We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel of Our Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlosshotel Hugenpoet
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel of Our Trip!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This castle hotel is simply fabulous! An authentic castle with a long history, its quite magical. Well appointed, clean room. Wonderful friendly service. Beautiful, peaceful setting. Wifi included, unlike many places we stayed. Air conditioned. What a contemporary castle experience should be! Well worth going out of your way for!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    38
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
49
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for just one night sadly - although it wasnt our first visit to this hotel.

On the positive side -

The staff are fantastic, both in the hotel and in the restuarant - friendly, helpful and clearly aiming for an excellent level of service.

The hotel itself is also wonderful, great location and look.

Our room (26) was perfect, comfortable and spacious (I know from previous stays though that not all rooms are the same, well it is a castle so of course not uniformly laid out)
Overall we had a great time .....

Negatively ....

One should say the breakfast on the terrace is a very fine thing, however at 25 euros per person its certainly not good value (two weeks ago we paid the same amount at a 5* in Koln and it was much better)

Dinner at the casual restuarant was pretty average to be honest - while the service was first rate the food was certainly middling/to just above average. Given the nice location in the courtyard and the lovely staff it was just a bit of a letdown. That applies to at least two of the three courses (and the starter was overseasoned too ,,,,)

The hotel has a policy of charging for Wifi thats not of this time (10 euros a day), something I do find (personally) annoying purely on principle. That said the info folder in the room in English says internet is free. In German it says 10 euros. After pointing this out we did get free internet without any argument.

Overall I'd definitely return here in future (well we WILL return here in future) but I do have the reservations mentioned above to note

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hugenpoet Manor (as they call it in English) was just what I had been looking for and what is not available in my own country Holland. Very surprising to find this in the industrial Ruhr area.
I had a junior suite, room 12, which is the room with green walls that one finds in pictures.
It has splendid antiques, nice paintings, a good bed ,not the best of my life, but they have soft top matrasses for those who need ultimate softness. Pillows a bit thin and soft.
TV with many channels incl. BBC. Also Russian, Azerbeidjan, Armenia, many Arabic channels but nothing from Holland and Belgium. The TV-menu was in Russian !
Blu ray player that also plays DVDs and CDs. A bit hard to find out how it worked but I could have asked that before. The service is marvelous and staff is very friendly.
Nice big bathroom with large bath, shower cubicle and toiletries of L'Occitane en Provence..
Room is quiet, has double glazing, shutters and curtains. Outside the planes can be heard a lot as the castle is right under the fllghtpath to Dusseldorf but I didnt find it very disturbing although I am very easily disturbed by sounds. But therefore the nice big garden is not an oasis of quietness.
No pool but there is a tennis couirt
The public rooms and corridors of the castle are full of paintings and antiques. Feels like a museum.. .
2 restaurants but I hardly ate anything so cannot judge.
Very nice is that before arrival I received a 2-page form on which I could fill in all my wishes and fax or email it to them. This was the first hotel in my life that does that.
Next time I will have to think harder.
Also nice is the surroundings. Reception can give you a walking map and it is really a nice area for a long walk and Kettwig (about 3 km to Old Town) is a nice old town. Also nice to walk up to Landsberg Castle (not open to public). The area is slightly hilly so very nice and some nice views.
One can arrive by hotel limousine from Kettwig station for 10 Euro. To Essen or Dussselof is 85 euro.
One such long transfer is included in Junior Suite. Taxi from Kettwig was also 10 Euro. .

Minibar with free soft drinks (not the beer and champagne) and some fruit and bites on the table. .

Room Tip: If you can afford a Junior Suite, ask for number 12 It overlooks the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business meeting, followed by dinner. Meeting room was spacious and well- equipped. Dinner excellent (although rather pricey). Room comfortable and quiet. If you like places with some old style 'grandeur', Castle Hugenpoet is definitely a good choice!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss_Hugenpoet, Leiter Front Office at Schlosshotel Hugenpoet, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Mr Schreuder

Thank you very much for taking your time to comment on your last stay at Hugenpoet. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcomming you again soon.

Michael and Petra Lübbert and all team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Since I visit quite a few hotels (but don’t review them all), I will do a break-down of the ones I do review. Hope this will prove handy for future readers.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION AND LOCATION:
Between Düsseldorf and Essen you will find one of the best ”Schloßhotels” in the northwest Germany, the Hugenpoet. The formerly so hated Ruhr-district (due to the industrial pollutions) should not any longer discourage a trip to Hugenpoet for leisure and relaxation. And it is also a good option for business travelers headed for Essen.
Kettwig is the name of the nearby dorf and the grounds surrounding the castle gives you a countryish feeling.
The ”Deutsche Hotelklassifizierung” has given Hugenpoet ”Five stars – superior”. Considering the generally high hotel standard in Germany, this is something to live up to. And they almost do. If you cannot accept a flaw (something’s missing or being a tad late), then it’s not five stars. For me, at this visit, the general impression was however clearly five stars (although not maybe superior...). The hotel is a member of ”The leading hotels of the world” – and theyr’e definitely in the ballpark…

ARRIVAL/PARKING:
Hugenpoet can easily be reached by car from both Düsseldorf/Essen region and from the airport (just 18 km away). You can also go by train to the Kettwig village, take a taxi if you have luggage or just walk around 20 min.
We opted for the hotel's limousine service and a grand Mercedes took us in style from the airport to the Hugenpoet.

CHECK-IN:
Perfect. Friendly staff, which by the way is most common in Germany. Warm welcome and we were followed to our room.

ROOM OVERVIEW:
Our room was in one of the wing buildings (former barn or stable), modern and of high standard. I suspect rooms in the castle itself would have more of a ”castle touch”.
Everything clean and well kept.
Room temperature adjustable (AC available in the summer). Windows that can be opened.
Beds very comfortable, we slept well.
Great marble bathroom. Both bath tub and separate shower. All amenities available.

BAR AND RESTAURANT:
We had a weekend package which included dinner on the arrival night, served in the ”simpler” restaurant ”Hugenpöttchen” and located in the opposite wing. The Hugenpöttchen is indeed simpler - flirting with the "bierstube style", but with clearly a high ambition and modern accents. A very good four course dinner were presented with a seasonal (fall) theme; frequent ingredients like cranberry, root beats, apple and mushrooms.

Second day included ”high noon tea by the fireplace”. It contained everything you would find on a perfect British afternoon tea session, of course including scones, cuecumber sandwiches and a vast assortment of teas. And yes, the fire was lit…

Second evening we had dinner in the Michelin starred ”Nero” restaurant. Enlightened our final night perfectly. To my own surprise it was so good that I still remember some of the dishes; the ingenious shrimp and crab salad, the lamb with herb ravioli and the ”french toast” (!) desert. All under the excellent conducting of chef Erika Bergheim. I couldn’t help comparing with Nils Henkel’s restaurant at Schloß Lerbach or Vendôme att Schloß Bensberg – both quite near just outside Cologne and both holding three stars. In our opinion Nero was just a great experience.
By the fireplace in the entrance hall you can have a drink from the bar, tea or coffee – the cosiest place at the hotel. The bar itself has a few seats, but is in fact not so well laid out.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast in Germany generally means a quite lavish buffet, including a vast assortment of ”wurstwaren”, cheese, eggs, bread and sweets. This was also the case at Hugenpoet – although more sparse but with excellent products. Eggs made à la minute to your order. Served in the Nero restaurant, very calm and relaxing indeed.
You can of course also have breakfast in your room.

NEARBY:
The little town of Kettwig is just a 20 min from the castle. Take a walk just to work up your appetite. Have a coffee in the village and head back. You will discover that just a few hundred yards from Hugenpoet there is another castle, even bigger and with great surroundings: Schloß Landsberg. This was formerly the private home of industrial magnat August Thyssen. It now belongs to the Thyssen-Krupp company, but the exterior and all grounds of the castle can be visited. When we walked around in november with all the colours of fall, there was almost a medieval and/or Wagnerian feeling around the place – very special.

RATING:
Official rating is 5 stars superior. In my opinion it just reaches 5, but there are some (very minor) flaws in the level of service.

PRICE/PERFORMANCE:
Very good for the weekend package we had.

RECOMMENDATION:
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you want a real "castle feeling" you should ask for a room in the castle itself and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We went in on a Friday afternoon hoping to have a light meal. We were immediately greeted with surly looks and what I can imagine to be inappropriate comments between the staff. Against our better judgement, we stayed and were shown to a table. We were seated, given a menu, bread and butter but then were left sitting for 15 minutes while the staff were more interested in adjusting table cloths. There were only two other tables occupied and despite waving at various waiters and waitresses, we were completely ignored. In the end, we just left EUR10 on the table and walked out almost unnoticed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DorianCheckmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon. It was amazing! I can’t tell you enough good things about this castle hotel. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The castle itself is impressive with two moats and spiraling towers. When we arrived we didn’t know where to park (since there were so many parking areas) so we chose an outer one and walked in. The bellhop not only brought up all our bags from the car, but moved our car to a prime spot in the inner parking area.

Our room was more modern than I expected (since it is a castle built in the 1600's). We had a standard castle room on the third floor, but there was nothing standard about it. It was large with a separate bedroom area from the living room and our window allowed for good views of the courtyard below. Its bathroom was amazing with a separate bath and shower.

However, by in large the best aspect of this hotel is the staff. They were the most courteous and helpful we’ve ever encountered. All of them spoke English and would stop anything they were doing to assist us or answer any questions we had. The cleaning staff did an excellent job cleaning our room daily. On our first night we walked around the castle taking pictures. It was a little chilly outside, but we wanted to be romantic so we sat in some chairs a good distance from the castle (200 meters or more) and snuggled. Within 10 mins a waiter from their Michelin Star restaurant, Nero, came out with a menu for us. He was very sweet and got us some German wine he recommended. When he brought the wine he also returned some complimentary snacks and a blanket for me! His name was Kuntz and had been working at the hotel for 4 years. We saw him again a few nights later and his service was again impeccable! While we had drinks at Nero on our last night there the general manager came down and greeted us. He asked about our travels, our honeymoon, and, of course, our stay. He was kind and genuine in his questioning.

I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone travelling to the Rhine River. I hope one day to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the standard castle room and it was amazing! If I could afford it I would have loved to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoraK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essen
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#6 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Boutique Hotel Villa am Ruhrufer...
#3 of 19 in Muelheim an der Ruhr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Hugenpoet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Hugenpoet

Property: Schlosshotel Hugenpoet
Address: August-Thyssen-Str. 51, 45219 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#7 Business Hotel in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Hugenpoet 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful park, Hugenpoet Manor is the perfect retreat, yet located just 12 miles away from the city centres of Düsseldorf and Essen. As one of the country’s finest historic hotels, it prides itself on its refined cuisine, contemporary elegant guest rooms and a sophisticated yet cosy atmosphere. The surrounding countryside encourages guests to enjoy sporting activities such as golf or mountain biking and a small Spa invites guests to exquisite treatments and relaxation. The effortlessly gracious service, and the balance between heritage and evolution, makes Hugenpoet Manor a gem of a luxury property that constantly surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Schlosshotel Hugenpoet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hugenpoet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing