We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not enough included”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Dusseldorf
Ranked #6 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice, but not enough included”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel itself is very well-located and nicely appointed, though, like many higher-end hotels in Germany, it is a touch over-priced.

I stayed on the Club floor - the lounge is cool and the food was great - but the nickel-n-diming for the health club, internet, bottled water, etc. eroded my perception of value. If I pay 300+ Euro for a room, and am part of the loyalty program, I think it is reasonable to expect complimentary internet and access to the health club. [Charging for internet in 2013 is galling to begin with; it is in the same family as texting, that is, a superabundant commodity that is marked up 4000%.]

Check-in was smooth-ish, check-out was quick, staff anticipate well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear MichaelF,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the experience to chose the club lounge.
I apologize for not providing an all inclusive package. Yes, you have to pay for the external health club, because we are not managing this on our own. But we provide FREE wireless internet with highest security standard to all our guest, which can be used all over the property. Only the high speed version is charged. In addition we provide 24/7 a mineral water bar located in the hotel lobby.
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    241
    51
    16
    18
See reviews for
126
248
43
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Right on top of the classy Kõ (Kõnigsallee), the InterContinental fits in perfectly with the elegant and modern stores that mark Dusseldorf's "miracle mile". The hotel has a beautiful atrium (basically a cover that connects the different buildings that form the hotel) which is breathtaking looking up from the lobby and looking down from the floors. I enjoyed the "vertical gallery" with world class photos by Michael Dannemann.
A special thank you to Front Office Manager Steffen, who went the extra mile to make sure that we had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear DavidEllen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially our fourth Vertical Gallery. Being a passionate marathon runner, our Front Office Manager Steffen will never rest bevor our guest needs are met. Thank you for mentioning him personally.
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The InterContinental was great. The rooms and lobby looked modern, so I guess the hotel is relatively new. The best thing about the hotel is that its downtown. Its walking distance to lots of restaurants and cafes. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cam435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Cam435,
Thank you very much for your kind words!
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Really good hotel, clean, comfortable and very helpful reception staff. The room service menu is not extensive but the hotel staff is so friendly that it makes up for this. Free wi-fi helps, I really enjoyed my stay and will visit again if in Dusseldorf in future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravelcloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear swan75,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and especially for mentioning our free wireless internet.
According to the wishes of our guests, we renewed our room service menu, which will be launched at the end of April. I would gladly send you a copy, because your opinion matters to me.
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
michaela.weisskopf@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was my third and fourth time at the Intercontinental. Each time had its highlights and its detractions. As many have written before, the location is perfect and the decor is good quality corporate modern and well maintained as one might expect. The breakfast is always fantastic, really nothing one could wish for that canot be found there, a huge choice of fruit, cereals,wonderful breads, hot dishes, cold cuts, gravlax etc etc. My first morning i was served by a woman that made me tea using loose tea leaves, this had never happened before and was greaty appreciated.
I like the rooms too, attention to detail and lovely duvets and good well designed bathrooms.
If you like a quiet room the best thing is to get one overlooking the inner courtyard otherwise you will either be woken by school children on one side of the building at god knows what time or the traffic on the street behind. The rooms on the inner courtyard have sealed windows while the others can be opened...
The last stay I arrived late in the evening and there were only smoking rooms available...ugh...even though they use some kind of machine to remove the smell it still smells nasty believe me and gets into your clothes. The receptionist was quite apologetic and said they would move me the next day which they did...
The bar is probably the area that needs the most care and attention....on several occasions i have noticed that some of the bar staff are not at all welcoming and frankly the pour of Sekt that I received was startlingly small. I have quite a lot of restaurant and bar experience so was pretty shocked when barely 1/2 a flute arrived.

Room Tip: high floor either facing the inner courtyard if you don't mind the window not opening or weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavitaedolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear lavitaedolce,
Thank you for sharing your review. I am so glad that at the end you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Dusseldorf.
I took the opportunity to show the importance of serving loose tea to our breakfast team. Even if the quality inside of the tea caddy is exactly the same, to serve loose tea should be our standard to make our guest feel well cared. We also reviewed the standard filling of our champagne glasses and from now on we will pour an extra sip at our expense.
Hopefully you will be able to notice our improvements during your next stay.
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
michaela.weisskopf@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The hotel was overall good, not great, but good. I found this hotel to be a little disappointing when compared to other Intercontinental hotels. The room wasn't as clean as it could've been, but the room was modern.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear HONdominik,

Thank you very much for writing your review. I am really impressed about the high number of entries you have done during the past days.

Please be assured, that our main focus is on cleanliness of guest rooms and overall guest satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed here exactly 1 year ago with a great experience. Sorry I cannot say the same for last weeks visit. I arrived at 1:30PM to be told my room was not ready, but a similar room overlooking the beautiful atrium lobby is available now. It was my day to enjoy and so I took it rather than wait and why my room was not ready irks me. No welcome gift first day, so I asked next morning and still none by night, when I needed some water, so came request # 3 and still no luck 1 hour later. Yes I did get 3 bottles of water eventually! No toiletries replenished 2nd day and was not even sure bathroom was cleaned.
While most staff are still great as 1 desk person helped my shopping mission, Joachim again assisted with another so all is not lost. Other staff great as well - bellman
I can say Michael the doorman was to call me a taxi as I was late for a meeting and decided to do 3 other things first and tell me the taxi is on the way before he called since he forgot.
Worst was my last night I returned at 11PM and there was loud music at the bar that could be heard in the room on the 10th floor pretty clearly. The music lasted past 1AM and I had a 3:30AM wake up for an early flight. Really - music so late with 1/2 the rooms over the lobby atrium? Yes a sincere apology but furthered with an insult to inform I can get an upgrade on a return visit.

Room Tip: stay away from atrium room if unlikely party. I was told they did not know about the late party 2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear RichW,

Thank you for taking the time to share another review with us. I am more than disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay this time. Especially because your last stay made you expect much more. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced this time.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest satisfaction and we will use your comments as we work towards this goal.

I would highly appreciate you to contact me personally in order to find an appropriate way of compensation for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Michaela Weisskopf
michaela.weisskopf@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 237 in Dusseldorf
1,221 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dusseldorf

Property: InterContinental Dusseldorf
Address: Koenigsallee 59, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#3 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dusseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Man sagt, es sei DAS HOTEL "FUR KUNST UND KULTUR" AUF DER KO...Denn wer das InterContinental Dusseldorf an der Konigsallee betritt, spurt sofort die moderne Ausrichtung mit der Konzentration auf zeitgenossische Kunst und Lifestyle: eine Artist Wall mit 33 Namen bekannter Dusseldorfer Personlichkeiten, wie Heinrich Heine, Max Ernst, Clara Schumann und Joseph Beuys, schmuckt das 40m hohe Atrium der Lobby. Seit der Eroffung des Hotels 2005 wurde kontinuierlich an Kunst- und Kulturinitiativen gearbeitet, um die lokale Verankerung mit der Kunstmetropole Dusseldorf zu festigen und als der ,,place to stay" fur Kunst- und Kultur weltweit wahrgenommen zu werden. Das Luxushotel auf der wunderschonen Konigsallee ist aber nicht nur aufgrund der besonderen Architektur und Ausrichtung Hot Spot der Stadt: auch kulinarisch hat es Vieles zu bieten, so das Restaurant PEGA und die stylische bar fifty nine, deren Cocktails und Latte Macchiatos legendar sind...An Wochenenden rockige Live Musik meist bis in die fruhen Morgenstunden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dusseldorf Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Duesseldorf
Intercontinental Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing