We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, but missed out on the family run service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Ranked #87 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but missed out on the family run service.”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Book via the web. Pictures represent the hotel accurately. Ok location. Seemed to be a lot a noise at night. When booking the hotel, I inquired about their Xmas Rickshaw. They told me it was bookable 24 hours before. Well since I was staying one night and traveling from abroad this didn't get done. All my requests were ingnored on my reservation. Quiet room, doesn't equal room over the street.

The service is nothing it touts to be. The family run feeling that we experienced.

Breakfast is very good. However, this hotel states that it is "Non-Smoking" and it is not. Maybe the employees were smoking, but smoke was working its way up to the rooms. Even when we sat down in the very small lobby to have some drinks one evening, another couple is allowed to smoke, which ruined our evening cocktails. People with respiratory issues be warned.

Also, a warning to families. We were watching TV before bed and I was just channel surfing, and one channel was news and the next three channels were hardcore pornography with no warning. Startling what I witnessed in 3 secs!!!!

One great benefit is the free transportation pass they give. Nice to have so you can take the trams back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    37
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
34
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We opted to stay at the Hotel Haus Hillesheim to experience a true German guesthouse/hotel over a chain hotel that was similarly priced. For both my husband and myself it would have been a very pleasant experience, however we were traveling with our toddler daughter and expect suitable accommodation for her as well.

Our pet peeves: 1) smoking is allowed (and occurred) in the entrance lobby/bar area/sitting area/reception. 2) no coffee/tea facilities in the room-they are located in the lobby 3) no toiletries in bathroom 4) pets living in the common area/entrance lobby and a catbox near the dining room 5) only 1 highchair (during our stay another couple had a child and we rushed so they could use it in the morning for breakfast)

On the positive side: 1) The staff were friendly and had a basic knowledge of the English language. 2) the room was a nice size, clean, and had comfortable beds 3) they provided a baby bed/child cot w/linens free of charge 4) they had a highchair 5) full bath w/ bathtub and plenty of hot water 6) breakfast was sufficient and a good price 7) decent location to walk to and from the Christmas markets 8) free bus/train passes including maps and information on the markets.

We stayed in a courtyard room (number 25). The room was old-fashioned, but clean, charming and had character. It had a full bath, large bed, small table with 2 chairs, large flat screen tv, and free wifi. We were supplied with a baby bed (per request) and linens.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Haus Hillesheim. It's good to know the pros and cons about any hotel before staying and their hadn't been a recent review on Tripadvisor, so hopefully this helps you make an informed decision!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet and have a very small common area courtyard. They would be ideal for a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandBenHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here last minute, as it was the only available and affordable hotel during that weekend. The staff is really friendly and speaks English fluently (not always easy to find in Germany). Rooms are not big and basic. The wifi-connection isn't working in the garden and it's a pity you have to pay for it. On the contrary, the breakfast is really good with a lot of choice and the staff is always ready to help.

Hotel is situated in a quite area, but not far from the city center. Kö is 5 minutes walk and the railway station is only 10 minutes walk. The hotel also offers a free public transport card for the duration of your stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden have no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lijger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at this very friendly hotel. The bedroom was as good as any 4star we have stayed in. Breakfast was of a high standard. Hotel's location very central for markets, shops and train station. Hope to return in the summer.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toscana95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Walking distance of old town and shopping. Family run hotel quirkily decorated but cheerful and nice atmosphere. Very comfortable bed and quiet room. Excellent breakfast and private parking available. Staff very helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazandy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Nice place. Beautiful rooms. Warm staff. Breakfast available with room and beer/drinks at the small bar. No restaurant, but Rosie's at the beginning of Jahnstrasse is great. Old-fashioned lobby with thoroughly modern rooms. I will return some day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dziki64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

2nd stay recently. This is a wonderful hotel. All the people that work there are always willing to help and look after you. An ideal hotel for a weekend stay in Dusseldorf. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms are excellent. Well done all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dieseljohnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
Petersburg Hotel
Petersburg Hotel
#113 of 236 in Dusseldorf
99 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Max Hotel Garni
Max Hotel Garni
#22 of 236 in Dusseldorf
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#56 of 236 in Dusseldorf
193 reviews
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#39 of 236 in Dusseldorf
492 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#84 of 236 in Dusseldorf
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Hillesheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Hillesheim

Property: Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Address: Jahnstr. 19 | Friedrichstadt, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Hillesheim 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haus Hillesheim is centrally located, directly on the Koenigsallee in the heart of Dusseldorf. You can look forward to staying in one of our 15 modern comfort rooms.You can expect very modern comfort and amenities in the "HOME"- and "BUSINESS" category during your stay in the main building. Large 81 cm flatscreen TVs, free WIFI and LAN connections right at your desk are standard. Bright and spacious bathrooms add a pleasant start to your day.The "LANDHAUS" category rooms are located in the garden area to the rear of the hotel and offer wonderful peace and quiet.Our hotel bar and lobby feature a rustic Dusseldorf-brauhaus-style decor. The bar is only open to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Haus Hillesheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Hillesheim düsseldorf
Haus Hillesheim Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing