We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #38 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was recommended by a friend to go here, so I gave it a shot. While the hotel is not bad at all, I feel like it's a bit overpriced for what you get.The hotel and hallways feel a bit dated. The rooms are clean, but small.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gekkehuisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    131
    60
    10
    3
See reviews for
25
66
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed one night at the Carathotel while connecting through Dusseldorf Airport. Since I only had one day my main requirement was a good location to explore the Altstadt and Rhine.

The Carathotel was located just a few seconds from the center of the Old Town and was a great base. The desk attendant was friendly and helpful on check-in and helped me get my bearings on the city with such a short time to see the area. Later that night, the next desk attendant took care of setting up my early morning taxi to the airport.

My room, tucked away in a corner, was a bit on the small side but considering how little time I was actually in there, it didn't really matter - and the location trumped it anyway.

The free internet was fast and reliable.

Overall it was a very good option for a visit to Dusseldorf's old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mifyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Not sure how to rate this Hotel -its listed as a four star but i found it more like a 3 star . On the plus side its location next to the Old town is perfect . But i found it to be a bit claustrophobic . Its a bit on the small size and at breakfast time i had to wait to get a seat it was that busy and the tables were in my option too close together again giving it that claustrophobic feel . Noise could hear no noise from the street but that may have been because my room overlooked the centre of the hotel -in fact no view apart from a grey wall opposite however it was next to the lift and you could here that moving all night . The room was a single room and ok but was very dark due to window being opposite the grey wall. The Staff were efficient but felt they could have been a bit warmer . Not an unplesant stay but a bit overpriced even if it was a 3 star

Room Tip: pick a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loanstar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I am staying in this hotel for 5 or 6 years now because of very good location (close to Altstadt), car park nearby and lovely atmosphere in the Hotel. The rooms are big enough, very clean. Breakfast nice versatile

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Location location location
Close to underground
Location location location
Close to old town
Location location location
Close to Rhine river
Location location location
Close to konigs allee
Great buffet brkfst
Comfortable bed and good size bathroom with strong shower.
Smart & helpful staff
Very fair price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat4rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Carat hotel is on the edge of the old town (altstadt) where it is only a short walk away to lots of good bars and restaurants.It is easy to get to from Dusseldorf railway station - just take the U bahn to Konig/Steinstrasse and walk 10 mins down Benrath St and you are there.The staff were friendly and helpful - the room was nice and clean, a little small but comfortable enough.Breakfast was very good,good selection of cereals,fruit juices ham,cheese etc for a good start to the day.
Alternatively if you decide not to have breakfast at the hotel - in the Carlsplatz square where the hotel is located nearby there are Bastians and also Otto Bentners which are both nice places to have a coffee and cake.Hotel also has free wifi in the rooms.
Would stay in the Carat again if I visited Dusseldorf in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We found the staff very friendly, the room was on the small side and the we room had was in the roof and so hot we had to open the window as the air con is switched off in Winter. With the window open the room was extremely noisy with traffic and street noise, we did not sleep well. breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Favor
Hotel Favor
#13 of 236 in Dusseldorf
237 reviews
Carlstadt
Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
306 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#179 of 236 in Dusseldorf
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carathotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carathotel Duesseldorf

Property: Carathotel Duesseldorf
Address: Benrather Str. 7a, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#43 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carathotel Duesseldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carathotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing