We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice hotel, with friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Ranked #38 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice hotel, with friendly service”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stadt München Hotel is situated in a quiet street, 10 min. walk from the shopping street Koenigsalee and the old city, a few minutes taxi ride from the main train station. We received a very nice and comfortable room on the sixth floor, with a terrace overlooking the city. The bed is very comfortable, there is a comfortable desk to work on, and internet is free (you need to get a code from reception). Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included in the price, and it is a standard German breakfast, which is good and satisfying. We will definitely come back to this hotel again when we are in Duesseldorf.

Room Tip: Not all room have air-condition, so make sure to book one that has if you are traveling in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frothosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    134
    48
    14
    6
See reviews for
30
75
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

It's been 25 years since I was last in Düsseldorf and things have not changed for the better. The city aside Stadt Munchen was OK - though often in Germany you would expect better but the location was good and you could park in the hotel garage. The hotel was clean and had a nice lobby area, my room was basic and small but functional, however no aircon (not that it was needed). I had expected that the gym / sauna area would have been something of a plus but sadly not. Breakfast was definitely OK so all in all this hotel is all right. I would have been disappointed if I had stayed here as a weekend break mit frau but it served my purposes so I shall not complain. I have to say that staff were pleasant with an excellent command of english which often helps. Couples and family probably not for you - business / solo / friends - it will do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I quite enjoyed my few days stay here at Hotel Stadt Muenchen. The staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great (close to the Hbf, Alstadt, Rhine, etc) Breakfasts were great. Still a smart way to start the day by not having to go look for breakfast. Rooms were clean and comfy. I would stay there again. Dusseldorf is a great place to visit if you have a few days to unwind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Clean hotel, but the rooms were very poor and qute small, almost at a hostel's level.
The breakfast and lobby were ok.
The locaton of the hotel is close to the train station but not so close to the centre.
No value for money, it should cost less.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioanna_saiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Trapani, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My experience staying at this property was very good, hence my three star rating. It really depends on your expectations when booking these traditional Euro hotels. Expect extremely small standard rooms for single bookings, which is what I reserved. For example, you'll need to step out of the 'bathroom' to dry yourself to avoid banging your elbow on the mirror. Accommodations were 'tiny but tidy'. The bed was lacking any real back support as were the pillows, way to soft.

Upside at the hotel is it's staff. Exceptionally friendly and helpful. Advice regarding public transport, recommending a decent restaurant, need a corkscrew, extra set of silverware - no problems, we can help. You'll also be extremely satisfied with the spread at the buffet breakfast. Great coffee too. If only hotels in the US could offer such healthy, wholesome breakfasts like this hotel or German properties in general.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here for one night. It is close to both hauptbahnhof and city center. The room was big and clean. But the toilet was very small indeed. It is almost as small as an aircraft lavatory. Staff was very friendly. Turkish receptionist was very friendly and funny. Lighting of the room was nice.
I enjoyed the breakfast too. I'd go there again..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Top class hotel for the price. Good size room with en suite shower room. Very convenient for town centre & an easy walk to the Old Town.Also less than a 10 minute stroll from the main train station. A clean & comfortable hotel with very polite & helpfull staff. Substantial buffet breakfast included. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#10 of 238 in Dusseldorf
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Max Hotel Garni
Max Hotel Garni
#25 of 238 in Dusseldorf
315 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Stage 47
Stage 47
#36 of 238 in Dusseldorf
309 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#65 of 238 in Dusseldorf
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Munchen

Property: Hotel Stadt Munchen
Address: Pionierstr. 6, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Stadt Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing