We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Staff - hotel under refurbishment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Duisburger Hof
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Duisburg
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Positive Staff - hotel under refurbishment.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived at 10.30 pm. Very well located hotel, a very short hop skip and jump to the shops, restaurants and for those who want a little fun, the casino. But first and foremost, this is a business hotel so the facilities are limited. The rooms had been checked out earlier in person by a friend, and they were told what was required though sadly it appeared the message didn't get through as when we checked in there was confusion in the allocation and availability of the rooms (1 smoking room , plus other rooms for the group). What made up for this confusion was the positive attitude of the girl at the reception who checked us in.. and everything was sorted out quickly enough as we had one member of the party who had mobility problems.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and from what we saw it appears only the 3rd floor has been completed and it's a bit disconcerting. Industrial grey walls with grainy prints of miners / factory workers staring at you while you walk down dimly lit halls may not be the style for every one. The other floors are brightly lit with white walls (floors 1,2 and 4). The rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor are newly done with wood floors and modern furnishing. The bathroom is nicely done, though for a hotel to have soap dispensers attached to the wall came as a surprise to us.

Do not depend on the air conditioning to keep you cool. On maximum fan setting and lowest temperature setting, the room only cools down by morning and you will either have to open the window to bring in the night air, or ask for a fan. One of the rooms on the 1st floor, yet to be refurbished does not have a/c and had to keep the windows open and fan on all night to keep the rooms comfortable.

The staff at the reception at all times were courteous and helpful which went a long way to make our stay pleasant. I was given a smoking room by mistake (they didn't realise the only smoking room requested had already been allocated) and room 258 need a total rehaul unless they plan to keep that room in that state for future smokers. It smelt of stale smoke and had terrible lighting, though it had two fans already in the room as there was no a/c. I am not a smoker and it was not habitable for me.

Don't rely on the television for entertainment, it's all in German with only CNN in English, so bring a book or your iPad. Free wifi but you need a separate password if you wish to connect from more than one machine, i.e. your smart phone and laptop/iPad.

Room Tip: Room 258 is a smokers room but they need to up their game to make it more welcoming. Stale smoke sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Manager at Wyndham Duisburger Hof, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Meem,
thank you for taking your time, to review us here. We need to apologize about the misunderstandings concerning your reservation, but we are also glad to read, that your staff could help you efficiently. We would apreciate welcomming you again to Duisburg, with kind regards, the team of WYNDHAM Duisburger Hof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    91
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
45
15
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hello to the world!

I arrived, exhausted to say the least (long haul flight). All i wanted to do was get showered and knock out till the break of dawn, ok maybe not quite to the break of dawn but you guys know what i mean :). So we go to check in, all is good until they drop the bomb...."your room key will not work for a while as the key card device on the doors are not working for some of the rooms, but don't worry we will have it fixed by the afternoon" (we arrived in the morning around 11 am)...so yeah not what i wanted to hear with the way i was feeling. Ill say this though, the key cards were ready exactly when they said they were going to be.
We get taken up to our rooms by the handy man lol, very sweet guy, made us laugh, he was getting frustrated at the elevators (only two) as each one that came down to the lobby to take us up was full, i wish it was because they had guests in them, nope! They had the cleaning crew in them complete with the cleaning trolly...not cool in my books, guests should not know what happens behind the scene.

The hotel is literally a five minute walk from the centre of town and you can find pretty much everything you need, except the big designer names, for that you'll have to go into Dusseldorf - 20 min car ride.

The Lobby was nice enough, neat and tidy, clean lines.
Reception is a reception. May have to wait two minutes before someone notices your there but when your noticed, they are polite and efficient.
I did not see a concierge desk, so i assume the reception doubles as a concierge...interesting.

The rooms:
We were given temporary cards that work inside the room, so the electricity....etc. works. The rooms are spacious, surprisingly so, you get a kettle, two mugs, coffee, milk, there is a mini fridge in the closet, not much in there, the usuals but less of them.
The rooms are painted in neutral colours, you've got big windows that actually open two different ways, but it depends which room your in. Mine opened two ways. My sister's room's window opened only one way. Why am i mentioning the windows? Well if you are smokers your gonna appreciate the window situation. My room is a non-smoking room but because my windows dance the way they do, yes dance..lol, one could easily have a quick cigarette by placing themselves strategically...lol. Its worth a mention, i guess.

Bathroom:
Nice and clean and tidy, compact and easy to manoeuvre. If you like a power shower, your not going to be disappointed. The only thing i thought was a bit weird was the fact that the soap, by the basin, and shampoo/shower gel (all-in-one) amenities are literally nailed to the wall....not sure what they were thinking! Seriously?! If you travel with your own stuff you'll be ok and i highly recommend you do that. Do Not depend on the usual mini shampoos and conditioners one usually finds at hotels. On the bright side however, you get a mini, and i mean mini, body cream and a "comfort box" which has all the usual stuff in there, shower cap, ear buds...etc.
Basically bring your own toiletries.

Room service: Not really what you expect when you say room service. There is a menu, all of two pages, very basic. I had the soup of the day (cream of leek soup) was awful! oily and too salty. I recommend you go down to the restaurant to get your munchies.
The downer, you have to pay an extra five Euros for anything you order up to your room that is not on the menu!!! Total poo!!!! Why Why Why Wyndham!!!!

By the way, if your a latte drinker like me your gonna hear them say, "macchiato latte" just say yes that is what you are looking for when they confirm it with you. It's a latte they just have a different name for it here. I asked for extra sugar and milk, i did not specify cold or hot milk, i got hot milk and a bowl of sugar..so wonderful, first time ever! Usually hotels bring me little sachets of sugar even after i say EXTRA so no lost in communication going on here. yaaaaaaay.

Some rooms have an AC others don't, so do ask for a fan, they will bring one up. Ask for two in the summer, your gonna need it!
They claim they have fast internet, its fast, but not high speed they claim it is. its kinda slow if we go by universal standards, especially at night for some reason, and even when you do get connected its touch and go.

Service:
This didn't change my life, it didn't even make my heart flutter! hahahaaa.
The food and drink comes up to the room quickly but hey they be walking into the room unannounced! My latte arrived this morning, i heard the knock, was walking to the door to let her in only to find she was half way through the door and i was still struggling to get my robe on!!! Goodness gracious...Patience people...
Their saving grace is that they are quick, that was the case with me at least.

So to conclude, I would say come and stay here if you are on a budget and need to be in the centre of town, otherwise find somewhere else to stay. Everywhere is pretty much walking distance. Check out the forest trails (sorry of the point).

Did it have that Je Ne Sais Quoi? Far from it.
Would i stay here again? No
Would i recommend it to friends and family? Nope, unless they are budgeting.
Did it change my life? I think we all know the answer to this one....heheheheee

If you do end up here, have a great time and keep an open mind.

Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Ask for 305, 303 - these are spacious rooms perfect for a couple, and maybe just maybe you could fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank That_Je_Ne_Sais_Quoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Manager at Wyndham Duisburger Hof, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking your time to review us here. We regret that you had some Issues during your stay. Of course we take your suggestions and critique for very serious and we have already spoken to the relevant compartments.
We would appreciate welcomming you again in our house.
With kind regards, your team of WYNDHAM Duisbuger Hof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solymar, Hungary
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located in the heart of Duisburg with nicely renovated rather big rooms. There is not much to see in the city but at least that is within a walking distance. The rooms are clean well maintained. It was too hot in the breakfast room to enjoy breakfast that was acceptable, but could be better in a 4 star hotel. The restaurant was in process of renovation a limited menu was available in a corner of the lobby...

Room Tip: Check the AC and wifi quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Manager at Wyndham Duisburger Hof, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sandor,
thank you for taking the time to review us here. We are sorry about your experiences in the Breakfast-Room, but as you have also recognized, we are constantly renovating the hotel and this will get better as well as you may have enjoyed our freshly built and renovated rooms. We would appreciate welcoming you again in Duisburg. With kind regards, WYNDHAM Duisburger Hof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in room 458, which was very nicely modernised, but quite small.
we didn't mind though, as we had a very good rate booking through a third online party.
The hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel is located in the city centre, with a lovely bar area.
The breakfast is ok, but too expensive.
We will stay there again, but will try and book a deluxe room.
Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Room 458 is very small, but nice & quite. We will book a deluxe room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lia S, Manager at Wyndham Duisburger Hof, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Schubby,
thank you for taking the time, to review us here. We are glad to read, that you have enjoyed yor stay. The breakfast can be cheaper if you book it together with your reservation. Looking forward welcoming you again to our house, with kind regards, WYNDHAM Duisburger Hof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights on business purpose. The hotel was built in 1927 and therefore looked very nice from the outside. However the interior was certainly a matter of taste. At first I was booked into a non-smoking room that was "full of smoke". I pointed that out to the receptionist and I was reluctantly given a new room. When I checked out all 3 receptionists took three attempts to print my company's address in Bangkok on the receipt, reasoning with "the system does not know Bangkok"! Pretty ok, but service is just better in some other countries!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SimSim_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Manager at Wyndham Duisburger Hof, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sim Sim,
Thank you for your stay at our house and your review. We are sorry about the inconvenience according the room and our PC Adress System. Although it should not, it happens that guests smoke in our non smoking rooms. We adviced the housekeeping again, to tell us about theses issues immediately. Our PC Adress System is dependent on Zip Codes and we are working on a solution to make it faster. We hope that you will give us a chance to improve, and would appreciate welcomming you again.
With kind regards,
WYNDHAM Duisburger Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Grand city hotel is in center of duisberg near to malls,casino,shops and Railway station.You can stay in the hotel and enjoy shopping and partying in nearby area. The rooms were nice having both old and new touch. The breakfast was at par but the staff was really nice. I would say to enjoy city life and relax this is one of the best hotels in duisberg.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pankaj_377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Staff at Wyndham Duisburger Hof, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear pankaj_377,
thank you for your very nice review about our hotel.
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and you like our rooms and our friendly staff.
We hope we can welcome you in future in Duisburg again.
With kind regards
The Grand City Hotel Duisburger Hof Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A very quiet hotel that's clean and bright, the staff are very helpful and well presented. 3 criticisms the lift is a little small for a wheelchair user and no disabled parking, parking is 15 euro a day. If your a tourist on a budget breakfast is 18 euro, plenty of other places nearby.

All in all I had a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duisburg hotels
Hotel Conti Duisburg
#2 of 37 in Duisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dellviertel
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#10 of 37 in Duisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
ferrotel Duisburg
#9 of 37 in Duisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Duisburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Duisburger Hof

Property: Wyndham Duisburger Hof
Address: Opernplatz 2 | 47051 Duisburg, 47051 Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Duisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Duisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Duisburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Duisburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing