We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, very handy for the Altstadt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais
Ranked #75 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here when attending a conference. Rooms are small by North American standards, but absolutely in line with European norms. The rooms are very clean (as you would expect in Germany), the free wifi is of an acceptable speed, staff is very attentive and the breakfasts are ample. From the hotel door you are in the middle of the Altstadt in a couple of minutes. There is little or no traffic around the hotel but you are surrounded by cobblestones, on which even pedestrians make noise. Across the alley is the City Museum, popular for school trips. Lighter sleepers might want to take note. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilpyavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have stayed here numerous times. The location is perfect for Dusseldorf Altstadt, close, but quiet. The rooms, though small, are clean, bright, airy and tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable, with a good reading light. There is a good choice at breakfast - cheeses, eggs, meats, fruit, bread, jams, juice and piping hot coffee. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful (they went above and beyond when I was taken ill and hospitalised 8 years ago).

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We have just spent 2 nights here whilst visiting the Christmas markets and old town area of Dusseldorf.
We caught a bus from the airport to the main railway station (no 721) which cost euro2.40. From the station it is a 15-20 min walk, although you could catch the underground which would put you about 7-8 mins walk away.
The hotel is situated in a pedestrianised area so it is very quiet, but only a couple of munites walk away from the town centre and the river.
The welcome at the hotel was very warm and our room was ready even though we arrived before 10am.
The room was spotlessly clean with an en-suite bathroom with shower (bath would have been nice). The pillows look very nice on the bed, but are not the most comfortable so we asked for 2 extra ones and that made things better.
Breakfast was practical with plenty of choice of breads, fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats, etc. The hot food was average, for the small number of guests it would probably be easier to cook eggs to order so that you don't have to have a hard fried egg that has been sitting in a container for 10-15 mins.
The overall attitude of the staff was excellent, all very friendly and willing to help, except for one particular evening staff member who could probably use some training in 'people-skills', she had a very strange attitude for someone working in a hotel and may well have been a school headmistress in a previous life!
In summary, this is a very clean, tidy hotel in an excellent location, nothing fancy, so if you want warm and full of character then this is not for you, but if you want practical, efficient and well priced that is not part of a large chain then this is the place.
If you are planning your stay to include a Sunday, then be aware that NO shops are open on a Sunday, the christmas markets and the restaurants are though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

If you are visiting the old town area of Dusseldorf, this is a hotel to strongly consider. It's one block off the river and about 1 block south of the last main street in Altstadt. The price is very good - 90 Euros as of this writing. It is not fancy, but it is clean, has a good breakfast of meats, cheeses, fruits, breads (very traditional) and the staff is extremely friendly and fluent in German, English, and other languages. Have stayed multiple times and have had nothing but good experience. The rooms are typical European - small, and the beds are double size, not queen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MileHighJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Before booking any hotel I cross check travel guides, hotels.com, and then read reports on
Trip Advisor, at which point I am fairly confident of which hotel to choose.
Once again Trip Advisor comes up 'trumps'. Hotel Orangerie is the perfect choice of small hotel, full of character, and ideally situated down a quiet street on the edge of the old town and just a stone's throw from the River Rhein.
Everything about the hotel is appealing and my wife (a woman of impeccable taste - she married me ) was delighted with the room, the excellent service, and the superb breakfast.
Our room was light, spacious and spotlessly clean. The walk in shower was large enough to share, and there was wardrobe and drawer space aplenty. Also, for those travellors who no longer trust the banks, our room safe in Hotel Orangerie was the biggest and strongest ever provided by any hotel I have ever stayed in.
Breakfast is delightful. Beautifully presented, with an amazing selection of fresh fruit; there are cheeses, hams, eggs, different German breads, and really top class coffee served in a vacuum flask so that your coffee is served hot, and stays hot.
We stayed in Dusselforf 12th - 16th July during which time the rain fell in torrents every day.
A pity! We made the best of our time - visited Cologne, museums, the old town, and walked the banks of the Rhein viewing the barges and river boats from under an umbrella.
There is no shortage of good eating places in Dusseldorf - especially in the 'media/finance' area which is worth visiting for its de-luxe hotels and stunning architecture. However, an experienced visitor to Dusseldorf recommended 'Bistro Zicke' which by coincidence is 100 yards from Hotel Orangerie on Backerstrasse. Bistro Zicke is a popular restaurant and bar with a sizzling young friendly atmosphere, and the best freshly cooked bistro food I have tasted this year. Please - try it! You will not be disappointed.
In spite of the weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Dusseldorf. It's an attractive City with a sense of purpose - confident in its chosen direction. During our 5 day visit we did not meet a single British visitor (hurray) although most Germans speak good English.
I can't vouch for the weather but I can recommend a trip to Dusseldorf staying at the Hotel Orangerie and dining in Bistro Zick.

Room Tip: Book by telephone and discuss your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deegeestorywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I was in Dusseldorf on business, and rather stay at a big chain hotel, I took the advice of a local colleague who suggested this small and very charming hotel which is located in the Old Town. The price was very reasonable and the staff was great, esp the concierge Petra. She couldnt have been more helpful, from arranging a very early check-in (for no extra charge) to comparing various taxi and train fares for me.
The location is fantastic, it is quiet, but still right in the Old Town and a very short walk from the many, many restaurants and pubs that Dusseldorf is famous for. Plus it is also very near the river, which you can walk along and stop at a restaurant or pub right on the river for a lovely respite.
The rooms are on the small side, but very clean and the beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have all the basics amenites one requires.
The German breakfast was great and the hotel even has a little bar where you can refresh yourself with a beer if you come back thirsty at the end of the day.

Room Tip: If you are arriving early from the States, be sure to request early check-in, the hotel was very acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I travel to Dusseldorf on business fairly often, and this is my favourite place to stay. The rooms look a bit basic at first - but they have everything you need. The staff are friendly and helpful; the location is great (quiet cobbled street; close walk to the Old Town and the river), breakfast good in a nice room, and the internet is free.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Das Carls Hotel
Das Carls Hotel
#43 of 240 in Dusseldorf
289 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#194 of 240 in Dusseldorf
33 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
#121 of 240 in Dusseldorf
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 240 in Dusseldorf
382 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Sankt Andreas
Hotel Sankt Andreas
#154 of 240 in Dusseldorf
64 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Favor
Hotel Favor
#21 of 240 in Dusseldorf
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais

Address: Backergasse 1 | Altstadt, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £87 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing