We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very functional and modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Essen
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very functional and modern hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for a 1 night stay.
Very efficiently run hotel.
Friendly staff on reception.
Decent size rooms and bathroom.
Complimentary breakfast served in the morning.
Good WiFi coverage.

Room Tip: Being a Priority Club Member(Ambassador) I received a Priority Members room, which faced the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKNorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    172
    78
    19
    4
See reviews for
74
75
36
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were attending the exhibition as a trade group and stayed in this hotel from 6/5/2014-10/5/2014. We had a very bad experiences during our stay in this hotel. Though the room and cleanliness is satisfactory, the security and the attitude of duty manager is quite bad and very unfriendly. First of all, during the first day breakfast, one of our members( lady) bag was stolen while she was having breakfast in the restaurant. We asked the duty manager to check with their CCTV and he refused to do so and thus we have to report to the police. On the third day, two of the members lost their money inside the safe deposit box in their respective rooms whilst the safe deposit boxes were locked with the security codes. We immediately informed the duty manager and his attitude was unconcerned. They are also quick in denial of their responsibilities and were unfriendly and not concerned at all, as if it was a normal incidence. We thus had to report to police again. Later that evening we found out that there was another foreign guest who lost his money while keeping them inside the safe deposit box and when he talked to the duty manager, his attitude was the same. ( 3 incidences in a day and the attitude of the duty manager was still the same.) We are very unhappy with the attitude and the way of the management especially for the hotel which supposed to be with good reputation and we vowed never to stay in this hotel again and urged those who are staying to take care of their own belonging and not to put money in their own room safe deposit box, which is not very safe. At the same time we shall lodge a complaint to the Holiday Inn HQ regarding such instances. It will also give a bad name to the town and a very bad impression for those exhibition visitors who come from all over the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wcan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Wcan2009,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The rooms where ok, the breakfast was average. Smokers from the bar are sitting outside creating a lot of noise in the front rooms. We waited sev eral times 1/2 h before somebody served us at the bar. Good for a short business trip.
Parking is difficult to find near the hotel and the underground parking is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear C D,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the noise challenges you encountered during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Friendly staff gave us an efficient check-in and check-out. The hotel and room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. They had a good selection at breakfast and it was in a large room. Convenient, short walk to a shopping mall, theater, and a nice Italian restaurant. I had a room that faced the inner courtyard and was quiet. There was a bedroom door to help block noise from the hallway.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard room is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very Nice Choice for Business Travellers. Great Garden in front of Hotel. Efficient staff, check in and checkout was very quick Clean rooms and bathrooms Good television with about 100 channels including 15 odd in English. Two elevators to handle any rush hour. Breakfast was good. Ideal location as it is near the Mall and good Restaurants are in the nearby area. Pretty decent place to stay near dusseldorf at Essen

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milindphulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

What I love about HI Expresses is that breakfast is included. The full service Holiday Inns might have great breakfasts but I seldom want to eat enough to justify paying substantially more for breakfast.

The HI Express Essen is in a good, fairly central location, within walking distance of the train station. The receptionists were polite and efficient. The breakfast was more than adequate and the tables were cleared efficiently. Staying on a Saturday night I was pleased that they didn't clear away breakfast until 11am on the Sunday, and allowed a midday checkout. Clearly many people stay up late on a Saturday night and some smaller independent hotels don't seem to recognise this.

I was very happy with the size of the room, the decor and the choice of pillows. The heavy door to the room is no doubt useful in a fire but they do slam rather too loudly. I always wear ear plugs in hotels but if I had not I suspect a slamming door would have woken me in the middle of the night.

I thought that the parking fee of 11 euro was on the expensive side but not a problem for me on this occasion I used the plentiful street parking (free on Sundays) nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityBreakAccro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I would like to highlight the good and improvement points for the hotel as follows:

The good part:
Efficient staff, check in and checkout was very quick
Clean rooms and bathrooms
Good television with about 100 channels including 15 odd in English
Two elevators to handle any rush hour
Reasonable breakfast
Reasonably good location

However, some things one must consider when choosing this
For one, no refrigerator - was a bit of a let down as I consider fridge as standard these days
A single cupboard - small one, for a twin room - Just could not understand why this was the case
The room could have been better if it was a bit larger

The refrigerator and the single small cupboard were unexpected let downs and hope the guys at the hotel work on this - otherwise a pretty decent place to stay near dusseldorf at essen

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prateek_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear prateek_mittal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased to know that you found our staff efficient, rooms clean, superb location and reasonable breakfast. On the other hand we are sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#4 of 67 in Essen
277 reviews
Stadtkern
IntercityHotel Essen
IntercityHotel Essen
#16 of 67 in Essen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#8 of 67 in Essen
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Address: Thea-Leymann-Str. 11, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Essen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#10 Business Hotel in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at the centrally located Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, only 10 minutes by train from the convention centre and 40 minutes by taxi from Dusseldorf Airport A quiet setting by a leafy park and excellent transport links make Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre a good city-centre choice. The modern redbrick hotel is just 2 minutes' walk from Berliner Platz subway station, and it's 5 minutes' ride from there to Essen Central Station. Prepare for a busy day by fuelling up with a complimentary continental breakfast and surf the web with high-speed Internet in your peaceful Guest room. Catch up on work in the 24-hour Business Centre, or get colleagues together in the meeting room. Your base at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre is just 500m from Thyssen Krupp business park and close to major companies like Bitmarck. Essen has gone from industrial powerhouse to creative trailblazer as the European Capital of Culture 2010. Stroll to the centre to see the medieval cathedral, or test your nerve on the themed rollercoasters at Movie Park Bottrop, 20 minutes by train from the hotel. Relax on a sofa in the lively Lobby while surfing the web with wireless Internet, or meet for drinks and snacks in sociable Blue Moon Bar. Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre's friendly staff can suggest local restaurants and help you plan your day. Up to 2 Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Our hotel staff speaks English and Polish. We are looking forward to your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen
Essen Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing