We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Ranked #39 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Guimaraes, Portugal
1 review
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile


The hotel is old with old dirty carpet along the floor. No AC in the room, just normal standing fan... The staff wasn't nice at all.
Made me pay 80€ for losing my key (normal old key, not magnet). Stay away from this hotel. You can find much better options in the city.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manuelamendonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Manuelamendonca,

It is with our place, like it is with life: You can see the beauty in things, or decide to see a beast. We can only do as we can do and give it our best.

You have caught one of the rare and beautiful hot Dusseldorf summer days, however, we generally have only a couple of days of heat throughout a year. Therefore, air-conditioning our rooms is something we do not believe in. It’s better for the environment, it’s better for your health. We rather offer our guests ventilators.

A lost room key requires always a lock change to minimize potential security risks and protect the room. Guest security is highly important to us, as well as keeping an inviting open atmosphere! Being a public place it is very hard to control everyone entering the property.

If you lose a key, you are responsible for the cost of changing the lock.

Sorry to see that this extra charge, made you feel like you felt and react the way you reacted after staying with us over the years!!!

All the best on your travels!

Yours, Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    149
    35
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
92
12
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A nice homey,cosey,well located hotel.
Friendly staff,a great breakfast and easy access to the public transport.
as far as restaurants are concerned you can find great Iatalian and German cuisine close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a good choice for a place to stay when visiting the city or a trade fair in Düsseldorf. The hotel is located a short 10 min's walk from the sights, museums, downtown shopping streets and the old town restaurants and bars. The metro line from the main train station to the trade fair center is around the corner.
The hotel is in a historical old building, so all the rooms are a bit different in size, shape and style. The rooms on the top floor have a balcony. There is no aircon in the rooms, but the windows open completely so you can ventilate and get cool air inside. There is also a table fan.
The breakfast is delicious with a good variety of things.
The hotel is well managed, clean and tidy, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They help out with restaurant reservations and bookings and have great shopping tips too.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have balcony. Rooms to the inner courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolitan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Ingles, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel which we booked six months ago. When we arrived there were roadworks right outside the hotel and also the floor we were on was being renovated and looked like we were in a half finished building. No one made us aware of this beforehand or even made mention of it on our arrival. The girl at check in was very nice and helpful. The guy at check out didnt so much as say thanks for staying or even ask how our stay was. I said we were checking out, he typed something into the computer and said "ok, bye".
The location of the hotel was fine, easy enough to get to by train and tube from the international airport. If you happen to be going back from Weeze do allow plenty of time to get there if going by public transport. Between tube, train and bus it took us three hours from hotel to airport.
Our hotel room was ok, but it lacked air conditioning and this made it awful hot and sticky in the heat of July and if we had to go back to Dusseldorf during the summer months we would not go back to this hotel. Breakfast was good.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

At first, we were disappointed in the room having just come from a great hotel in Amsterdam. After a day though, this hotel grows on you. Breakfast is a delight even though the attitudes of the Germans is somewhat rude. I do not hold that against the staff as I found that most Germans were somewhat rude. Might be a bit of a general statement but that was my experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was great find. clean, with friendly staff and excellent selection of food for breakfast and it was close to all main sights and shopping areas. Right next to underground - easy to move around city. The Hofgarten is just along the street

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great hotel:
- easy to get to from the airport, tube stop and tram stop only meters away
- short walk to the Aldstadt, 5-10 mins strolling or one stop on the tube
- friendly staff, very helpful
- excellent breakfast choices
- rooms are spacious, only negative is no air con.

A great place to discover Dusseldorf; excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Melia Duesseldorf
#13 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#19 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#12 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Auszeit Hotel Dusseldorf
#17 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Property: Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Address: Kaiserstr. 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home in Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing