thank you for your detailed feedback!

First of all we apologize for the dated room. Several rooms have been already updated including new bathrooms and renovation works are still in progress.

The next stay we will make sure that you get one of our new renovated rooms.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

overall the hotel was adequate, the reception service was excellent as was the breakfast and the bar service but would have liked the bar to stay open a little longer!
the only real let down was the room which was a bit dated and needed a refurbishment but it was clean
location was ok but the road was very busy and noisy

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_kdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear s_kdavies,

thank you for your feedback! It was great to had you staying with us.

First of all we apologize for the dated room. Several rooms have been already updated and renovation works are still in progress.

The next stay we will make sure that you get one of our new renovated rooms.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

Your Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veszprem, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

It was my second year that I have choose the Excelsior Hotel during my visit at Düsseldorf Boat Show. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the central of the city, and 100 meters from subway. Taxi from airport is 20€. The breakfast is more than excellent, you have a wide option on foods, and tee. The rooms are elegant and the huge flat TV was a real surprise for me. In some rooms with USB connection (take your hard external drive with you to watch films) The hotel is rated 3star, but you can expect a 4+ star hotel. Ask the receptionist for local restaurants in the near. The staff can organize everything, and you can ask anything they will have the question. At the 5th floor rooms are being renewed some noise at days. If I must complaint the bed is too soft, but it is individual and the WiFi (which is free) not really stable. I will sure come back next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boroczp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear boroczp,

it´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf and that you are already planning the next trip to us.

Thank you for the fantastic feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you next boot fair.

Best regards

Your Hotel Excelsior Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
555 reviews
Melia Duesseldorf
#13 of 237 in Dusseldorf
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#12 of 237 in Dusseldorf
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Property: Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Address: Kaiserstr. 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#22 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home in Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing