We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The rooms are fine and clean, the location is ok too. The breakfast buffet is ok but nothing special - only thing that stood out was the friendliness of the staff - all were lovely and accommodating. Sadly though I can't rank higher as the cost is not so low, and the standard of the accommodations not high....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear alanps,

Thank you for staying with us and you kind words about our staff.
We strive to be the best and appreciate the feedback we receive.
For the lowest rates make sure to book early. Hope to see you again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

It's a shame. The HI Express in Essen used to be one of my favourite hotels in the Ruhrgebiet. Friendly service, great rooms, ample breakfast buffet - what more could you ask for?

Sleep!
The core competence of every hotel in the world. People usually come to spend the night there.

Forget about it.
What used to be a cocktail bar in the neighbouring building is now a discotheque.
No, I'm not a grumpy old man complaining about a petty silent background noise almost unhearable once you've made it to your room.
No, we're talking massive noise until very late at night. Again. It's massive.

How do they deal with it?
The night porter was completely indifferent, showing no sympathy at all.
Only after a solid complaint he started to show a minimum of customer care and agreed to move us to a room further away from the deafening noise which actually was an improvement.

Bottom line:
If you're in your twenties and look for a bed after a party night, go for it.
If you're looking for a decent sleep, stay as far away as you can.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had business nearby and stayed at this location. It is directly in the city centre, everything around it was closed when we arrived on a Sunday night. Parking was provided in an underground garage at 12 Euros a day, if I remember correctly. The room was what is now the HIX standard in Europe. Small, but functional room with a tiny bathroom/toilet combo. No bathtub only shower and a very tiny vanity area. Our room was on a higher floor overlooking a courtyard, it was quiet. I didn't get upgraded, seems all the rooms are the same, except for the bed size. Breakfast was again typical, rolls, coldcuts and various marmelades, boiled eggs and cereal. There were THREE coffee machines in the breakfast area. Internet was free for PC members, there was a hot water machine. We had a tremendous problem with a broken bed, which has yet to be resolved and we are therefor awarding only an "Poor" rating to the property. Without the bed problem it would have been a
"Very Good".

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear WEISSBIER,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time
to right this review. I deeply apologize for the inconveniences
you experienced with the bed. The feed back we receive helps
us to know where we need to improve.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A localização é fantástica porque fica junto ao metro (andam-se uns metros), junto a um shopping e também junto ao IKEA. Muito limpo e confortável. O quarto tinha tv, ar condicionado, bíblia (em 3 línguas), chávenas, sacos de chá e chaleira de ferver água (que não foi cobrado, é oferta!). O pequeno-almoço é bom, mas sem extravagâncias.

[I'll try in english]
The location is good, because it is close to the metro (just walk a few meters), near a shopping and also close to IKEA. It's all very clean and comfortable. The room had TV, air conditioning, a Bible (in three languages), cups, tea bags and a kettle of boiling water (which was not charged, it's free!). The breakfast is good, but without extravagance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Under-average rooms and less value for money. Prices up to 90 euros a night including breakfast but without Wifi. Rooms are clean but small and noisy. Location is good, about 5 minutes walk to Essen shopping mall, and about 15 minutes drive to Centr0.

Hotel was in renovation, unfortunately we had a non-renovated room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lennart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

It´s a good Hotel near the center, with a shopping mall a lot of shops and the christmas market nearby. A little loud because of renovation and a lot of guest from the netherlands. The rooms are suitable. But even I missed a cupboard and I only stayed one night. The breakfast was fresh and delicious but not as big as in other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaT1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hotel have good location there are many thing to do near hotel. Hotel it self needs renovation heating system make too much noise and also caused terrible smell in my room. Hotel need renovation for rooms the rooms little bit old fashioned. There was no free wifi in my room only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilgecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Stadtkern
IntercityHotel Essen
IntercityHotel Essen
#18 of 68 in Essen
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#5 of 68 in Essen
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Address: Thea-Leymann-Str. 11, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Essen
#10 Business Hotel in Essen
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at the centrally located Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, only 10 minutes by train from the convention centre and 40 minutes by taxi from Dusseldorf Airport A quiet setting by a leafy park and excellent transport links make Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre a good city-centre choice. The modern redbrick hotel is just 2 minutes' walk from Berliner Platz subway station, and it's 5 minutes' ride from there to Essen Central Station. Prepare for a busy day by fuelling up with a complimentary continental breakfast and surf the web with high-speed Internet in your peaceful Guest room. Catch up on work in the 24-hour Business Centre, or get colleagues together in the meeting room. Your base at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre is just 500m from Thyssen Krupp business park and close to major companies like Bitmarck. Essen has gone from industrial powerhouse to creative trailblazer as the European Capital of Culture 2010. Stroll to the centre to see the medieval cathedral, or test your nerve on the themed rollercoasters at Movie Park Bottrop, 20 minutes by train from the hotel. Relax on a sofa in the lively Lobby while surfing the web with wireless Internet, or meet for drinks and snacks in sociable Blue Moon Bar. Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre's friendly staff can suggest local restaurants and help you plan your day. Up to 2 Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Our hotel staff speaks English and Polish. We are looking forward to your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen
Essen Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing