We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Duisburg City
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Duisburg
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ok for a business stay. Could be improved with bigger bath towels, better coffee at breakfast and above all cooler hotel rooms at night. This aside I'd class this as a reliable mid range hotel, better suited to business than pleasure.

I'd note that the town of duisburg was very quiet and not necessarily a place to visit as a tourist.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had three rooms for one night which we were using for an overnight stay. Despite booking all together at the same time, our rooms were spread throughout the hotel, far from ideal and not how a family would want to be.

One of the rooms we were allocated sadly was dirty, the TV unconnected and the bath would not hold water. All in all, very disappointing

The other two rooms were ok,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevdIJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Very comfortable accommadation. We had breakfast in the hotel, lots of choice and helpful staff. The location is very good for getting around the city.




  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel is within walking distance to the main station and the city centre. Staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is basic, rooms are basic. Unfortunately, the swimming pool and the sauna were closed due to renovation. All in all the stay was ok with reasonable price, but I would not consider it a 4 star but a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel so perfect decorated and cleaned and the bar and Restaurant so clean and tidy even though the staff were mostly trainnes but still tried to get the best of it.
The one thing I couldnt accept was the low quality of receptionist and the way they treated me specialy that I didn't speak the language (German) but understood it very well ,flirting with my husband and never tried to help or assist me during my stay I just wanted to say to the administration that these kind of ppl should be working in a low class bar not in a hotel with this reputation. This was the worest stay in a hotel in germany and am sorry for that and it was a 20 day stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zizi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ideal location for Duisburg city centre, a short walk from the main station and the main shopping area. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the trendy Innenhafen area which has nice bars and restaurants.
Our room was furnished to a good standard and had good thick curtains which were good for sleeping late!
Due to the location there was no need to eat breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of bakeries nearby.
The pool & sauna are currently closed, due to reopen in May 2014.
Very reasonable price for the location & quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was upgraded to the Mercure having originally booked the Ibis Hotel in Duisburg, which unfortunately was overbooked. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the railway station. Check-in was swift and the staff were friendly, polite and spoke good English. Room was clean, spacious and came with a fairly well stocked mini-bar. Bed was very comfortable and the room seemed pretty well sound-proofed. I'm a light sleeper and quite often other guests opening & closing doors tend to wake me but I never heard a thing. Breakfast seemed a bit pricey at EUR18, so I decided to give it a miss & ate elsewhere instead! Overall a pleasant experience and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duisburg hotels
Wyndham Duisburger Hof
#2 of 37 in Duisburg
331 reviews
Dellviertel
IntercityHotel Duisburg
IntercityHotel Duisburg
#4 of 37 in Duisburg
32 reviews
Hotel Conti Duisburg
#1 of 37 in Duisburg
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Landhaus Milser
#5 of 37 in Duisburg
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Duisburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Duisburg City

Address: Landfermannstr. 20, 47051 Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Duisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duisburg
Price Range: £50 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Duisburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star hotel Mercure Duisburg City offers 162 comfortable rooms in an exclusive city location, close to the trade fair and congress centres in Essen and Dusseldorf. Have a cocktail and relax in our hotel bar Marina Lounge, then spoil yourselfin theMarina Club restaurant. Our five multifunctional conference rooms offer the perfect setting for all your functions for up to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Duisburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Duisburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing