We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz(Dusseldorf)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Duesseldorf(Dusseldorf)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
133
159
41
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
159
41
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townminor thingsgave us a maplarge flat screen tvten minute walkperfect basethis wonderful hotelrooms were cleanedfamily roomlovely parkmetro linetrouser pressbreakfast roomunderground stationpublic transportwould highly recommend this hotelbeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Currently having a refit. This didn't affect my stay. The room was very good, no complaints, very clean, all updated and superb bathroom. Down side, no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Breakfast was excellent.

The location is convenient to the U bahn. Or walk 15 mins to the old town.

locally, not too much choice for bars, however I would recommend the café florian , good food and beer. Shops near by too for essentials. End of Kapplell str is a good store for bits you may have forgotten .

I will use this hotel again, good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose rear of building. Emergency services use the main road for the runs into town.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BFPO45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel which was comfortable enough but NO AirCon which made it very unpleasant in the July temps. We had a room on the first floor which it seemed was having a refurb. Some of the staff were very good whilst others were just ok - not sure that we would stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EddieGCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile


The hotel is old with old dirty carpet along the floor. No AC in the room, just normal standing fan... The staff wasn't nice at all.
Made me pay 80€ for losing my key (normal old key, not magnet). Stay away from this hotel. You can find much better options in the city.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Manuelamendonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Manuelamendonca,

It is with our place, like it is with life: You can see the beauty in things, or decide to see a beast. We can only do as we can do and give it our best.

You have caught one of the rare and beautiful hot Dusseldorf summer days, however, we generally have only a couple of days of heat throughout a year. Therefore, air-conditioning our rooms is something we do not believe in. It’s better for the environment, it’s better for your health. We rather offer our guests ventilators.

A lost room key requires always a lock change to minimize potential security risks and protect the room. Guest security is highly important to us, as well as keeping an inviting open atmosphere! Being a public place it is very hard to control everyone entering the property.

If you lose a key, you are responsible for the cost of changing the lock.

Sorry to see that this extra charge, made you feel like you felt and react the way you reacted after staying with us over the years!!!

All the best on your travels!

Yours, Hotel Excelsior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A nice homey,cosey,well located hotel.
Friendly staff,a great breakfast and easy access to the public transport.
as far as restaurants are concerned you can find great Iatalian and German cuisine close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a good choice for a place to stay when visiting the city or a trade fair in Düsseldorf. The hotel is located a short 10 min's walk from the sights, museums, downtown shopping streets and the old town restaurants and bars. The metro line from the main train station to the trade fair center is around the corner.
The hotel is in a historical old building, so all the rooms are a bit different in size, shape and style. The rooms on the top floor have a balcony. There is no aircon in the rooms, but the windows open completely so you can ventilate and get cool air inside. There is also a table fan.
The breakfast is delicious with a good variety of things.
The hotel is well managed, clean and tidy, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They help out with restaurant reservations and bookings and have great shopping tips too.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have balcony. Rooms to the inner courtyard are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews