We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threadbare but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #135 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Unfortunately many of the smaller hotels in Dusseldorf aren't up to much but they rake it in all the same when there is a tradefair and the City Hotel is no different. Normally 100 euros a night for this kind of accommodation would be a joke.
The main entrance and reception area is okay, and the staff are all friendly, deeper in to the hotel lies a breakfast room and that seemed okay too. On the upside they offer free wifi but the signal is a bit unpredictable. The breakfast is a bit on the tinned-fruit side of things, and if you are British and can't really face cold meats and cheese first thing then i advise you to get down to breakfast on the dot of seven as there's not much left by 7.30 in the way of cooked eggs etc. But actually, for a swift breakfast it was fine. The problem was the room, it had the musty smell of a tree house, and nonspecific stains dotted around the carpet. the bed was comfortable but with acrylic sheets. The remains of a long lost soap dish still jutted out of the bathroom wall and barely any shampoos or suchlike so bring your own.
Cleanliness:
Maybe it's just german thing but I went and bought a beer from a local shop to have one evening in my room, the next evening it was still there -complete with the dirty glass.
( which reminds me - i spilled some by the lift on the ground floor ( it overflowed as some beers have a tendency to do when they get excited) and although i never really mentioned it, the sticky patches were still there three days later.
other than that, i really wouldn't return. the rooms ( or at least the room i was in, need updating, repairing) also have walls that were so thin i could practically hear my neighbour tying his shoelaces.
The location is good though, and there's an outside chance i have just been spoiled. But do not recommend for a romantic weekend away. On business it's just about passable.
but they were very nice. so that's something.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollyc1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

I was alone, going there to see Düsseldorf. I´ve been to simular type of hotels before, i.e. budget hotels for me travelling alone. I would say this was a quiet nice one. Very pleasant and service- minded staff, clean room. As most of these type of hotels, there is not much to do at the hotel, i.e. eat and drink., but the city of Düsseldorf is right outside. Besides, there are a small bar present.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

I had specifically requested when booking with the hotel that we get a quiet room. We ended up on the busy front street. Not good with partiers going home at 4 and 5 in the morning. Also, the curtains were so sheer, it was hard to sleep from the lights of the hotel sign and other signs of other businesses around. The only good things were that it was clean and there was a good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vinsebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jos2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davis0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Blackreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
BURNS Apartments
BURNS Apartments
#156 of 239 in Dusseldorf
27 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
#125 of 239 in Dusseldorf
304 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Dusseldorf City by Tulip Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#72 of 239 in Dusseldorf
512 reviews
Premiere Classe Dusseldorf-City
#51 of 239 in Dusseldorf
173 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#17 of 239 in Dusseldorf
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Duesseldorf

Address: Bismarckstr. 71-73, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Duesseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your City Hotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing