We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of City Lounge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lounge Hotel
Ranked #185 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Convenient location, not far from the old town. Friendly staff. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean .The rooms have everything you need. Very good breakfast. However, there were minor problems with the water faucets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia_Ivan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel looks a little seedy from the outside but is clean and (eventually) friendly. We arrived early as our flight got in early. We had no intention of booking in at 8am but were advised to come back at 2pm, but we could leave our bags. Hmm... what we had hoped anyway. Arrived back to be told my (reissued by the bank) credit card was unacceptable because the number was different to the one I had booked with. Luckily things improved. Good bed And pillows, value breakfast (though not much choice). For the price and position It's reasonable value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbie2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my parents. They had a massive room with 4 beds which was great for size but was a bit run down. Could do with a new coat of paint and something to cover the scratched floorboards. My room looked lovely until you went to the toilet where the tiles were taken off the wall and you had to put your hand into the water flow thingy to flush the toilet. Service was ok, struggled as they didn't speak good English but can't really expect to have that everywhere we go. It was on the lower end of the budget so you get what you pay for but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystalmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel a lot. I also enjoyed the comfortable room that make you feel at home and the great service they deliver.
The breakfast there is so good.
They have also good offers for the transportation tickets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

There were bedroom had four beds divided by a wall and a glass door. The room was quiet, clean, and as described. The location just five minutes by taxi from train/bus station and within walking distance from the center. The staff was very nice. The breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had a quadruple room for our family. It was very spacious, consisting of 2 contiguous rooms with 2 beds each, a separate kitchen area and bathroom. It was very quiet, sheets and beds clean and comfortable. The wooden floor was generally clean but may soon need to be refurbished and resealed, due to scratches and stains.

We did not use the kitchen, but people that prefer to cook will find this accommodation unbeatable. There is also a small refrigerator and a luminous dining area with a large table and 4 chairs. Breakfast was included with our reservation and was served by the lobby. It was fresh and abundant. We had coffee/tea, juices, meats, eggs, yogurts, bread, and it was a great way to start our day. The Hotel is conveniently located about 15 min walking from the old town restaurant area. The area around the Hotel is very quiet in a residential portion of town. We walked late at night without any problems. There is a locked gate at the entrance and keys are provided to enter after 10 pm.

The attendant at the reception spoke English and was very knowledgeable; he was very helpful in giving information about things to see, distances and other tips. He also reserved our taxi to the airport, which showed up on time as planned.

Our experience with taxi in Dusseldorf was excellent; everybody was very professional and fares were modest, with meters running and no funny games (a relief after our experiences in Paris or Rome). The Hotel is approximately 15-25 min away from the airport; expect to pay for taxi Eu. 20-23, depending on traffic. The train station is a short walk away, but we decided to take a taxi and paid about Eu.6 one-way.

Overall the VIP Hotel is a great value, and the room very comfortable. We will definitively come back when traveling to Germany and stopping in Dusseldorf. We decided to reserve at this Hotel after reading several reviews from Trip Advisor and found other guests' opinions very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room had no A/C, only heater; however nights in Aug. are quite chilly in Dusseldorf and there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here mid week, Monday to Friday - mid June and got an excellent (pre pay discount) rate from Trivago for only £35.00 per night (per room) with breakfast included for two adults. The hotel is located on a busy road junction with no decent parking and there's nowhere really available to leave your car overnight, but the hotel does offer a small underground garage at €8.00 per night, which you must pre-book.

The rooms are clean and tidy, similar to a standard offered by Travelodge in terms of furniture with a wardrobe (hangers included) basic table and chairs – no dressing tables that we were aware of however. Most of the rooms are quite large and have a kitchenette with sink, hob, kettle and crockery, making them a good option for a self catering break if you want to keep to a tight budget. The beds are very (too) soft – probably because of the memory foam topping on the mattresses. The bathroom and shower are excellent – plenty of room and very functional with a hair dryer and bath/hand towels for each guest. There are limited toiletries however, box of tissues, and a liquid soap pump on the sink and one in the shower. There are an adequate number of 2 pin power sockets throughout, but not all of them worked. Our room had a modern 28” flat screen TV mounted on a computer desk. It offered a couple of dozen channels, all in German with only CNN in English. Finally, there is an adjustable ceiling mounted fan, which was very effective.

The staff were all very nice and helpful and the rooms were serviced daily.

One delightful bonus is that every room gets free wifi internet, with a good/excellent signal. This allowed us to read online newspapers and listen to Radio 2 and watch UK TV on our Computer Tablets. You may need to subscribe to a host VPN to achieve this however because some UK websites don’t allow access from overseas internet accounts.

The hotel is on 3 levels but does not offer any lift facilities unfortunately. We were on the top floor, reached by a number of staircases but asked for a move to the ground level, which didn’t present any problem. When you enter the hotel – it is through heavy duty barred security gates leading to a pleasant courtyard with benches, chairs and tables, where some of the guests would relax and chill over a coffee and cigarette after breakfast, or in the evening if it was warm – we had 36c so it was VERY warm. You’ll still get an internet connection there too and there is a vending machine selling cold drinks and crisps etc. It takes banknotes as well as coins.

Breakfast in the small dining room adjacent to reception was very good. It offered scrambled egg, boiled egg, a selection breads, toast, rolls, cold meats and cheeses. There was also a range of cereals and fresh fruit plus a tea/coffee automated machine, fruit juices and fresh milk. Given that it was included in our price, we couldn’t fault it, especially as its self service too. No other meals are available.

There is a Greek restaurant directly across the road from the hotel and a Trinkhalle (off-license) round the corner selling cold beer etc from the fridge, both within 25yds. The hotel can also offer you a day ticket, giving you a lot of travel options whether by tram, train or bus for only €2.00.

Final point for those on a first visit, most pubs and restaurants in Germany work on a "Cash Only" basis! They will NOT accept your card. Bizarrely, cash point machines near the hotel are an extreme rarity - like hen’s teeth. If you turn left out of the hotel however, and walk to the next junction, about 150 yds away, you will see the Commerzbank across the road on the corner. It has one in the foyer - which remains open in the evening, beyond office hours.

Room Tip: No lift. Ask for a ground floor on booking if you can'tuse steps. Equally, pre-book a parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Famosa Hotel
Famosa Hotel
#121 of 241 in Dusseldorf
130 reviews
Hotel Residenz
#143 of 241 in Dusseldorf
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#18 of 241 in Dusseldorf
616 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Petersburg Hotel
Petersburg Hotel
#115 of 241 in Dusseldorf
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lounge Hotel

Address: Herzogstr. 93, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly VIP Duesseldorf)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £50 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lounge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lounge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing