We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German food: let's say no more!”

Brauerei zum Schiffchen
Ranked #80 of 1,783 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Price range: US$0 - US$9
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt
Description: Situated in the Old Town, the restaurant/brewery “Zum Schiffchen“ is the oldest restaurant of Düsseldorf. People from Düsseldorf and also those just visiting say it is a typical original Düsseldorf restaurant. Atmosphere, furniture and food are guarantors of originality as much as the blue-aproned “Köbesse“ – the waiters – who “celebrate“ their service with humour and the typical Düsseldorf dialect – to the great joy of guests and travel groups from other countries. The restaurant was first mentioned in the chronicles of 1628, and we are proud of having had even Napoleon among our patrons. Nowadays, it is not so much the refined French habits and cuisine but a certain rusticity and joy that make this restaurant so popular.
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Germany is not the culinary capital of Europe, and traditional German fare is fine for those who love it but usually seems to miss out for those who are less keen!
I visited with two friends from Myanmar (Burma) because they wanted to try some typical food in Düsseldorf.
Our waiter was cheerful and attentive. The 3 main courses arrived promptly and their ample size took my visitors by surprise! The roasted Schweinhaxe was very well received , though the recipient rather failed in his attempts to do it full justice. The half roast duck was also well received , though I fancy a little over cooked. My own calves liver was well cooked but the whole plate was rather greasy.
On the whole, a satisfying meal together.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank tonyking8652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 162 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This is another restaurant which has been there for probably 100 years and will continue to be there for another 100 years. Good, freshly cooked delicious food accompanied by fantastic beer. It's another must in Düsseldorf. What to eat? Make sure you've had a light lunch or no lunch if you are having the Haxe.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank vecihit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This was one of the best restaurants I ate at in the Altstadt area in Dusseldorf. The menu contains a lot of German classic dishes ranging from sausage to pork knuckles. The service was friendly and quick, the staff can also speak English if you need help with the menu. This place gets pretty busy around dinner time, so you may need to flag down a waiter a few times if you need something, however they are quick about refilling your beer when you're out. I would consider this restaurant a must, as it is one of the oldest restaurants still around in Dusseldorf. I suggest ordering a dish with sauerkraut at least once, as I found that it tasted different from sauerkraut elsewhere. The viennese schnitzel was also amazing, and this comes from a person that is picky about veal.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucyC_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed the Alt beer and traditional meet.
Recommended .
Easy to reach with the Underground.
After dinner recommend to walk few minutes and take a killepitsch

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ignaziob39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2016

If I read the sign once inside the door correctly this establishment has bethe German en around for over 380 years. It has the charm and comfort of an old style german dinner haus. A full menu of the German classics - pork knuckle (the house specialty) veal, sausages etc. with all the trimmings. My waiter was both personable and efficient he never stopped running but never rushed you and always had a moment to chit-chat. Of course house bier was available in both light and dark as well as full bar service. Come prepared to eat as the portions are large. Simply a must stop to get the full German food experience.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellorONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Brauerei zum Schiffchen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauerei zum Schiffchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.