We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest Schloß-hotels in NW Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlosshotel Hugenpoet
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Since I visit quite a few hotels (but don’t review them all), I will do a break-down of the ones I do review. Hope this will prove handy for future readers.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION AND LOCATION:
Between Düsseldorf and Essen you will find one of the best ”Schloßhotels” in the northwest Germany, the Hugenpoet. The formerly so hated Ruhr-district (due to the industrial pollutions) should not any longer discourage a trip to Hugenpoet for leisure and relaxation. And it is also a good option for business travelers headed for Essen.
Kettwig is the name of the nearby dorf and the grounds surrounding the castle gives you a countryish feeling.
The ”Deutsche Hotelklassifizierung” has given Hugenpoet ”Five stars – superior”. Considering the generally high hotel standard in Germany, this is something to live up to. And they almost do. If you cannot accept a flaw (something’s missing or being a tad late), then it’s not five stars. For me, at this visit, the general impression was however clearly five stars (although not maybe superior...). The hotel is a member of ”The leading hotels of the world” – and theyr’e definitely in the ballpark…

ARRIVAL/PARKING:
Hugenpoet can easily be reached by car from both Düsseldorf/Essen region and from the airport (just 18 km away). You can also go by train to the Kettwig village, take a taxi if you have luggage or just walk around 20 min.
We opted for the hotel's limousine service and a grand Mercedes took us in style from the airport to the Hugenpoet.

CHECK-IN:
Perfect. Friendly staff, which by the way is most common in Germany. Warm welcome and we were followed to our room.

ROOM OVERVIEW:
Our room was in one of the wing buildings (former barn or stable), modern and of high standard. I suspect rooms in the castle itself would have more of a ”castle touch”.
Everything clean and well kept.
Room temperature adjustable (AC available in the summer). Windows that can be opened.
Beds very comfortable, we slept well.
Great marble bathroom. Both bath tub and separate shower. All amenities available.

BAR AND RESTAURANT:
We had a weekend package which included dinner on the arrival night, served in the ”simpler” restaurant ”Hugenpöttchen” and located in the opposite wing. The Hugenpöttchen is indeed simpler - flirting with the "bierstube style", but with clearly a high ambition and modern accents. A very good four course dinner were presented with a seasonal (fall) theme; frequent ingredients like cranberry, root beats, apple and mushrooms.

Second day included ”high noon tea by the fireplace”. It contained everything you would find on a perfect British afternoon tea session, of course including scones, cuecumber sandwiches and a vast assortment of teas. And yes, the fire was lit…

Second evening we had dinner in the Michelin starred ”Nero” restaurant. Enlightened our final night perfectly. To my own surprise it was so good that I still remember some of the dishes; the ingenious shrimp and crab salad, the lamb with herb ravioli and the ”french toast” (!) desert. All under the excellent conducting of chef Erika Bergheim. I couldn’t help comparing with Nils Henkel’s restaurant at Schloß Lerbach or Vendôme att Schloß Bensberg – both quite near just outside Cologne and both holding three stars. In our opinion Nero was just a great experience.
By the fireplace in the entrance hall you can have a drink from the bar, tea or coffee – the cosiest place at the hotel. The bar itself has a few seats, but is in fact not so well laid out.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast in Germany generally means a quite lavish buffet, including a vast assortment of ”wurstwaren”, cheese, eggs, bread and sweets. This was also the case at Hugenpoet – although more sparse but with excellent products. Eggs made à la minute to your order. Served in the Nero restaurant, very calm and relaxing indeed.
You can of course also have breakfast in your room.

NEARBY:
The little town of Kettwig is just a 20 min from the castle. Take a walk just to work up your appetite. Have a coffee in the village and head back. You will discover that just a few hundred yards from Hugenpoet there is another castle, even bigger and with great surroundings: Schloß Landsberg. This was formerly the private home of industrial magnat August Thyssen. It now belongs to the Thyssen-Krupp company, but the exterior and all grounds of the castle can be visited. When we walked around in november with all the colours of fall, there was almost a medieval and/or Wagnerian feeling around the place – very special.

RATING:
Official rating is 5 stars superior. In my opinion it just reaches 5, but there are some (very minor) flaws in the level of service.

PRICE/PERFORMANCE:
Very good for the weekend package we had.

RECOMMENDATION:
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you want a real "castle feeling" you should ask for a room in the castle itself and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

We went in on a Friday afternoon hoping to have a light meal. We were immediately greeted with surly looks and what I can imagine to be inappropriate comments between the staff. Against our better judgement, we stayed and were shown to a table. We were seated, given a menu, bread and butter but then were left sitting for 15 minutes while the staff were more interested in adjusting table cloths. There were only two other tables occupied and despite waving at various waiters and waitresses, we were completely ignored. In the end, we just left EUR10 on the table and walked out almost unnoticed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
12  Thank DorianCheckmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon. It was amazing! I can’t tell you enough good things about this castle hotel. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The castle itself is impressive with two moats and spiraling towers. When we arrived we didn’t know where to park (since there were so many parking areas) so we chose an outer one and walked in. The bellhop not only brought up all our bags from the car, but moved our car to a prime spot in the inner parking area.

Our room was more modern than I expected (since it is a castle built in the 1600's). We had a standard castle room on the third floor, but there was nothing standard about it. It was large with a separate bedroom area from the living room and our window allowed for good views of the courtyard below. Its bathroom was amazing with a separate bath and shower.

However, by in large the best aspect of this hotel is the staff. They were the most courteous and helpful we’ve ever encountered. All of them spoke English and would stop anything they were doing to assist us or answer any questions we had. The cleaning staff did an excellent job cleaning our room daily. On our first night we walked around the castle taking pictures. It was a little chilly outside, but we wanted to be romantic so we sat in some chairs a good distance from the castle (200 meters or more) and snuggled. Within 10 mins a waiter from their Michelin Star restaurant, Nero, came out with a menu for us. He was very sweet and got us some German wine he recommended. When he brought the wine he also returned some complimentary snacks and a blanket for me! His name was Kuntz and had been working at the hotel for 4 years. We saw him again a few nights later and his service was again impeccable! While we had drinks at Nero on our last night there the general manager came down and greeted us. He asked about our travels, our honeymoon, and, of course, our stay. He was kind and genuine in his questioning.

I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone travelling to the Rhine River. I hope one day to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the standard castle room and it was amazing! If I could afford it I would have loved to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoraK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for one night during my Germany "Fairy Tale Roadtrip" with a friend. Driving up was awesome, takes you back in time and makes you wish you were in a horse-drawn carriage instead of my rental car. But pulled up to the parking lot without any obvious signage and parked next to some other cars and hoped that was okay. Walked across the bridge, over a moat (!) and into the lobby.

Totally modernized interior. Not quite as grand as i expected from the outside but so cool because we were in a castle! The nice lady at check-in spoke perfect English and greeted us by name. We were escorted to our room, via a tiny elevator, on the second floor. Spacious room, modern comforts. Small sitting area, double bed, large pristine bathroom with big soaking tub/shower combo, double sinks, toilet and bidet.

We went exploring around the property. The nice check-in lady gave us a little map of the grounds and village and we followed a dirt path toward the river. Unfortunately there's some big construction projection going on (locks?) so there was no access to the river from there, but a half-mile later we did stumble upon the cutest little pub. Nobody spoke a word of English (and we not a lock of German) but a beer and a schnapps later and we were fast friends.

Eventually ended up back at the hotel and, since everything in the town closes so early, opted for dinner in the more casual restaurant in the forecourt. What a treat! Asparagus season so enjoyed the asparagus and schnitzel special.

Slept like a princess in the super quiet room, then had a solid breakfast in the restaurant downstairs overlooking the grounds. Left well-rested, well-fed and ready for the next thousand kilometers in the car. Would have liked to stay longer to explore the town, farmers market and surrounding hiking trails.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audreyspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

It is closed to the Düsseldorf Airport and Fair.
It is in an old castle. The atmosphere is really relaxing and you can impress a customer here.
The restaurant "NERO" Nesselrode is a one star michelin restaurant.
I ate there once. The service is almost perfect. The food is well selected. The chef could have been a little more careful with the meet cooking time. Our main dish (Patanegra Pork from Spain) was slightly overcooked. It was a pity. The wine list is not enormous. The selection of wine for desert should be definitely improved (For example there was not a Sautern or Passito on the list).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SailorTicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

It is like a flashback to the Renaissence period, just the knee length stockings, powdered wigs and lace blouses are missing....but they have caught up with the 21st Century and added a few more modern additions to bring us all up to date!

Have dined there a couple of times, once just à la minute with 15persons for a Wedding Day lunch- reserved just 30min in advance, no problems whatsoever - service excellent, food - (think we eat half through the Menu) no complaint whatsoever, except that you do pay for it - not cheap, but not ' over the top either; probably quite norlmal for this catagorie of establishment

Would go again, alas for a special occasion- like a Wedding ( or a Funeral?!) or just Sunday afternoon Kaffee & Küchen ( it does get a little hectic then, with the Aunties & Grandmas, Uncles and wealthy nephews...)but interesting all the same!

The Moated surroundings are very pretty , set in an Oasis of Verdant greenery, well away from the hustle & bustle of Essen & Ruhrgebiet, but easy to access - a Daimler, Maybach or Bentley is definately not out of place, all shiny and new, not so much your old banger...!!

Get smart, get out your wallet ( or Gold credit card) and go for it for something nice and posh!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotherham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Schloss Hugenpoet is a castle with a grand history. Built by the barons Nesselrode-Hugenpoet, razed to the ground 1647 and rebuilt. In the possession of the same family to 1836, when the famous Fuerstenberg family took it and held it until 1955. Since then it is one of Germany´s best castle hotels. It is a member of Leading hotels of the world and it shows. Service is IMPECCABLE. Nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed there on just two occasions and were on our return treated like family! The rooms are incredibly spacious, the building IMPOSING and the food in either the "Local restaurant" Hugenpöttchen and the gourmet restaurant Nesselrode spectacular! The sommelier gave us extremely good advice and his selection was very affordable. Breakfast comes in two varieties, both very expensive. Choose a package including dinner, bed and breakfast! The breakfast menu is very tempting, but it is NOT a buffet breakfast. They serve rather small helpings on three plates and then a warm main breakfast course. We felt rather awkward about this and breakfast staff seemed rather unconcerned. Rather a sad ending after a perfect stay and NOT as it had been last time. So, what happens when we mention this at checkout when they really pressed us on if we had ANYTHING AT ALL to complain about. The mere mention of it resulted in the deduction of breakfast from bill and a plastic bag with goodies for our 1000 km car trip home! That is style, grace, and perfect customer care! Not to mention the wonderful service performed by our Afrikaner receptionist, miss de Vries, the day before. So once again-we succumb to the magic of the Frog Pond (the name actually means that) and will happily return whenever we traverse Germany.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#12 of 69 in Essen
424 reviews
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Villa am Ruhrufer...
#7 of 19 in Muelheim an der Ruhr
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Hugenpoet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Hugenpoet

Address: August-Thyssen-Str. 51, 45219 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#7 Business Hotel in Essen
Price Range: £136 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Hugenpoet 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful park, Hugenpoet Manor is the perfect retreat, yet located just 12 miles away from the city centres of Düsseldorf and Essen. As one of the country’s finest historic hotels, it prides itself on its refined cuisine, contemporary elegant guest rooms and a sophisticated yet cosy atmosphere. The surrounding countryside encourages guests to enjoy sporting activities such as golf or mountain biking and a small Spa invites guests to exquisite treatments and relaxation. The effortlessly gracious service, and the balance between heritage and evolution, makes Hugenpoet Manor a gem of a luxury property that constantly surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schlosshotel Hugenpoet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hugenpoet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing