We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the city center / good price”
Review of Motel One Essen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Essen
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In the city center / good price”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a new motel with new rooms. Located in the city center in Essen, 3 min walk to the main station, 2 min to U-Bahn station, shops/restaurants/bars in the neighbourhood.
Small but new rooms, small desk for your laptop (just for writing a few emails, can't really work there), quite a good wifi.
You have to pay on arrival for the whole accomodation!
There isn't a nice staff - I had problems with my handy and asked the staff to call from their phone (there is no phone in the rooms!!!), they refused, told me it is not possible to call abroad, I should go to the street to call from a phone box (it was 10:00 p.m.!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    129
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
63
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saudi arabia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It was a new experience in Essen to stay with Motel one. It was a brand new facility with lot of surprises. The personnel at the hotel were really lovely and happy to serve us. The breakfast served was light and worth. the rooms and facilities were clean and well maintained. The places around were really attractive especially the railway station.

But there were some missing elements like phone, refrigerator, wardrobe, sanitary consumables. Be careful when you travel especially with family because the rooms are also relatively small.

Room Tip: No idea about the rooms other than what I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels in Essen. I travel here a lot for business and have stayed in various establishments across the city, but Motel One just offers what I need.

The staff are really friendly and put up with my terrible German. The rooms are great and a good size.

The breakfast is good, but I miss not having the offer of a cooked breakfast which is offered by the Movenpick.

Right in the centre of town, so great access to all of the restaurants and businesses.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSmith8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torroella de Montgri, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

New and comfortable hotel, very nice and helpful people at front desk, and simple but practical and lovely decoration.
Very convenient situation in the city center with a metro station within five minutes walking.
Good lighting in the room and good wi-fi service.
Price was not cheap, because of a great event in the city during those dates.
I'd prefer full chairs at breakfast room.
I was asked to pay the full stay at check-in, I'd prefer to pay at check-out (I had already paid for last day breakfast I couldn't take because I had to go to the airport earlier than breakfast time).

Room Tip: Rooms on Kennedy platz have a beautiful view over the ice-skating rink (in winter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josep M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Right in the centre, about 5 mins walk from the Hauptbahnhof, this is a conversion from an office building with the standard Motel One features. Very good condition and an attractive price: a bit like Ibis's used to be before they got to be so big!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Essen is awfully underestimated! It has perfect museums, a cathedral of the 10th century, a cathedral's treasure of great value. To spend the night there we chos the new Motel One in the very center of the City, on Kennedy-Square. Just round the corners are the perfect shops, is one of the theatres, are nice restaurants. And in the hotel itself hou have space enough to move. The rooms are rather small, but you find everything you need - an all of that is 1st quality, but no useless and expensive luxury. Breakfast is offered as a buffet of international class. The bar in the evenig contains whatever you want to have, and the surrounding is nicely calm.
Although there were big works done on the square itself, even during the night, you could sleep well, the windows being solidly insulated, the room nicely aired and the mattrass perfect. I will again choose Motel One.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very basic hotel if you don't usually stay at budget hotels but perfectly clean and functional. Great example of operational excellence. Housekeeping was very adamant about us leaving on time. She even showed up early which was a bit of a hassle to have her breathe over our necks but other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#4 of 67 in Essen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
IntercityHotel Essen
IntercityHotel Essen
#16 of 67 in Essen
186 reviews
Stadtkern
TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Essen

Property: Motel One Essen
Address: Kennedyplatz 3, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Essen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Motel One Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing