We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Mirepoix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great quality”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great stay. The hotel staff was amazingly competent. Nice bed, nice bathroom, very clean.
Though very close to the station, the room was situated with a view to the inside court and you couldn't hear a thing. Very calm at night.
And a desk large enough to work. Wifi at its best.

A clear thumb up!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsupilami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    64
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
20
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Very good location next to the main train station. The shopin area just few minutes away by foot. Confortable rooms with free internet conection. Big bath room with nice bath tub. Clean rooms and good desk to work. Good price-quality-location relationship.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here whilst visiting the Christmas market at Essen . Great central location in the city center. Car parking facility within 2 mins walking and central station just across the road / square. Clean good size rooms, with comfortable beds, although the twin beds we had were a little small. All facilities you need for a weekend. Only thing missing was tea / coffee facility in the room.

Room Tip: Ours was a twin, good size room, all the usual necessities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clogs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Essen. Its right next to the main station in the centre of the city. Easy access to the Christmas market now in December.
Hotel staff very friendly and attentive. Free WiFi in rooms. My room was a double room with two singe beds, decor a little dated but very functional and clean.

Great breakfast with a good choice of cold cuts, pastries etc.

Value for money I would say 6 out of 10 purely because the room was a bit pricey but I guess its that time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks in this charming hotel. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. Wifi is at reasonable price. The staff is super friendly. They answered all my questions. The restaurant has great food and service. Breakfast has a wide variety. Just across the road from the main station which makes it really convenient. Best part was when i checked out, it was raining, and they sent a porter to help me with my luggage all the way to the platform! I'm very impressed with the service, which can be compared to 5-star hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inside garden are quieter. Some rooms have better wifi connection than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergamo Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I spent around 2 weeks during an exhibition in Dusseldorf at Essener Hof. Hotel itself is good, but from my point of view not a real 4 stars hotel (according to European standards). Room and bathroom were spacious.
My "king size bed" was made by two single beds put together (I hate that!).
Breakfast was really good, restaurant ok.
Location is perfect: close to Essen walking area, train station, restaurants and bar.
Wifi internet available at payment.

Incredibly overpriced during exhibtions in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlocorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel is very close to Hbf but as another building makes it hidden behind then rooms are not facing directly to noises of central station. However a bar which is located in nearby alley causes you hear drunken people shouting all over the night which is really annoying.
Rooms are clean and very big. My room was basically a double but it was more like a suite rather than a room. There is more than enough space to put your baggage and cloths.
Room was cold and small radiator could not response warming such a big room.
staff are polite and helpful , breakfast just perfect. All in all I recommend it to other travelers except people who are very careful about noise when sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirhassanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Stadtkern
InterCityHotel Essen
InterCityHotel Essen
#13 of 68 in Essen
175 reviews
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
Novum Select Hotel Handelshof Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#6 of 68 in Essen
402 reviews
Stadtkern
Art Hotel Korschen
Art Hotel Korschen
#12 of 68 in Essen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof

Property: TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
Address: Am Handelshof 5 | Teichstrasse 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing