We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good german food”
Review of Im Schiffchen

Im Schiffchen
Ranked #90 of 1,801 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Kaiserswerth
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good german food”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely place for typical German food
Good beer quality and good typical German dishes
The service is professional and quick
Recommend the aple strudel

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    47
    13
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience in Duesseldorf”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

For my third visit, this is by far the best meal I had for a long time in Im Schiffchen!
Starting with a glass of Champagne, followed after some amuse-gueules (sturgeon, eel) by a feuillete of foie gras to die for, a Partridge and a poached peach with ice cream. The attached pictures cannot describe the delicacy of each plate. Impeccable service except for a little "faux pas": serving expresso coffee before the dessert...The wine list is impressive and of course, expensive. We were served a Gevrey-Chambertin 2007 perfectly paired with the whole meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Gilles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Well recommended”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely room in a beautiful building. Delicious and innovative food, attentive but not overbearing service and very reasonably priced wines by the glass. A really great night out and well recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unforgettable meal”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Dying to go back.
2 star Michelin French restaurant upstairs and 1 star Michelin Italian downstairs. Great service, excellent wine selection especially Riesling. It's possible to order dishes from either restaurant.

Perfect service. Chef Jean Claude is absolutely brilliant and even though it's haute cuisine you feel as satisfied as with comfort food.

Better than any other restaurant I have dined at this year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajivkehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Everything fantastically good but no one dish best ever”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just last night we celebrated our wedding anniversary and chose the best restaurant in Dusseldorf which is also close to where we live.
I selected the 7 course gastronomical delight paired with wine (299 Euro) and my wife took the 4 course meal also with wine (189) I list the prices so it is clear this is no bargain restaurant.
Just like the heading says everything was very very good from the greeting at arrival through the friendly efficient service which was always just right without being over bearing. Wines were always ready when each new course arrived and no waiters were hovering, just there when you needed them. They were able to change 1 course of my menu and changed the order of service and wine selection to accommodate this. Our meal built from Petit fours to Foie Gras, through seafood's to poultry and beef finishing with a range of desserts. Everything great and the wine pairings were superb. We ended up with about 10 courses counting the extra Petit fours and desserts and were plenty full at the end, in fact taking the special cake home they prepared for our anniversary.
So everything was excellent but I just didn't have any course which made me say wow, that is the best I have ever had. The overall meal though certainly is one of my nicest dining experiences ever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Warren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Im Schiffchen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Im Schiffchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing