We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and centrally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Ranked #118 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic and centrally located.”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We've stayed here twice: in April 2008 for one night and in August 2009, also for one night. In April we stayed in a building accross the street from the reception; and that was a bit worn, our sink had a big crack in it and the bedlamp had no light bulb, but the room was otherwise clean and ok. We payed something aroung 60-70e for one night, so were not expecting luxury anyway. The breakfast was ok, quite many different meats etc. Our friend had a room on the street side, and that was noisy in the night with people returning from bars etc. Our room was at the back and we heard no noise.

In August we returned with some reservations, but as also for only one night we wanted to stay in the centre (old town), and so gave the Alt another go. This time our room was in the same building as the reception; it was definitely smaller than the previous room, but more up to date and cosier. Also no noise to this side (I had mentioned to prefer a quiet room, based on our previous stay). The breakfast would have been ok otherwise, but as it was August and the front doors to the restaurant open, there were quite a bit of flies, which effectively ruined my appetite as they sat on the cold cuts. So I skipped breakfast. The service was ok.

All in all, a basic, budget accomodation in a good location to explore the old town. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    37
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
16
31
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This Hotel has an excellent location in the middle of AltStadt. 1 min to Königsallee - main shopping street in Dusseldorf. 3 min to Rhein bank. Rooms are clear and well-groomed. The breakfast is rich and various.

Good place for short stay and fun in Dusseldorf

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mushka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

dont stay here if you are expecting the ritz but we had a room with 4 single beds and an on-suite bathroom for €100 per night with a fantastic breakfast thrown in.
all was clean, rooms were secure and the location is better than any other.
fantastic budget accomodation

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

A group of us stayed here for a couple of days over New Year. The hotel is the middle of the Altstadt area surrounded by pubs, clubs and restaurants. This makes it an excellent location if you are in Dusseldorf for the nightlife, if you aren't then don't stay here as it is a very noisy area at night. The room is basic but very clean (cleaned every day), the bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower. There is also a TV in the room (CNN and BBC news are the only English channels). Breakfast was suprisingly good quality and there was lots to choose from (bread, cold meats, salmon, fruit, eggs, yogurts and cereal). The only downside was the noise, I stayed in a room at the front facing the street which was noisy, my other friends were at the back of the building and had no noise at all so it is worth asking for a room at the back. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Arriving in dusseldorf main station , the hotel was only a short underground trip away. about 50-100m away from the nearest station. Arrived to a smile and very helpful english speaking woman on the desk. Location is unbeatable if you want to be in the heart of the party scene at weekends. My room was very basic and small but very clean at the same time. Rooms at the front can be noisy fri-sat but that will make you stay out and party. Breakfast was excellent and included in the price. The area is named the longest bar in europe and I can see why. My only complaint was on the sunday morning the reception was closed when i left and had to leave the key in the room. I had an early flight and didn`t realise this or would have mentioned to reception before hand. But this wasn`t really there fault. After 1am the reception is closed and you are given a key to enter through the side entrance and I presume because it was sunday they started a little later

  • Liked — its location and breakfast
  • Disliked — pretty small dining/reception area
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcintyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

I was quite surprise about this hotel, because I found one can rely on Tripadvisor's reviews, but not this time.
I stayed in this hotel for one night (thank God!) in April, with my husband.
Style: No style. The reception is a bar on the well known Heinrich Heine Alle (the longest bar in the world)
Location: Very good. As said before in a district full of pubs, breweries, take away, bakeries, gelaterie. Although the street is very noisy, the rooms are on an inner yard, so they are mostly quite
Rooms: one of the worst I’ve ever stayed. The room was a single one, but it was assigned to us as a double. However, all the rooms were the same (saw on the emergency exit map). Queen size bed in a corner next to the wall: the room was hardly large 5 sq. metres and it was high no more than 2,5 metre. It was a bit suffocating. If you suffer from claustrophobia, this is not your hotel. No space to move, to store the luggage, very small wardrobe and writing table. No minibar. Small screen TV with sat channels (mostly German speaking: only BBC, CNN for non German). The remote control did not work, but it was useless, you could change the channels just stretching the harm form the bed. The bathroom was small and mostly uncomfortable. No bath facilities like shower cap (take one with you, unless you’re going to wash your hair every time you have a shower), body lotion, shampoo etc. You have to use a dispenser on the basin and in the shower (surprisingly large!). Apparently clean, did not investigate too much, but I could see a spider web pending on the bed and some dust in the heater in the bathroom.
Food: excellent breakfast. The best thing probably. Wide choice of food.
Staff: very friendly, but German speaking. Only one girl could speak a little English.
The good: breakfast and location.
The bad: rooms.
Price: € 59 a double room, breakfast included.
Tips: Perfect for a very short staying (maximum two nights) and for budget travellers.
Restaurants nearby:
-Ham Ham on Schloss Alt. True German pub with excellent grilled food (try the pig ankle) (prices about € 15 pp, beers included),

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

I stayed here with a friend for a night during our travels. Found a good rate of 69 euros through booking.com. The staff was helpful and welcoming. Since our German is horrific, thankfully the staff we encountered spoke English, and they were able to check us in and recommend restaurants.

The hotel is clean and, although the room was small, it was manageble. Our room faced the front / the street and while there was some noise, it wasn't too bad (then again, it was a Sunday night). It is ideally situated in the Dusseldorf altstadt - the "longest bar in the world" - and there are definitely tons of food and drink options all around. The area is very walkable and the hotel is a quick cab ride from the main train station. There is also a taxi stand a couple blocks away.

I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Dusseldorf.

  • Liked — Location, Great Deal.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona
#74 of 237 in Dusseldorf
52 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Sankt Andreas
Hotel Sankt Andreas
#178 of 237 in Dusseldorf
61 reviews
Altstadt
Abode-Hotel
Abode-Hotel
#123 of 237 in Dusseldorf
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#179 of 237 in Dusseldorf
30 reviews
Hotel Haus Rheinblick
#194 of 237 in Dusseldorf
19 reviews
Altstadt
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Carathotel Duesseldorf
#35 of 237 in Dusseldorf
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alt Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alt Duesseldorf

Property: Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Address: Hunsrueckenstr. 11, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alt Duesseldorf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Alt Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Duesseldorf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing