We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the Gruga Messe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This modern luxury hotel is right next to the Gruga Trade Fare complex, which I decided to visit at the last minute (the popular Techno Classica = annual classic cars trade fare). The room was expensive (more than € 200 without breakfast) but I was lucky that they still had a room available at this short notice for the one night which I wanted. So I don't complain. If you want a 4 star hotel this close to the Messe building: look no further, because I didn't see any good hotel alternatives in this direct neighborhood. The bed was very comfortable, and also the rest of the room was excellent; definitely worthy the 4 stars. I particularly liked the tea/coffee making facility in the room (so I could make myself a cappuccino before having a bath in the morning). Because the hotel was full, I could not get parked into the underground hotel car park (limited amount of space). But in the neigborhood I could park my car safely as well. I didn't like the look of the menu in the inhouse restaurant/bistro (very limited choice and very expensive), but I found that there are many restaurants within walking distance (in the Martinstrasse/Rutterscheid). The hotel bar is convenient and well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrich S, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding our ATLANTIC Essen.
We are happy, that you had a comfortable stay with us, even your stay was during the Techno Classica trade fair. This is a very very busy time for us as the hotel is always fully booked with a lot of double rooms so we welcome a lot of guests during this fair. This is also the reason, why there have been no free parking slots within our underground garage but we are happy that you found a parking space in the neighbourhood.

We hope to welcome you again next year,
with kind regards
Ulrich, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Room was nice and modern, more than spacious enough for 2 guys with backpacks. Very cosy, with a cool sliding desk that, well, slides so you can accommodate another person on the other side. Bathroom is big too, with all the usual provisions.

Our room didn't come with breakfast, but we did try the food at the coffee house downstairs...The 'snack' menu portions are really mains sized, and the Currywurst & Penne Pesto dishes were superb. We also had late night room service supper (a pizza) which we suspect was a 10minute oven deal, but it was still good.

Other things: Room came with 24hrs free wifi. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Only downer - there was something going on with the AC control, putting it on a higher fan didnt seem to have any effect - during the evening the air in the room got a little bit stale. But no fault of the staff, as we didn't raise this issue to them.

Overall, would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed here 2d1n, turnaround trip to visit the motorshow. The hotel is a 20 second walk from the Messe, making it easy to retreat to base camp to relax after battling crowds at the expo for hours. The hotel is right next to the Grugapark Botanical Gardens too; sadly the weather did not permit our enjoyment of the Gruga.
The U Bahn station is also right outside, and provides easy access to the city centre. So, nothing can be faulted with location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrich S, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Nick,

thank you so much for your kind feedback and the 5 points for our ATLANTIC Essen.
We are very happy, that you had a comfortable stay with us, even that there has been a problem with the AC. Compared to other hotels, you have the possibility to open all windows to let some fresh air into the room. Most of our guests are surprised about this and don´t even try to open the windows.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,
with kind regards
UIrich Schreiber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is just great. We spent two nights there whilst visiting the Essen Motorshow. Despite all the hustle and bustle going on just a few yards away, the hotel was quiet. Very well located for the "Messe".
The breakfast buffet was well equipped with a large variety of food and apart from one person all the staff were very nice and helpful. The dinner menu was fine as well, the Bistrot and bar were beautifully decorated and the service was good.
The only downside was that the bathroom door was a sliding door which didn't completely close (there was a space of approximately 2 cm between the door and the wall, leaving little intimacy to the person using the bathroom). Other than that the bathroom was very nice, and so was the room, which was very spacious and nicely decorated. Very comfortable beds!
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Guest

thanks a lot for that kind and excentive feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Essen.
We are looking forward to your next visit!

With kind regards
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is an excellent hotel for Essen of even Dusseldorf as the train journey is not to far. The hotel rooms are excellent and the food although a triffle limited is very good. The service and staff are juts brilliant. if staying in this area of Germany then stay here. If you look on the internet then I know that you can sometimes find some very good deals for this hotel as a colleague of mine has done this.

Room Tip: Make sure it does NOT have a bath, the showers are heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest

thank you so much for that kind review regarding our ATLANTIC Essen.
We are especially very very happy about your feedback regarding our staff!

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If your company chose this hotel for a conference, seminar, workshop: congratulations, you could have done much worse. For a 4 star hotel, this is outstanding. I heard a rumor that it is actually a 5 star hotel, but the management realized that companies are reluctant to book 5 star hotels for their internal events. So the management hid one of the stars... Whatever the truth, you have an excellent, modern, convenient room with nothing to complain about. The conference facilities are efficient, the restaurants and bars very good, the breakfast buffet first class, the staff also very good.
Now I have heaped so much praise that some negative observations are in order. The weather, late October was atrocious. Rain beat at the window and outside wall with more noise than appreciated. Wind howled too. Autumn storms, they call this. Makes you happy to be inside.
Anyway, the outside doesn't look so great. It is probably practical, being near the exhibition area and the Gruga Halle. But it doesn't look appealing, even if you manage to imagine blue sky.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for the nice and detailed feedback regarding our hotel. We are delighted with the positive comments. Regarding the outside of the hotel we have to mention that in Germany new buildings must always adapt to the environment. Left to the hotel is the heritage-protected Grugahalle - our building was not allowed to be higher than the Grugahalle or striking. Therefore, our building looks from the outside rather unspectacular. But in the end it´s the inside that counts ;-)

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.
Sincerely yours,
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel was modern and had a very friendly staff. My room was always cleaned well and the bed was very comfortable. The showers (rain style) were a nice touch as well. The location is ok, about a 5-10 min walk to the main street to find restaurants and bars. The hotel restaurant was nice and the bar tenders very friendly and attentive. Breakfast provides an abundance of options to choose from but after 5 days, did not see much change. They also have Champagne (prosecco) available which I thought was a very nice touch on my last morning before flying out. Check in and out were a breeze. I will be travelling to Essen in the future and will be booking again with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for that kind feedback - we will be very happy to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We are currently here for a conference! This hotel offers a stunning solution for stay here. A short walk to the Convention Centre , very polished and comfortable room, stylish and very well equipped. The restaurants, bars and lounge all very welcome. The staff friendly helpful and multi speaking! We would certainly recommend anyone attending a conference here to explore this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room would be stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeliaGaetaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticessen, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest

Wow - thank you so much for your kind feedback. We hope that you will also enjoy the rest of your stay with us!

Kind regards
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#10 of 69 in Essen
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
Select Hotel Handelshof Essen
Rüttenscheid
Hotel an der Gruga
Hotel an der Gruga
#20 of 69 in Essen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen

Address: Messeplatz 3, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: £81 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing