We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and conveniently situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Essen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value and conveniently situated”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Since my last stay at this hotel the reception area and breakfast room have been very pleasingly refurbished. The bedrooms are functional but with very comfortable beds and air conditioning. The bathrooms are compact but have everything you need. I asked for a quiet room, which is difficult to provide as there is a busy road at the front and the railway station at the rear. I was on the 4th floor at the front and I could not hear the traffic at all. I had a very warm welcome at reception and the breakfast was really excellent. Although the bedrooms are the same I felt that the hotel had improved generally and was extremely good value for money. It would always be my first choice when visiting Essen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1444-SB, Manager at Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ibis guest,
we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Iris Lenzner
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    248
    161
    23
    11
See reviews for
47
141
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Location - Very good ! short walk from the main station.

Dinning - Breakfast was not included in the price, but available. Many options around the area for a light breakfast.

Hotel and Room - Small, simple and average. Generally clean, but a bit tired. Had a room towards the train station. If you won't open the window and in case you're not a very light sleeper, won't be a problem.

WIFI - Free of charge in the room.

Room Tip: If not asked during check-in, remember to ask for smoking/non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoofkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights.
The location is very central near city center and railwaystation
The room was small, clean and neat.
My room was right next to the street, I could hear the traffic but I was not significantly disturbed.
Compared to the price it was a first class stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mads_Bodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I last stayed at this hotel in 2005 and before then I was a regular visitor. In the 9 years since my last visit the rooms, reception, bar and breakfast area have been updated and all are now very pleasant with good air-conditioning. The only downside has been the loss of a full restaurant, but that did go around 2000. The team in reception were pleasant and welcoming. I had already warned them that I would be later than expected because of storm damage earlier in the week that had closed all rail lines in the area and they reassured me that there was no danger of me losing my room. The rooms in this hotel are just about large enough with a comfortable double bed, a workdesk with free (and good) wifi, TV with umpteen channels and reasonable storage space. The bedrooms are straight off the corridor with just the single door, so that there was a little corridor noise from other guests. The shower was good as were the other fittings. I took the buffet breakfast for each of the 3 days I was there and it was more than adequate with a wide range of cold meats, cheese, salads, rolls and croissants. There were also hot scramled and boild eggs, cereals and yoghurts and great value for money. The hotel is well sited, about 200 metres from the main station and the shopping area. Recommended to others for a value stopover.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the road which is fairly quiet. Rooms on the other side face the main railwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for a Trade Show. My room had a double bed which was comfortable. Room was on the smaller size but adequate. It was clean and comfortable. Bathroom tiny and a bit of a challenge. Breakfast was very acceptable. Service very courteous. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location is good, near the train station on a busy street. The room and bathroom were small but in good working order. I did not get the breakfast, so I can't comment.The staff was efficient on arrival and departure. I lost my invoice and they sent me a spare one, which was kind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I got a one bed room and i must say it is the smallest room i have ever seen. Looks like the room is built around the bed so it wasn't a pleasant experience. It is overlooking the main road so i my sleep was not good. Parking in the evening you can just forget about it beacuse it is buisy. There was a night receptionist (not Juan), the other man who seemed he had enough of everything, so in the evening when i wanted to get a dring i was almost affraid to ask, plus he was rude to the limit that he didn't even aproach to ask me and my friend what we would like to have. He just screamed it from the bar and left the drinks there. Not what i expect from Ibis.
Genarally looking i'm visiting Essen once per two month and this hotel will not see me anymore due to lack of professional touch, which i know Ibis has inside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Stadtkern
InterCityHotel Essen
InterCityHotel Essen
#15 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#4 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#6 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof

Property: Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof
Address: Hollestr. 50, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Essen hotel is ideally located in the city centre, only 200 m from the central railway station. 2.5 km from the SAALBAU ESSEN Convention Centre, 5 km from the Exhibition Centre and Colosseum theatre, the hotel offers 144 airconditioned rooms. Italso features a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours and private outdoor pay parking. There are numerous restaurants close by. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing