We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizzare”

Hotel Sankt Andreas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sankt Andreas
Ranked #167 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bizzare”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel was clean and in a good location and we had no problems checking. I would love to give it a higher rating but....... the first night we had the door stop up against the door and when we woke the next morning the door stop was pushed away from the door which indicates someone entered the room while we were sleeping. We attributed it to us possibly not closing the door all the way and another guest going in the wrong room, but then the next night around 3 am we heard a key trying to unlock our door but we made sure the dead bolt was on before we went to sleep so no one entered although it sounded like they tried. Strange, spooky and unexplainable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mk o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
5
28
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Very good hotel! Lived in 3 days in the august 2012. Located in the heart of the Altstadt, but on a quiet street. The hotel is located on a pedestrian area. To the taxi rank 2 minutes on foot. To the car parking also 2 minutes. The windows into the yard, a balcony shared by 3 rooms, with a balcony you can go down the stairs to room for breakfest. A good view from the window. There is no elevator. The reception on the 2nd floor. The reception is open until 21:00 if no checkin in the evening. On the ground floor there is a typical German restaurant. open in the evenings. We left baby-carriage on the 1st floor. The door to the hotel is closed in the evening, provide the key. Breakfast is average, fried eggs on request and with a variety of ingredients.

Room Tip: Good choice for visiting Dusseldorf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very shortly: don't stay in this hotel! It's just rubbish!

We had booked one room during the weekend. Due to problems in our flight, we arrived a bit late at 00:15 am. As they said, "because of the holidays" the reception was closed and nobody was there nor answering the phone. Instead of that, just a funny note on the door indicating where we could pick up the keys (in a public garage at 100 m). We went there and ask the security guy for the keys but it turned out that there were no keys there! First: they didn't leave the keys in the garage!!! Second: do you really think this is the best way to give us the keys? Third: couldn't they just have called me (they had my phone number, come on!)... No, they didn't think about it and as a consequence, they let us down and we were in the street!!! We called several times to the phone number published on the website and left messages without any response. So we spent the night in the street because all the hotels were fully booked!! It was Sommerfest!!

On the following day we went there again in the morning and there was nobody in the reception, we tried to communicate to an employee who was cleaning (but spoke no English) and she tried to help us very kindly. She called her boss and left him another message but the boss never answered. She recommended us to come back at 3pm when he was supposed to be there. Too many beers maybe.

At 3pm we arrived to the hotel again and spoke to the waiter in the bar although he didn't speak English. We explained to him what happened and again tried to call his boss but his phone was always disconnected. Another message on the mailbox and nothing. And he suggested us to come back at 6pm, when maybe the boss would do something and eventually work.

By then we were already really upset and dissapointed with this hotel and his absent boss. We decided to leave and find a better place. I told the waiter that I would like to talk to his boss and heard some explanations from him directly but nobody called back.

After 3 days, today I have received an invoice from the hotel charging me the two nights. It seems that the boss is a really hard-working guy when it comes to charge for the service he didn't provide!! This is just unacceptable!! I will complain to the authorities in Germany and, of course, reject it. We have the impression that this is just a swindle.

Don't come to this hotel and find something better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We arrived late afternoon and had to stand at the bar for ten minutes waiting to book in only to be dealt with by some stroppy youngster with an attitude who never showed us to our rooms we the had to climb 3 floors of stairs (no lift) with my in laws who are (73&70) the rooms were cold and the heating never worked. In the morning there was only enough hot water for one of us to shower breakfast was a disaster unhelpful staff who cooked the wrong eggs and didn't clear the table. I have traveled the world and this was the worst hotel ever

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Don't be fooled that location is the thing in Dusseldorf. The Altstadt becomes one drinking trough on a Saturday night and Sankt Andreas is in the middle of it. If you like screaming and shouting in the street, this is the place for you.
No-one at all at the hotel when we arrived, and only let in by the restaurant underneath when we came back. No sign of owners in the morning. God help anyone needing help or advice. No information about the city in the rooms, not even a 'call this number if you need help' in the rooms.
Breakfast is good, the room clean but the overall impression is of taking your money and letting you get on with it.

Room Tip: both sides will be noisy, so can't help on that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank douglasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed four nights &, overall, enjoyed it mainly, I guess, because the hotel is so strategically located in the altstadt district. We took a cab from the Hauptbahnhoff but the driver didn't recognise the name of the hotel but subsequently found it on account of the address which he only knew as a "pub" - & that's really what it is! Reception is the bar & on the busy night we arrived they were not really equipped to check-in late arrival house guests. No lifts & so many flights of narrow stairs to drag baggage up, etc. although we did get some much needed assistance from a "barman". Later we found ourselves in a rather modest room but all the essentials were there.Consequently, i couldn't really recommend the place to elderly tourists but I'm sure that it would be a real "fun" place to stay for the young adventurous folk. The street level bar is a very popular drinking/eating venue amongst what appeared to be mostly locals & the food is certainly substantial. I had a traditional German pork dish which,to me, was pretty ordinary but my travelling companion really enjoyed her musssels which seemed to be the house speciality. You can, however, eat better & cheaper very locally. i'd particularly recommend Mojo's just round the corner where the Greek waiter, Herr Zorba as we called him, was so welcoming & attentive to our requirements but haviing several soccer matches on TV at night can be a bit overpowering. However, that's not to say hat the hotel staff weren't as helpful as they could be in the circumstances, that is, if you could find one when you needed a replacement toilet roll, etc. Fortunately, having lived in Germany for a couple of years 50 years or so ago i could recall enough German to make myself understood but most of the elusive "domestic" staff didn't speak English so non-German speakers could find it rather difficult. Bottom line is, I suppose, it's all about "Location, Location" & you probably can't get much better in the altstadt close to both markets, the Rhine, with heaps of restaurants & nitelife bars close by & even the Konigsallee only a short walk away.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the lower floors & one with access to the back fire escape where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodthesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very well located hotel close to the main tourist attractions and the Christams markets. All Christmas markets within walking distance, nearest only about 100m away. Visited Cologne on one day to see Christmas markets/cathedral etc. Well worth it, but I would recommend avoiding a Saturday for visting Cologne in Dec - absolutely packed. Great bars/ restaurants very close to the hotel.
Hotel very clean and well kept. Not too easy to find though, look out for the name of the restaurant below.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloversSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#182 of 238 in Dusseldorf
31 reviews
Altstadt
Abode-Hotel
Abode-Hotel
#126 of 238 in Dusseldorf
37 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
#125 of 238 in Dusseldorf
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haus Rheinblick
#197 of 238 in Dusseldorf
19 reviews
Altstadt
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Carathotel Duesseldorf
#38 of 238 in Dusseldorf
283 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 238 in Dusseldorf
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sankt Andreas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sankt Andreas

Property: Hotel Sankt Andreas
Address: Andreasstr. 13, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sankt Andreas 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sankt Andreas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing