We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, functional hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Ranked #24 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice, functional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I spent only ine night in this hotel when I vsited Düsseldorf for a fair. The hotel is nice and very functional, my single room was small but comfortable. The breakfast was really great, an unusually big variaty of warm and cold meals. The hotel could be easily reached by tram, the downtown is just a few stations away. At the time of the fair the hotel was totally overpriced, but this was the case for all Düsseldorf hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your great review. We are happy that you had a great stay at our hotel. Also the team of the restaurant is happy that you enjoyed your breakfast in the mornings.

We are happy to welcome you again in our hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Magnus Schwartze
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    147
    29
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
94
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teteringen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel right in the centre of Dusseldorf. Clean and large rooms with a great bathroom and all what you could want. Parking is also possible in the own car park for €15 for 24 hours. Breakfast is also great plenty to choose from. Will be back for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your fantastic review. I am more than happy, that you had such a pleasant stay at our hotel. My team gives its best every day, so that our guests have a great stay. I look forward to your next stay at our Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf.

With best regards,

Magnus Schwartze
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in an apartment for 2 nights with our baby. (Tip: it was not possible to book such a short stay at the apartment via the hotel website, but we asked for it by e-mail and got it OK like that.) The standard apartment was very spacious, clean and comfortable + quiet. The small kitchen had everything we needed. There was a travel type baby bed for our baby as requested. Location of the hotel was good as we were mostly waking around.

Positive surprises were the complimentary beers and waters in the fridge and also a small bath accesory/toy bag for our child. Air con was working well and was not too noisy.

The only thing that would make the room perfect would be a different kind of batroom door: the current one is made of glass, partly see through. I guess most people need some kind of privacy in bathroom/toilet... ;)

The apartment does not include a hotel breakfast but we had it on our departure day. Price 10 EUR / adult. It was well worth the price, much better than expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your fantastic review. I am more than happy that you and your familiy had a great stay in our hotel. Hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Magnus Schwartze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family (two adults and one infant) for two nights. We had a apartment room with small kitchen facilities and a baby cot for our son. The room was very well equipped and modern.

We ate breakfast at the hotel on one morning. They had a French theme week going on which was nice twist. Breakfast was good and service ok.

The location was brilliant. The area was peacefull. Walking distance from the river Rhein and from the old town and also from the shopping district.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank issuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Derag Living is very convenient for a short stay, the room is modern with a high quality bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen which enables snacking and cooking. Breakfast was worth and the staff answered quickly to my different requests.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms for the light and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed it.
I was on my own and the staff were very friendly in the hotel, and hotel restaurant.
The food was very nice, and reasonably priced.
I was on level 5 and had a lovely nights sleep. Someone I met at the office the next day advised they had also stayed there, but on the first floor and couldn't sleep because of traffic and tram noise.
Would definitely stay here again, so long as I am on a high floor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Since I would be staying for 3 weeks, I liked the apartment in a hotel concept. The room I took was very spacious with a separate living hall area. Location is good as well. The front desk crew is okay and did a good job in booking my taxi every morning. Very friendly people.

Housekeeping is a disaster. First of all, "apartment in a hotel" rooms are only cleaned twice a week. That's okay for me. But when I put the sign (place card by the hotel) on the bed requesting for the sheets to be changed, they are not changed. I know because the sheets have a coffee like stain from the beginning.

The hotel staff on duty told me, they do not clean the rooms if I place the "do not disturb card" at the door. Common sense eh? Universal rule. Somehow, they still come into my room on certain mornings, turning off the lights, opening all the windows wide. I have also placed another card on the power switch keyholder to ensure the air conditioner is running so it is cool when I return from work in the afternoon. They just had the itch to remove it.

Yes, maybe germany is very much into going green and conserving energy. But if I am paying the full fare for the rooms, I do not understand why I cannot expect everything to be the same way as it was when I return with the air conditioner running.

Also when I give my clothes for laundry, they are not smart enough to leave a new laundry bag in the room so I can send my laundry easily for the next week. Something pretty standard.

Conclusion: Housekeeping gone wrong. Things they are supposed to do, they don't know. What they don't need to do, they excel in it.

In the course of 2 weeks, the fire alarm was triggered twice and we had to evacuate the building (as it is a fire alarm) and the fire trucks were all here. Heard from hotel staff that it was due to someone cooking accidentally triggering the smoke detectors.

Something interesting I realized, certain rooms in each floor act as a fire exit and automatically become unlocked when the fire alarm is triggered. In the middle of the night last week, the fire alarm was triggered causing a loud siren and my room door cannot be locked for about 30 minutes!

I am not saying this is a bad design. I believe it is a building protocol to automatically unlock your room door if it is a fire exit. BUT if you have a faulty smoke detector or someone cooking the way they are not supposed to, the hotel should take care to ensure it happens not more than one. It has happened twice during my 3 week's stay. Would you feel safe staying here?

They charged the payment for the 3 week's upfront. If not, I would have checked out and went to another hotel. Just not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank persil_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf

Property: Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Address: Kirchfeldsrasse 59-61, 40217 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Unterbilk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing