We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average Mercure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Better than average Mercure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

New hotel, exceptionally clean, spacious room, superb breakfast. Near the city center. The hotel has a good parking in the basement. My room faced the really busy and noisy street, so I could not open the window.

Wifi is not free, which is always a disappointment. The hotel has a swimming pool (on the third floor!) which I did not use however

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    222
    54
    6
    5
See reviews for
67
126
55
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is average for a few reasons. I have stayed in better 3 star hotels and considering it is a mercure the service was very bad at reception. I had to wait 10 minutes for my invoice to be prepared which is preposterous. The breakfast is good but the pool is very far away in another building and takes at least 5 mins to get too and much too small! I was unable to swim in it really. It was approx 7m long!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch090770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for one night. It is a basic hotel which no doubt serves its purpose. But I found it soulless and a bit too Travelodgy for my liking. It is on a main road into Essen with a view of the busy road. It takes about 10 mins to walk into Essen town. There is a handy underground car park (E16 per day).

Our room was a family room at the front which was nice, light and spacious but our friends were in a standard at the back and it was pokey and dark. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were huge spongy polyester things and I found sleeping gave me a sore neck.

Food: the bar serves a very limited menu and at lunch all they could make was a pizza. There is no room service. The staff are helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good.

Leisure: The pool times are very very restricted and it is next door (though you can enter via the hotel though it isn't very well signed). However, when we used it it was empty which was nice.

Overall it served a purpose but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a light airy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andiamosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I spent one night here and let me be the first to say that I booked the hotel last minute as the rest of Essen was full and finding a room was quite tough.

This is a mid class hotel – nothing more and nothing less but I would not stay here again.
Firstly, I was given a disabled room – ok, not a great problem as I know the hotel was full but would have been nice to be informed on booking that it was likely I would get that room. Nasty smell of disinfectant in the room.

The shower was fitted out for a disabled person on a wet room type arrangement BUT the drain did not work properly resulting in the room being absolutely flooded. Utterly ridiculous for any room but especially for a disabled room. Oh and the room was right next to the lift shaft.

I arrived late in the hotel and dived into the bar for a quick dinner – what a mistake – I ordered a Schnitzel with potato salad or rather than should reach mayonnaise salad with potato. The plate was absolutely swimming with the stuff and I literally had to dig through to find any potato. Yuk!

So overall a thoroughly unpleasant experience. The staff are nice and friendly which rescues the hotel from one star.

Room Tip: Don't choose one near the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cap_Scarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed there with a couple of friends. Staff was friendly and courteous, rooms were great. However there are not meeting room facilities, the gym is not on site and the breakfast was overpriced at €17, couple of nice coffee shops nearby took care of that however...

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have stayed here 3 previous times and everytime with my friend we have had an excellent stay. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was always a good choice and well priced for what was on offer.

Will be staying again. :D

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centralman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, friendly & helpfull reception desk, though in city center between high rise buildings they have a very cosy and quiet terras. Parking garage under the building, walking distance from the action in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvdbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#7 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
InterCityHotel Essen
InterCityHotel Essen
#13 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#4 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Property: Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Address: Bismarckstrasse 48-50, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Südviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#5 Business Hotel in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 1.5 km from the city centre, the 4 star Mercure Plaza Essen offers 132 bright and comfortable rooms. The Essen trade show centre is 1.5 km away from the hotel. The A52 and A40 motorways are easily accessible. Within 200 m of the hotel are the Folkwang Museum and the Philharmonie Saalbau concert hall. The Boxengasse hotel bar is a popular place for a drink in the evening. Guests can enjoy our swimming pool and sauna. Basement car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Plaza Essen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing