We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Messe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed one night for the classic car show. Is right next door to the exhibition center and metro system. So location is perfect. Car park to small when the hotel is full. So during trade shows!!.
Room good, breakfast good, staff good. Friendly bar staff, good atmosphere, but again a bit small when the hotel is full.

Room Tip: Higher up have beter views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Essen.
Regarding our parking slots please note, that you can also use the parking places P1 and P2 of the fairground, which are right next to the hotel.
We hope to welcome again during the MOTORSHOW 2013.
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC-tea,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Best location if you're going to a trade show in the pavillions nextdoor. 2 minute walk to the trade show center. Great accomodations, shower, internet, bed, everything works perfectly. Breakfast and restaurant are really good too. 2 minute walk to the metro station. Perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for that kind feedback and the full 5 stars!
We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
With kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Nicely decorated rooms, good breakfast selection, just three stops from main station by public Transport. Direct access to Gruga Park where you can either walk or run for a couple of kilometers. Higher floors to the back (park side) recommended as sometimes there are fairs to the front.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gid_eurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for this kind feedback! We are very happy to be your preferred choice here in Essen and we hope to welcome again very soon.
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Last Thursday, a sudden decision led me to this hotel for two days. Our caretaker had tried to select a nice hotel for us; and yes he succeed.
First the (slight) negative sides: Hotel Atlantic is surely not for a tight budget. Prices are high (except drinks) but thankfully not exaggerated. During my visit there was an amusement park right in front of the hotel with rollercoasters and all sort uf noisy machinery; the activity lasted till 10pm. Not good for early sleepers.
But this is a positive side, as well. In daytime there was a fleamarket and you have biergarten's all around. Lovely. I do not know its period and frequency.
Everything else is positive in all aspects. The restaurant and bar are definitely successful; so I advise to stay at the hotel for the dinner. Just remember that people come to the hotel for having their drinks and dinner in its relaxed environment. The bar offers genius offers daily; so I advise to check them. I had a Talisker on the rocks; real rocks from Talisker river, cooled and replacing the ice cubes.
One last point; there are tea and coffee making equipment in the room but very well hidden. I love to have a cup of coffee in my room; but this time I discovered it seconds before clearing the room. They are just below the TV in a flat cupboard. (Recommendation to the hotel management: Maybe you could put a noticable sticker on the cupboard)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for that kind and extensive feedback,
During your stay there has been the "Grugasommerfest", which is only once a year just in front of the hotel. So during other times access is easier ;-)
We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Kind regards,
the ATLANTIC-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a big, grand hotel. Big, comfortable rooms near public transportation and big windows (doors) that open and allow fresh air. This is huge for me as I really don't care for air conditioning.

Big bathrooms with good water pressure, big towels and a comfortable bed.

This hotel is located two blocks from restaurant row.

It also has plenty of parking.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that this is huge for you as we thought about it during the hotel was build. We wanted to allow our guests to open both windows completely. We are happy that this is a plus for you!
Kind regards,
your ATLANTIC-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here again to attend an exhibition at Messe Essen. The hotel is spacious and luxurious, the service is exceptional (especially good fun at the bar), the choice of food at the buffet breakfast is incredible and I really like the 'infinity' showers. The beds aren't the best I've ever slept in, but I am a very fussy insomniac. I love that everything has been thought of, and is delivered just when you want or need it. The only thing that I don't like is that you have to go down two flights of stairs into the spooky basement to go to the bathroom. It's also very disorientating down there! Another great stay - thank you Atlantic!

Room Tip: We had 514 facing the square. It was very noisy when everyone arrived for church on Sunday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear guest
Thank you so much for the extensive and kind feedback.
We are sorry, that there are no rest rooms on ground level. The hotel was bild at the maximum of length and hight that has been allowed as the building can´t be bigger as the "Grugahalle" next to us. That´s why there were no place left for restrooms on ground level. As you can imagin, we can´t change this now any more ;-)
But we hope to welcome you again very soon!
Kind regards
Ulrich Schreiber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Was There For 6 Nights And Enjoyed It A Lot. Unlikely, To Go Back To Essen, But For Any One Else You Should Check It Out. Beautiful Park Next DooR For Kids ANd adults. Great Hotel Service. Rooms Kinda Of Smalll, BUt Typical For europe.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you again very soon in Essen!
With best regards,
the ATLANTIC-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#10 of 69 in Essen
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
Select Hotel Handelshof Essen
Rüttenscheid
Hotel an der Gruga
Hotel an der Gruga
#20 of 69 in Essen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen

Address: Messeplatz 3, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ctrip TA so you can book your ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing