We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown
Ranked #40 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We arrived late, about midnight. The location is in a bohemian part of town near the train station. Very unassuming entrance and a cafe and nice market next door. Reception gentleman was efficient but not overly polite. Room was spartan, small and the downside was that our room was overlooking the platz that was loud and teeming with traffic. VERY loud. Our windows were closed and it was a very hot day. No A/C as is expected in EU. Our room was about 105 degrees. How you say? BOTH radiators were turned to maximum. They were putting off so much heat and our only option was to open all windows and pray for some relief, Now, housekeeping should have noticed this and averted this situation. We called the front desk and asked for a fan and told him of the situation. No fan, no offer of a new room. Mind you there were two lovely fans at reception that they were using. We suffered thru the night sweating and plugging our ears. Not a good start. the next three nights we were able to leave the windows open all day and let the air in and finally the radiators had cooled. We could close the windows at night but the room was very stuffy. We bought a small fan to keep circulation and left it at the hotel as a parting gift. I hope they allow guests to use it. The toilet is weird and when flushed shot urine, water and at one point a little feces on the floor. Happens whether the lid was up or down. Beware, got my foot the first day. Gross. best part was the breakfast lounge. Hostess was great, food was adequate and lounge comfy. We thought it was included but was not. Got dinged for 100 Euro at end of stay. (12.50 euro PP daily) Fair price and shame on us for assuming. Overall, we would likely pay more for a better hotel. i like my A/C and will be sure to ask when booking next time during a summer visit.

Room Tip: floor 3 noisy facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

A really friendly small hotel. It´s a 5 minute walk from the station and trains are very frequent from the airport. It cost me less than a £5 to get from the airport to the hotel but I think it was about Euro20 in a cab.

Rooms are coloured like opal fruits and rather functional but that´s all one needs on a short break. Great showers. The breakfast room is lovely. Dark wood and modern. Now the breakfasts were fabulous, but don´t expect soya milk. Selection of cereals, fish, cheeses, teas, juice, fruit salads, yoghurts etc.

Staff are young and helpful.

Now for the trams, they are loud so suggest you close the windows. Also the neighbourhood is somewhat like Kings Cross so all urban life is there.

Room Tip: Room not on tramside. Top floor has best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarissaIsHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

From the outside this hotel looks quite dull and uninteresting, but when you get to the reception there is a lovely decorated seating area and dining area. The location wasn't too bad, it was a short walk from the train station and from the main city centre, but there wasn't really anything nearby the hotel, and the hotel and nearby was quiet. Our room was really nice, clean and well decorated with good facilities. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theparkypoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Stayed there for my Xmas shopping trip with my family and was very happy with my stay.

The hotel is not easy to find in the beginning, if you do not know how they number houses and streets in Germany. But then it is fine. Didn't have breakfast included in the price, and didn't take it. There was a cute supermarket right next door, and numerous cafes.

The hotel was very conveniently located - right next to the airport Weeze shuttle bus stop. So having an early flight, it was just great to arrive in the city centre and find your hotel right next to the stop.

The rooms were specious, and nicely decorated. We had top floor with huge balcony and nice view. I think the value is good for 3 star hotel in Europe.

Had such a great time in Dusseldorf! So I would recommend it for short stay def!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baycoralore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The only criticism I could make would be the traffic noise but this is due to the location, which, just 15 minutes walk from the Altstadt, could not have been better. Pleasant decor, very clean room, very comfortable beds. Friendly, helpful staff. All at a budget price. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casgralds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The location is not the best. The room is not too small but it has a 14" TV. The parking is 200 meters from hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Ikea flair.
Carpet very dirty.
Stains on armchair that wasn't removed even after I asked to do so.
No direct Parking. Parkhouse 5 min away (only accepts cash, can't be paid via hotel)
Reception personel very friendly.
Bar ecquipped only with beer/vine and some hard liquor, no cocktails.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#18 of 240 in Dusseldorf
151 reviews
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#19 of 240 in Dusseldorf
295 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Motel One Dusseldorf Hbf
Motel One Dusseldorf Hbf
#10 of 240 in Dusseldorf
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Stadt-Mitte
BURNS Art & Culture
BURNS Art & Culture
#80 of 240 in Dusseldorf
119 reviews
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
#30 of 240 in Dusseldorf
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown

Address: Worringer Str. 94 - 96, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £68 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering this charming hotel friends in Dusseldorf downtown, you will immediately sense its special intimate atmosphere that takes you back to the 70s through its extraordinary and exciting design. The place to be for daydreamer, travel blogger, fashion blogger...There you will feel like being in the past. Each detail and furniture has been passionately chosen. Each 40 rooms deserves a visit, since they all tells their own story. You will meet very famous faces, like Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, Harry Potter, Coco Chanel and co. hotel friends style mixes valuable antiques from the 70s, as well as a very modern and cozy furniture. The highlight of hotel friends is the huge lobby in old school style, including a hip bar or as we call it #klassentreffen, schoolyard (smoking lounge) #pausenhof and the assembly hall #aula. The special charm, the cosy mood, the casual and unique surrounding makes hotel friends to the city hotspot. Curious? Then go ahead and make your first reservation at #hotel friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Dusseldorf Hotel
Friends Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing