We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find with great location”
Review of Hanseat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanseat Hotel
Ranked #139 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Hanseat hotel is located in the Oberkassel neighborhood - a quiet just over the Rhine from the heart of Dusseldorf and the business district. Parking is sometimes hard to come by on nearby streets but the hotel is in walking distance to nice restaurants and nightlife.

Hotel staff is quite friendly and all the rooms are unique (and spacious!). There was a bit of construction going on at the time of my stay so the views were more of scaffolds but that was easy to overlook. Breakfast is very nice (and included in the room rate...which is quite affordable - right around 100 EURO/night). I would highly recommend the Hanseat and I look forward to returning on my next stay in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

The Hotel Hanseat is in Oberkassel, a quiet mid-upscale community across the Rhine from the Altstadt or Old Town. Oberkassel has lots of nice little restaurants and shops and it is totally away from the tourist areas. If you want to get to the tourist areas, it only takes ten minutes by tram from the hotel.
The people at the Hanseat are very friendly (yes, it is really in Germany) and have fantastic customer service. They try hard to make sure that every guest is happy and satisfied.
The rooms are a good size for a German hotel, as are the bathrooms.
The breakfast room is beautifully appointed and homey, with a nice selection of foods for the traveler, whether a European or American palate. Every cup of coffee is made from freshly ground beans,
There is a lounge area called the English Club Room, which has comfortable leather chairs and couches for relaxing. Also, it is the only place in the hotel where smoking is allowed. It is a good place to unwind after a day of work or walking to see the sights.
The only drawback to this loveley hotel is the wi-fi. It is very weak. It works well in the lounge and in the rooms on floors 1 and 2. If you are on the 3rd floor, you might not be able to have internet in your room. They told me that they are soon upgrading their wireless router to improve the situation.
No elevator, so if carrying your bags up a narrow stairway is a challenge, this might not be the hotel for you.

Also, two tram lines converge right in front of the hotel, so you will not need to rent a car if you stay here. The tram ride to the center of Dusseldorf from here is only 10 minutes, and the airport is approx 25 minutes. You will have to change from the street tram or U-bahn to the S-bahn or Re-bahn at the Dusseldorf Hbf to go to and from the airport.

I strongly recommend the Hanseat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxBizTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Has a lovely garden with ornaments, seats, etc. Also lovely 'smoking rooms' even tho we don't smoke. Looks are deceptive since it is situated alongside the shops on the main road .
We stayed in the double room facing the main road. No complaints about the view. Rooms looks a bit tired and there is no lift. So, we had to lug our luggage upstairs. No porter service either. Breakfast is included in the room price of 100 + Euro (sorry forgot exact price). There is no coffee making facility in the room. However, if you like sweets, you can help yourself as there are plenty of them left on every floor in the landing and, fairy cakes at the reception... So, why not hot beverages in all the rooms?
Is conveniently located with the shops, trams, eateries close by.
We were visiting relatives otherwise, try a newer hotel for the same price. There are more facilities and service for the money

Room Tip: Check out offers at of peak season. Can be half price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m888lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I recently returned to the Hanseat for a second time, while visiting friends in Dusseldorf. The staff there is very nice and helpful and I find the hotel very charming. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a very cool little little lounge room on the first floor. There are several lively, but not too rowdy, restaurant/pubs within steps of the hotel, as well as a small convenience store which is open late and very handy for a snack, bottle of water or newspaper. I wasn't driving, so I can't comment on parking in the area but public transport, trains and buses, are both available just outside. I can DEFINITELY recommend you take advanage of the breakfast at the Hanseat. The have a very nice dining room and I think you would have a very hard time finding a better spread to start the day: a very good selection of traditional German breakfast stuff, (ham, salamis, cheeses, and Meuslix), juices, coffee etc. As well as bacon, eggs, and breakfast sausages for he odd Yankee like me. Smoked salmon too! I have to admit that I did their breakfast justice indeed! Breakfast was 7 Euros. The Hanseat is not a Big Box McHotel. It's a very cool place I've enjoyed and very well run. I work in the hospitality biz too, so I appreciate all the things they have done right,
A nice place all around, definitely recommended, and I haven't even mentioned their room rates, which are just a very good deal indeed for single travellers like me or a family looking for a nice place to stay.
Eric J, Brooklyn, NY, USA

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ej4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel was so cute. There are candy dishes everywhere which is such a sweet touch. Breakfast was fine. The hotel is in a nice area of Dusseldorf. Lots of pretty houses nearby. On a tram line that goes directly to the city center but it is also a nice walk over the bridge.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank stephinberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

The staff was probably the most helpful, kind, and pleasant staff of any hotel that I have ever stayed. They went out of their way to help me find restaurants, transportation, and anything else that I needed and were extremely good-natured and fun people! The rooms were impeccable and I loved the view from my front balcony room. Transportation on the rail was just out front and you could get to the main train station within minutes. You could also walk to the Altstadt or Konigstrasse, or take the local trains. The neighborhood is very clean and pleasant and interesting to walk around to see the various shops, eateries and sights. I would highly recommend the Hotel Hanseat to anyone wishing to visit Germany!

Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
Thank Titan4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Hanseat is an old-fashioned place, the wifi is slightly dodgy, doesn't work in some rooms, and the service comes with a smile sometimes, and sometimes without a smile. But it's charming, it's got real personality. I would recommend it for a quick one nighter or two nighter.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Oberkassel
Arosa Hotel
Arosa Hotel
#93 of 240 in Dusseldorf
49 reviews
Oberkassel
Hotel Oberkassel
Hotel Oberkassel
#208 of 240 in Dusseldorf
29 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 240 in Dusseldorf
1,370 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#5 of 240 in Dusseldorf
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanseat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanseat Hotel

Address: Belsenstrasse 6 | Oberkassel, 40545 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Oberkassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £77 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanseat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanseat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseat Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing