We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud
Ranked #91 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for an overnight stay in June as a motorbiking group, nice hotel, staff very pleasant and helped us organise taxis in to centre of city. Very nice big room. Nice Bar area, didnt eat here but the menu did look very good and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great review of your stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in every way. It's great to see that you enjoyed the service and thus were well looked after.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us and wish you all the best.

Best regards, Park Inn Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel two nights for a convention. From the outside it doesn't look like much (more structure of white containers), but the lobby looked nice. We checked in and went to our rooms. Mine was okay: it had a bed, flatscreen, desk and bathroom with shower and tub (though the tub was perfect for someone like me who is 5 feet 1. Someone taller might not fit. There was no decent wardrobe, just a coatrack with a few pegs.
When meeting my friends for a drink (the hotel's drinks were expensive: 3euro for one cola), they had problems with their shower. (it fell down and the shower head squirted water in all directions. The receptionist first told us there were no rooms available and didn't want to do anything. She even asked us if we really needed a shower. Still, they eventually tried to work out a solution and it took one hour of waiting before they finally let us know they had another available room (surprise surprise). This one was pretty okay with no busted shower.

Beds were not comfortable and had trouble sleeping (even woke up with a cramp in my neck). I can't complain when it came to the breakfast. It was a huge buffet with pancakes, waffles, fruit, buns, English breakfast food,.... That was truly great! The rooms were clean as well.

When checking out they charged us for the parking lot. 7euro a night, even though the travelling agency and the receptionist told us it was free. A friend of mine and myself were told we took things from the minibar. We had put our own bottles of water in there to keep cool, and myself a bar of chocolate. Apparently they charge you for your own drinks and snacks when you put them in there. After another fifteen minutes of convincing the receptionist we didn't take anything (even showing us our own bottles of water and food we bought (and the receipt), we could finally leave.

Next year, there is no way we're staying at this hotel. Perhaps they thought adolescents of 23-24 years old don't need to be treated like any other guest in the hotel. Even if we paid the same amount as anyone else....
I recommend the Acora hotel 2 minutes away! A hotel I'll be going back to next year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the road. Check your room (and especially shower) if nothing is...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear guest,

At first we have to thank you for your honestly words. But of course we also want to apologize for the inconvenience, which you had at your stay.

We are truly want to deliver a high standard to our costumers and are trying to find our mistakes to make them fine. We are really happy, that you liked the lobby and the new and fresh design of your hotel room. Our Rooms are prepared for guest during a business trip, which are staying usually just max. 2 nights, that’s why we decided to design the rooms without a classic wardrobe. Of course I see that this option is not the best for everybody. To offer a good priced quality we have small dinks and big once in our restaurant. So the guest has the option to choose, which he wants.

The experience, which your friends, had to make with the shower, we have to apologize. We are fixing everything so quick as possible, but sometimes, we dont get the information soon enough. We have to thank you for the information about the defect, that we could fix it directly. The neither reason, why our colleague on the reception told you, there is no room available to change is because it was like this. But of course during a day, we are cleaning rooms and some other guests are checking out. That’s why we were able to offer you finally an other room.
We feel really sorry for the bad sleep you had. To really change something, we would love to know, what accurately was uncomfortable. We are offering extra pillows for our guests. Just tell our colleagues on the reception.
Thank you for the great feedback about our breakfast buffet with cold and warm costs. We are happy, that you could enjoy it.

Because of we want to offer a safe and private parking place for our guest, we have video surveillance parking places directly in front of the hotel. This security service cost 7,00 EUR per day an car. We are not able to tell you, why you got the information, that the parking places are for free. We are sorry for this misunderstanding. To be sure, in stuff like this you can always call us directly our visit our website. http://www.park-inn-duesseldorf-sued.com/default-en.html
Of course nobody has to pay their own drinks, which they are bringing. Our housekeeping is checking the amount of bottles in the minibar every morning, if they can not find any bottles, they have to assume, that you drank the drinks. Maybe this happened here. Please understand that it is really hard to check, if our guest are using the drinks or not. It cases like this, we have to check. We are really sorry, that this took such a big extent.

We accepting, that you already decided to go to the Acora hotel next time. But of course we are still hoping, that we are maybe getting a new chance to improve our services and show our good will.

Just with best regards your Park Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Friendly staffs, clean and slient hotel. It is a basic hotel good for a short stay for the price at that time. The rate was about 45 Euro per room for one person and 54 Euro per room for 2 persons. I stayed at that hotel for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank visitorrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great review of your stay.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed the price performance ratio and your stay.

See you soon and best regards Your team of Park Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip in a standard room. Check-in was very good, friendly staff, fast, good explanation of everything important. Room was ok. The beds could be slightly bigger but on the pro side there was a nice TV, a big desk and a comfortable chair. Internet wasn't free so I stayed with 3G from my mobile.

The bathroom was a bit below average, everything new and clean but the combined shower / bath tube was extremely high (my father who is 71 would have no chance to take a shower there, you need to lift your legs 60 cm to enter and leave) and it was made of cheap looking plastics.

This would still be a four stars review but dinner and breakfast ruined it. For dinner I had Raclette with a group in the hotel restaurant. Food was good but the staff was so slow, we never had full glasses. At some point we declared the evening self service and forced them to give us wine bottles but this just shouldn't happen. I mean they are cutting their own throat: We would have trunk double the wine if they just had given it to us.

The night was good, comfortable bed and no noise. However some colleagues had rooms facing not the front yard but the back and they complained about noise from the motor way.

The breakfast was a huge disappointment again because of slow staff and cold food. When I arrived, many tables had dirty dishes on them from guests having already finished, others were empty and missing cups and knifes. When I found a usable table, getting coffee was the next challenge. Now I headed to the buffet and was pleasantly surprised to find a wide variety of warm dishes. I took scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, meat balls and a roll. Arriving at my table my pleasant surprise turned into disappointment: Everything was cold as ice.

Checkout again was really good, friendly and fast.

All in all I think even after taking into consideration that Düsseldorf is pretty expensive, there surely is better value for the money (the night was 94€!).

Having been disappointed by both stays I did in Park Inn Hotels recently, I guess this hotel group is off the list for me for the time being.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not face the motorway.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzraelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
first of all we want to thank you for your open and honest review.

Only through your feedback, we have the opportunity to respond as a hotel and repair vulnerabilities.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the standard in our rooms, but especially our new HD flat screens with SKY TV and have thus made your stay enjoyable.

Due to the high demand for bathtubs and showers we had been trying to design a solution of both. Due to the structural conditions is not possible to built a lower bath. We deeply regret this and take the feedback very seriously.

It is a shame that the service has been reported as negative. For large groups or events, we always strive to ensure a smooth process. Please excuse that it has not worked this time. Of course we want to maintain a certain standard, even in stressful situations.

Due to the motorway near We counter with double glazed windows, a loud noise. We are very sorry that your colleagues can not find a restful sleep with us. Alternative to all of our guests with a reservation request with a quiet room deposit.

Thank you very much for your impressions on the breakfast buffet. Especially with a high congestion, it often happens that the hot containers are left open and the food gets cold. The service staff are always trying to counteract these little challenges.

We are delighted that the support for your check in and check out went so smoothly and you had a good goodbye.

We hope that despite this bad experience you give us another chance to us so that we can show that this is not the daily case.

In any case, we would look forward to another visit.

With best regards from Dusseldorf
Park Inn Hotel your team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

As with most things in life, you get what you pay for!

Stayed here one night in December 2012, and upon requesting it I received a room upgrade to a superior room (Club Carlson Gold elite member). I did not, however, receive the promised welcome gift that CC Gold members are meant to receive.

The hotel's location is not the best, with a 15 minute walk to the closest S-Bahn (Düsseldorf-Reisholz), which takes you to the main station in 20 minutes. From the main station to the airport is another 20 minutes, so total journey time with public transport from the airport to the hotel is about an hour. On the other hand, the hotel seemed to be located in a very safe, middle class area.

The room was very clean and modern, and the superior room had an iron, an ironing board and a Nespresso-like coffee machine. Amenity kits were present, as were shampoo and soap etc. Good selection of German and international TV channels. Internet available at cost of around €17 for 24 hours.

For the price I paid, I would definitely stay again. If you want a more central location and more facilities at the hotel, you could probably go up one or two steps on the luxury ladder.

Safe travels!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side in the upper floors for a quieter night's sleep.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

thanks for your great review and for the time that you have taken yourself.
It's great that you appreciate the amenities of home and so had a wonderful stay with us.
We are delighted to welcome you again with us soon.

Best regards from Dusseldorf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights while I was in town for a conference. Absolute no frills hotel - no gym or fitness centre for example.

Average room, average location. Will not stay here again. No major complaints, but not an impressive hotel by any means

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thanks for your review and the time you have taken for this purpose.

Best regards from Dusseldorf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is quite good, rooms are ok and clean, lobby fine, stuff friendly and helpful. But what you should definitely avoid is restaurant. I come after 9 hours of driving there and i wanted just some safe easy food so i have snitzel with frites and i never believed thats possible to destroy such food but kitchen stuff made it. Snitzel was terribly oiled and frites was dusted with sweet paprika. Whole food was without taste, and unsalted. Also you will get small salad, which is cutted veggies in milk and water mix again without salt or peper or anything which makes you smile. I dont know i was was just not lucky or its standart but it wasnt really good. On other hand i must say that breakfast was very good and also hot part (like eggs,bacon, sausages etc) was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thanks for your open assessment and the time that you have taken for this purpose.

Through feedback like yours, we have the opportunity to work more on ourselves and improve ourselves. We are very sorry that we could not convince in the field of food and hope you give us an opportunity to show the progress.

We are pleased in every case for you.

Best regards from Dusseldorf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
5.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Nord
5.0 mi away
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#9 of 239 in Dusseldorf
912 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#21 of 239 in Dusseldorf
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Duesseldorf City
Ibis Duesseldorf City
#64 of 239 in Dusseldorf
662 reviews
6.6 mi away
Novotel Dusseldorf City West
Novotel Dusseldorf City West
#38 of 239 in Dusseldorf
606 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud

Address: Am Schoenenkamp 9, 40599 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Duesseldorf Sud)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £40 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel welcomes Dusseldorf guests to the Rhineland. This exceptional hotel in Dusseldorf finds its home in the heart of the bustling city. Choose from 121 rooms with thoughtful amenities including Wireless High-speed Internet. The on-site restaurant serves regional dishes and other favourites. Parking is available adjacent to the hotel, and staff can assist with arranging an airport shuttle for a nominal fee. The flexible meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 attendees. - Located just off the A46 motorway and convenient to the Dusseldorf International Airport and to downtown - Generously sized rooms featuring Wireless High Speed Internet access - Regional cuisine at Restaurant Inntakt and appetisers and drinks at Innlight bar - Guest parking adjacent to the hotel - Airport shuttle service (an additional fee applies) - Flexible, modern meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing