We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location - hotel itself is average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf
Ranked #209 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Lisburn
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good location - hotel itself is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having stayed in Dusseldorf many times I was away this trip to visit a car show in Essen. My mate picked this hotel for it's low price and proximity to the old town or alt stad with all the nightlife is only a 3-5min walk. If this is what you want and your only using the hotel to crash then it's fine. However the rooms are small (I had a singe room) and tired, however they are clean and tidy. Staff were helpful throughout our stay. Photos on this page are very representative.

Summary no complaints but for a little more you can get much better with only a extra 5 mins walk to the old town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titteringtonrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    37
    25
    29
See reviews for
6
19
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was my first trip to Dusseldorf and went for location. Easy to get to using the U-Bahn and very convenient for the altstadt which is where I was working.
The room was at the front, in poor condition and had little in the way of creature comforts. Not a pleasant place to be. The other down side was that it was immediately next to a Police Station from which their cars were toing and froing with sirens throughout the night. Breakfast the next morning was in a small room at the back of the hotel but was surprisingly good although I didn't like the look of the hot food.
Next year i'll be spending more and getting a nicer, quieter hotel.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms will be higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numpty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
299 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I travel almost weekly to Dusseldorf and since there was a convention my regular hotels were booked. They are all average hotels, nothing special so when I saw the first nite price here for 42€, second night for 195€ and the third night for 320€ I thought, ok, must be something to it.Let me put it like this...N O T !
What? Ignored upon entering, waited 10 minutes while they guy chatted, went to the room and saw my child's bed, mold in the shower, cold and disgusting little room.
Not much to say except they are exploiting the situation and have just earned the worst rating I have ever given.
Horrible service, no care at all and simply dirty, cold and disgusting.
Your choice if you wish to try it out, I have no idea what the other rooms look like but I do wonder how this hotel could ever have received any positive ratings...incomprehensible.
As a side note; I am a US Army combat veteran who is used to very bad situations, my expectations are NOT very high, I would have rather slept in a sleeping bag than on the baby bed...so disgusted and disappointed and I honestly feel bad rating this hotel so bad but even trying to be positive I cannot find anything good...I think it was updated last in the late 70s, everything is so tired and worn out.

Room Tip: Simple; Don't choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location, which is just a block from the Altstadt; it’s also conveniently located across the Opera House and next to the Heinrich Heine Allee U-Bahn station, so it’s easy to get in from the airport (S1 or S11 to the Hauptbahnhof, then it’s just 3 stops to Heinrich Heine Allee via U-Bahn). The hotel looks well worn on the outside, and it is so inside as well. In the single room were a large dresser (which almost blocks off the exit), twin bed, side table and chair; that’s pretty much all the small room could accommodate; the carpet is worn and has seen better days, not to mention the scratched up furniture. The private bath uses hideous fluorescent lighting, with a small shower, and dated fixtures, but it’s functional and clean. I was able to connect to the free Wifi from the room, which is a plus (you have to ask the front desk, and they will provide log-in info). The breakfast, which is inclusive in the room rate, was surprisingly impressive, with a wide array of cheeses, cold cuts, breads, 2 types of cakes, along with hot foods (scrambled and hardboiled eggs, meatballs, and sausages); it is served in the breakfast room on the 1st floor, which seemed large enough that there shouldn’t be a big wait in the morning. The proximity to the Altstadt could be a minus, since that means rowdy crowds that descend after work to a little after midnight; my 2nd floor room actually faced the Altstadt, so I used earplugs and had no problem at night. The reception is 24/7, and the location next to the police station makes it feel quite safe. All in all, I think it’s a good value at 40eu per night, taking into consideration the impressive breakfast and free wifi. I would recommend it for shorter stays.

Room Tip: From the Hauptbahnhof, pretty much all of the U-Bahn trains will run through to Heinrich Heine Allee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fielight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

You know from the rate you are paying that this hotel has no frills but it is very clean. Its in a great location right beside the Alstadt and metro. The breakfast they serve is really very good with lots of choice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries and cooked eggs, meatballs etc. My room was on the 6th floor and was very big, but my friends room was on the 2nd floor and was very small, so the rooms are a bit hit and miss. If you are looking for a good value hotel for a few nights in a central location then I recommend The Oper.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_UK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I could rate this hotel better but I can't even if I will probably return to it if I must visit Düsseldorf again.
I saw 5 rooms and all of them are different ... one can be rated 1 star, 2 can be rated 2 stars and 2 can be rated 3 stars.
I booked a single room and I was offered one. The room was very small (Room 311), the light in the bathroom was partly not working, the curtain of the bath tub was old and ugly and the sink wasn't working properly. That's why I asked for another room. The receptionist was very polite and offered me the room 301 which was lacking the toilet and the TV. I refused it and then I was offered a double room for the same money. This was the room 308 which was big and OK.
Anyhow... one of the heaters was not working (even with one heater the room was hot enough) and one bath tub door was almost broken but worked like it should.
Room cleaning happens everyday which is OK. Towels are changed daily.
The good thing about this hotel is the breakfast (a lot of choices of meat, cheese, cereals and good juice ... everything you want is there ... also smoked salmon fish) and the location is great. Right across the corner is the old town with the bars and clubs and a lot of places to eat.
The metro station is 50m away so you can get to the airport/main train station very easy.
There's no refrigerator/mini bar in the room so I left my beers outside the window because it is January :))
I will probably book this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bupitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I found this Hotel good value and the breakfast was very nice. Also being right next to a u-bahn station was very useful if carrying heavy bags. But most of all this is just around the corner from the Altstadt with its lively bars and restaurants. It' not the Ritz but i wound like to stay here again and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel on a very busy night and did get woken up a couple of times in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank percySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Sankt Andreas
Hotel Sankt Andreas
#178 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#180 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
#128 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Abode-Hotel
Abode-Hotel
#144 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Carlstadt
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
#189 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona
#69 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf

Property: Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf
Address: Heinrich-Heine-Allee 15 | Altstadt, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Neues Hotel an der Oper)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf can be found directly opposite the Deutsche Oper am Rhein. It is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing